We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place for Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Jeddah
2 reviews
“Nice Place for Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is really nice place for family very near to night market. the pool and in hotel facilities are really cool.
The staff is friendly.
Food is wonderful.
Easy access to taxi stand just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are muslim go for deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashzrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mashzrn,

Thank you for your short and nice comments of our hotel during your recent stay here with a 5/5 rating. I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed the facilities, food and the convenience of our location.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you visit Penang in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    706
    342
    104
    63
See reviews for
667
520
67
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Penang for 3 nights but stayed here for 1 night - regretted.
Should have stayed here throughout my stay. Booked the family room - very big with 1 king size bed and 2 single beds. The room came with balcony overseeing a beautiful scenery. The room was spacious and clean. Overall well maintain.
Breakfast was good, food was top-up frequently.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamsani_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Kamsani_13,

Thank you for your excellent 5/5 rating. I am glad you have tried us for one night and found that you liked our spacious family room and large beds which had accommodated your family comfortably. We have received numerous compliments from other guests particularly enjoying the INDIVIDUAL BALCONY (like the one you so enjoyed) which we provide for each & every room here, a rather special feature that not all other hotels along Batu Ferringhi have.

I appreciate your endorsement on our lovely breakfast that has over 70 items of hot & cold dishes that you have liked and is also well received by many other guests. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you though only for a brief stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again perhaps for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located near Hard Rock Cafe. 10 min walk to the Feringghi Night Market.There is a good sized free car park around the hotel with a security. Received a very friendly welcome when arrive at the counter. There is free WiFi in the rooms which worked perfectly, the password is on your receipt.
The swimming pool are big with children pool plus a jacuzzi. beautiful hotel environtment. But the beach is not so clean(for me its a small matter because if you are Malaysian, you'll understand.. haha)
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: i'm staying at the 8th floor. Family suite is the best for a big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear uncleboi,

Thank you for rating us 4/5 and we are delighted with your very positive endorsement of our service, facilities and rooms. This is very reassuring and we are delighted that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests to return to us and in recommending us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to stay with us on your next trip to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Pool is lovely. Hotel needs to be renovated as is very old. The restaurants are very very expensive and taxes and service charges added to everything bumps up the price a lot. There is however a gorgeous place to eat across the road! Try the butter chicken with naan and pilau rice...... Unreal and much much cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnD268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear LynnD268,

Thank you for your comments of our lovely pool. Our hotel which was indeed designed in the 80s has a retro look to which it is complemented by the many antique furniture and fittings that can be seen around the hotel. The management has emphasised on maintaining the resort’s old Penang charm without compromising on guest comfort and service standards.

In case you are not aware we have a new concept of “Happy Hours Dining” to offer hygienic food of good hotel standards served in our convenient location with similar or cheaper pricing to those illegal restaurants across the road (which also avoid paying any taxes). We recognise we have to give our in house guests good reasons to dine in house in the evenings and help stretch that holiday budget so do ask for the “Light & Easy” menu on your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and we send you our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had 4nights at the Bayview hotel our booking was for "side beach view". The view we had was of the new pool being constructed and had continual noise from the Hard Rock hotels air conditioner. The sea view was minimal, the noise maximum. The "sea view rooms " had the added bonuses of on weekends being blasted with music from the amplifiers used to entertain private parties in the hotel grounds. The rooms are extremely dated and had a musty smell the hotel is the last hotel on the beach and is aimed at family groups. The toddlers pool drains into the main pool? Which is questionable. Having made these negative points I would say the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, you can get better accommodation at other hotels in a more central loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyjane1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Cathyjane1947,

I am so sorry you were disturbed by the cooling towers’ fans from the Hard Rock Hotel and the Saturday outdoor garden function that finished before mid-night. Although we are unable to turn down future outdoor functions which is due to our business responsibility to keep our Resort financially viable, we have drawn out alternative measures to minimize any adverse effect on our in house guests for such future event.

I will appreciate if you could let us know the room number you had stayed in so that we can check that particular room with the appropriate rectification as all our side seaview rooms have recently been renovated. Our hotel atrium lobby & rooms corridor are non-air conditioned. Entering a room that is air conditioned especially in the current Penang’s hot weather may have a different "odour" which one can get quickly used to.

The toddler pool actually overflows to a collection tank located underground and then it is pressure pumped through 4 different types of filters before circulated back to the pools.

As to your room tips about getting a room at the Parkroyal, other readers would find out that their rates are around 40% more expensive than us for a more central location to the night market.

Thank you for acknowledging that our are staff were very friendly and helpful and we regret the missed opportunity to have served you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed at Bayview beach on half a dozen occasions, did not expect to be going back as we are both in our 70's and find the travelling difficult, however we have decided on one last hoorah, so will be back in April. Very excited and can't wait.
We find the staff are very friendly and helpful, the pool and gardens beautiful and relaxing. The location of the hotel is first class with buses and taxis close by. We were once given a lift to Magic restaurant in the hotel limousine.

Room Tip: We don't think there are any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Charles K,

Thank you for being our loyal guests over the past years enjoying each and every stay with us. Indeed I am glad our team have served you well yet again to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in April and hopefully you and your wife will be well and hale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The setting is very lovely with a sprawling pool and lounge area and close proximity to the beach.
But, the hotel interior needs renovation, and the whole facility needs to be better maintained. Our deluxe room was outdated and dank. when we asked about upgrading we were quoted a very high rate even though occupancy was low and rooms were available. The reception staff is not at all accommodating. Too bad! Showing a genuine desire to be charming and please their guests could help fill up some of those empty rooms !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcmpalm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear rcmpalm3

Thank you for your comments of our lovely pool and garden area and I am sorry you were disappointed with the renovated deluxe room that you had stayed in. It is indeed unfortunate that my front desk staff could not meet up to your expected price to upgrade to a better room as there is a minimum nominal charge that they are allowed to quote. This is to maintain rate integrity despite our varying occupancy levels. I would appreciate if you could revert via the Trip Advisor message service with more details on our hotel interior that needs renovation (unless you are referring to the retro style of the hotel) and facilities that need better maintenance.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments at the Trip Advisor and we hope to hear from you with more specifics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing