We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine big hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fine big hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is located at the end of the Batu Ferringhi strip about 45 mins from George Town centre. When we arrived the walls of our room were wet. We were told it was condensation from the air con with the balcony doors open. We were moved to a room where this issue did not arise.
The hotel is a fine big unit and the facilities are good. The rooms are large, bathrooms reasonable, and the public areas huge with great pools, beach front (pity you cant swim in the sea;;jelly fish), great big garden and many sun beds, trees, shade, chairs and tables. The quality and quantity of the breakfast is excellent as are the available reasonably priced snacks etc.. The price of drink is far to expensive.
The information available from the desk, concierge and tour person is really poor. When asked about transport options, to George Town, to Thailand, to the local bank, about the hotel shuttle bus, about distances, about taxi prices etc etc we invariably got, at best 'I don't know' and at worst completely wrong info!!!
The rooms are reasonably well maintained but the bathrooms could be cleaned a little better. We stayed there five nights and on our arrival a long hair on the bathroom floor was never removed during our stay.
Get a good price and remember George Town is a city and during busy periods crowds will be large.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddlerstrikesback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Waddlerstrikesback,

We apologise for the inconvenience of changing room on arrival due to the airconditioning condensation problem in the room that was sorted out and I am glad that our hotel facilities, large rooms, garden and excellent breakfasts have made your stay an enjoyable one.

Regrettably, we cannot compete with the illegal and unlicensed operators with no compliance costs selling cheap alcoholic beverages. However the hotel offers a convenient and hygienic place to have your drinks with Happy Hours offers at certain times in the various outlets.

We have taken note of your comments over the poor knowledge of the lobby staff and the oversight of the room attendant. We have taken appropriate action and training to address the issues raised. I know we can and will do better in the future. We thank you for your constructive feedback so that appropriate action can be taken to help us towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back and serve you better on your next stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    705
    342
    104
    63
See reviews for
666
519
67
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I travelled with friends who had a young child. This a great family resort - very child friendly. My friends' family room had a separate bedroom for parents. My room ("deluxe") was spacious, comfortable, clean and in good condition. The view from my balcony (overlooking the hills and part of the beach) was fabulous.

The buffet breakfast was good, as was the food served in the same restaurant at dinner. The pool area, from which you can directly access the beach, was perfect for spending a relaxing morning or afternoon.

The only issue with the hotel I could see was that it was quite out of the way. We'd arrived in my friends' car. I'd imagine those without transport would be heavily dependent on organised tours to see the rest of Penang. We didn't get to the night markets, but it looked like they might be a bit of a long walk.

Great place to relax, maybe not so great for exploring Penang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhappy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Travelhappy141,

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and the endorsement of our family resort and facilities. We are delighted you are endorsing us as a great family resort and very child friendly. Indeed, we are adding a new family friendly facility, the FUN POOL (opening before end of May), so that the children will have more splashing time when staying here.

There is a free one way shuttle every evening (first come first served basis) for guests who can opt for a short ride instead of the 10 to 15 minutes’ walk to the night market. We had mentioned in our past posting our convenient location near eco-place of interest can be a boon such as a 5 minute bus ride to the Spice Garden, Butterfly farm, Escape natural forest theme park, Penang National Park etc. We would recommend guests without their own transport to explore the wide range of half day to full day guided coach tours by Tour & Incentive Travel (please check our tour desk for bookings). They offer places and activities of different interest in enjoying the sights, sound and scenery of Penang that are reasonably priced and you get to meet other tourists OR if you prefer to DIY (do it yourself), take the frequent cheap bus rides (bus stop just in front of our hotel) to Georgetown and explore the heritage, living trades and the Penang famous hawker foods and many eateries there or go to shopping malls or take a scenic ferry ride from Weld Quay across to the mainland and back.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends on your next stay with us so that you can take up the options to explore more of Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my second time staying in Bayview. This time with my son and little baby girl.
We like the combine double-bed in the room which has enough space for us for a good sleep.
We also like there are vegetarian dishes, such as vegetarian fried rice and fried noddle in the buffet breakfast.
All activities provided in the hotel are good for family.
I'm looking for next stay with my family member in the soon future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea-view, partial sea-view or fully sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhJian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear AhJian,

Thank you for returning to stay with us again with your family this time enjoying our buffet breakfast and vegetarian dishes, spacious seafacing room and the family friendly activities. Our new Fun Pool is scheduled to be opened before end of May so do check it out next time this added family friendly facility with splashing activities for the young ones to enjoy whilst parents tag along to share their joy.

We look forward to your return again with your family sooner than later for another enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is family friendly for our family of 4 with 2 under 12 kids. A long walk from night market but we did it ok. Good access to all areas by taxi. Good buffet breakfast. Hotel looks old but clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380Familytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear 380Familytraveller64,

Our location with the lowest lead in pricing indeed has made us the preferred and value choice from our numerous local and international satisfied guests especially those travelling with families; enjoying the wide ranging options that keep the kids happy. The management has emphasised on maintaining the resort’s retro old Penang charm without compromising on guest comfort and service standards.

There is a free one way shuttle every evening (first come first served basis) for guests who opt for a short ride to the night market. Our hotel will soon be further enhanced with our new Fun Pool that will open in May, adding another family facility for a splashing time. We hope to welcome you and the kids on your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The furnishing and set-up of the hotel is reminiscent of the 70s-early 80s. Rooms are in dire need of a good renovation job although I must say house-keeping and maintenance are doing a good job keeping the rooms livable. The plus is the hotel is very spacious - huge airy windy lobby, great pool and direct access to the beach. Gym is large but as with most hotel gyms in this category - has limited equipments. Good spread during breakfast - great tasting local selections. Hard rock hotel & cafe is just next door. Further down the road, other hotels and restaurants (don't miss out Golden Thai restaurant - great sea food, request a table on the beach side - breezy with a wonderful view). Travel time from the airport - non-peak : 45-60 minutes. Hotel staff (kudos to the reception department) are extremely warm and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khoeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear khoeho,

Thank you for your various positive comments of your stay with us especially that our hotel staff were extremely warm and friendly.

Indeed, our hotel designed in the 80s has a retro look, complemented by the many antique furniture and fittings that can be seen around the hotel. The management has emphasised on maintaining the resort’s old-world Penang heritage charm without compromising on guest comfort and service standards. Most of our rooms have recently completed a recent progressive renovation for the enjoyment of our current & future guests. From the picture you posted, I can establish that you have stayed in a Superior Hillview room that has been refreshed with refurbished comfortable 2 sofa chairs with arm rest, a new flat screen TV and new furniture. I am sorry somehow the style did not meet up to your expectation. As for the gym, I am pleased to advise we will be getting soon a second treadmill and additional weights to provide additional options for our guests.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you consider this is Modern 4* hotel you have to say it seems a little in need of a refurbishment. Location is good and the bars and restaurants on the site provide everything you might need for a Beach holiday.

Penang has some rather strange weather during the early Christmas period so we were shocked to find temperatures of in excess of 80 (Farenheit) and yet it was actually misty for much of the day.

Batu Ferringhi is pretty well equipped for bars, restaurants all within a short walking distance of the hotel and the beach seems clean and pretty safe.

One thing to bear in mind whilst taking in the sun in the well maintained gardens and beach area is the wind can occasionally release a stray coconut from the tree's near buy and a direct hit could cause serious injury so keep this in mind when weighing up the advantages of this natural shade.

All in all a nice hotel for budget travel but when compared with the nearby 5* hotels I'd suggest finding the extra cash and upgrading.

Although the staff seem rather more friendly here than sister hotel where it seems they feel customers will not appreciate the friendly approach.

I

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Graham W,

Indeed we are a 4*hotel certified by our Ministry of Tourism and I agree with you we are not a modern looking hotel as our architecture designed in the 80s has a retro look complemented by the many antique furniture and fittings seen around the hotel compared to other modern style concept. The management has always emphasized on maintaining the resorts old Penang charm without compromising guest comfort and service standards.

Since your last stay here was in May 2012, most of our rooms have undergone a progressive renovation whilst the rest are scheduled to be freshen up for the enjoyment of our current & future guests. As part of our safety coverage we have a schedule to trim our trees on a regular basis to prevent any mishap.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This might be one of the best resorts on Penang Island.
It has a very reasonable pool, and a wide green private strip between the pool and the sand beach, with deck chairs and bar.
The water sports like jet ski are available and priced reasonably.
I liked foot massage, you can get it from resort specialist or from outside specialist straight on the sand beach.
Unfortunately the sea water is not clean. Batu Ferringhi might be the best beach on the island, it is reasonably clean, but the channel along Penang Island is not as environmentally friendly as it should; in longer term it will impact the resort industry on the island. Plus, there is some jelly fish, could cause some skin irritation.

Room Tip: Prefer the room with sea view. It is more expensive, but the sun-set was great. The hill view room m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergeV30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear SergeV30,

Thank you for your compliments of our hotel and its facilities which you have enjoyed. Regrettably where we are located along a busy shipping route, the sea water quality has the unpredictable presence of jelly fish. Hence, we compensate this situation with a hygienic and safe swimming pool for our guests. We will convey this to the local council for them to look into it.

I am delighted that overall, you enjoyed your stay at our resort and look forward to your return again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing