We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Room is dusty and not well maintained.Just the sheets and towels are changed but the floor and the walls are left unattended.Shocked to find bed bucks on the bed,that's
truly disgusting.The TV is just a piece of equipment with nothing interesting to watch.The bathroom flush seems to to have a leak and floods the floor.The only enjoyable experience was the pool which was good but it was not being attended regularly which has lots of leaf's falling from the trees.

Room Tip: The Room seems ok,but not clean and hygenic. I found bed bucks on the bed which is gross and disgust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeev_adiceam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear rajeev_adiceam,

We have taken note of your comments over the cleanliness of your room and the leaves in the pool. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. Appropriate action has been taken by the Housekeeping & Recreation teams to be more vigilant when checking rooms & the pool.

Our Resort has a large amount of flora surrounding us and there are occasion that insects can get in to the room through open balcony doors and I am very concerned on your report on bed bugs in the room as we have regular pest control programme in place to address any pest issue, if any. Kindly email me the room number you have stayed in so that we can thoroughly check that room.

We thank you for your constructive feedback as this assists us in our endeavours towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bayview Beach Resort on your return to Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed on 30/12/12 to 05/01/13. great spacious family rooms, clean and great room service options and ammenities. tv channels not all that but great breakfast available. ironic internal view of hotel before walking into room. a/c is perfect and very friendly people. 5 min walk to night markets and mosque. 1/2 hr drv to george town (shopping city). internet service is very very poor/slow. definately stay again

Room Tip: must get beach view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday-junkie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear holiday-junkie001,

We are delighted that you like our spacious rooms, the atrium view of our lobby, great breakfast and the staff service.

As mentioned previously, the hotel provides a free one way shuttle every evening for guests who opt for a short ride instead to the night market. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the poor WIFI connectivity that you had encountered due to the high occupancy and the bandwidth connectivity that we had just resolved. Currently, we can safely state that we have a stable although not super high speed WiFI connectivity and we are confident with shifting from the previous shared bandwidth to a dedicated provision, the problems that you have encountered will not recur.

Thank you for planning to stay with us again the next time you are in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I got a standard room, look not clean and it does smell (SMELL OF MOULD), could not sleep though.

The free Internet is nothing, so slow that you cannot do anything (emails, finding information).

The toilet does not work properly. Room and facilities are so old, not well maintained. Sofa got worn. TV program is crazy boring.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngocdung0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Ngocdung0607,

Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the poor WIFI connectivity that you had encountered due to the high occupancy and the bandwidth connectivity that we had just resolved. Currently, we can safely state that we have a stable although not super high speed WiFI connectivity and we are confident with shifting from the previous shared bandwidth to a dedicated provision, the problems that you have encountered will not recur.

Thank you for highlighting to us on the defects related to your room and I will appreciate if you could email us the room number you had stayed in so that we can check the physical condition of that standard room with the appropriate rectification.

I hope you give us a chance to ensure your next stay will be a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you get to know the Bayview Beach Resort and the staff, you realize the many positive points. Starting with the staff, during my recent stay at the Bayview Beach Resort, the staff was really in high gear for helpfulness, friendliness and dedication; they even exceeded the Malaysian hospitality you can expect, my compliments. Furthermore, the hotel is spacious, with a homey, slow paced atmosphere, ideal for the holiday spirit. No stress there. What really is the gem of the resort, is the huge garden with the swimming pool, shady palm trees and beach front. You always can find a place to your liking for your sun bed. The buffet breakfast is extensive and tasty. The rooms are spacious and clean; the hotel is renovated recently. Wi-fi is now free in the room; this is an improvement on the charges you had to pay in the past. However, the wi-fi is very slow and erratic.I trust this will be improved by adding more bandwidth by the hotel. In my review of my stay in 2011 I mentioned some quirks of the Bayviiew Beach resort. These can be circumvented by booking a room in the small atrium and opting for an early breakfast. The only drawback of a room in the small atrium is that these rooms have connecting doors, which tend to be a weak point in blocking noise from the neighboring room. We had the misfortune to have very noisy neighbors for a couple of nights, which tested our Marsona sound conditioner, to drown out the noise, to the limit. I realize that the management can't do much about this, except bricking up all connecting doors with the next renovation. As the Bayview Beach Resort has family rooms at their disposal, connecting doors between rooms are a bit old fashioned. But I really have the opinion, that the Bayview Beach Resort is the best chioce for a stay in Batu Ferringhi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is nice and the grounds and pool are nice. The internet at the hotel is almost unusable. We'd done a lot of research and saved our notes and links for what we wanted to see and where we wanted to eat. But were constantly getting disconnected and/or snails pace speed. I download an app to my tablet and was getting 3k/s

We came to Penang for a wedding that was in Georgetown and the reception was at the Bayview. Problem is there is not much in Batu Ferranghi to do or see, so we'd have to pay $15-20 usd to get to Georgetown or a 1 hour bus ride (one time it was 2 hours 20 min coming home). So if your plans are to enjoy the sun at the Bayview (as ours was) and to go into town it is way to far and not pratical at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorendc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear DayoUk,

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused by the poor WIFI connectivity that you had encountered due to the high occupancy and the bandwidth connectivity that we had hoped to resolve but met with limited success during the peak period. Currently, we can safely state that we have a stable although not super high speed WiFI connectivity and we are confident with shifting from the previous shared bandwidth to a dedicated provision, the problems that you have encountered will not recur. We sincerely regret the poor WIFI experience you had experienced.

I would express that the Batu Ferringhi nearby areas have much to offer as we are nearer to eco-zones such as Penang Spice Garden, Butterfly Farm, the new Escape outdoor theme-park, the National Park or Forest Reserve Park for trekking, all easily accessible by excellent public transport with the bus stop just right in front of the resort. Indeed during peak year end celebration period, our roads can take a long time to commute due to the heavy traffic going from the beach area to Georgetown and vice versa. However, the mentioned eco-zones will probably take about 10 minutes in peak times.

Thank you for staying with us. Happy New Year!


While Penang’s National Park in Pantai Acheh may be the smallest in the country, it is by no means less impressive. Eco-attractions like the pristine Pantai Kerachut beach and meromictic lake (a body of sea water and fresh water that do not mix) provide the perfect spot for picnics and fishing, swimming and trekking. Boat rides can also be arranged or those who want to visit the nearby islands. Also, do look out for the old lighthouse which was built in 1883 – it is still operational and visitors are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in October for 1 week and had a really good time. Staff were excellent and the rooms and pool were great. Excellent buffet breakfast too. The hotel is also located at the end of the beach so is quieter, and there is a great restaurant across the road that does Indian and Italian food. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear DayoUk,

I am so glad that our team was excellent and our rooms & pool were great and buffet breakfasts excellent too. Thank you for recommending us to others after having enjoyed your stay with us last October. As you can see from our previous postings, there is now a “Light & Easy Happy Hours dining” available daily from 6.30 pm to 9.30 pm at our La Veranda restaurant offering a simply TASTY value menu where the pricing are similar if not lower than the Enca illegal outlet across the street. We hope you will be more happy eating with us and partake safely prepared food served on clean china crockery and stainless cutlery the next time you stay with us.

Thank you and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a big place but with a nice, personal feel to it. We moved from our noisy room facing the main drag to one overlooking the bay, and much quieter. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and nothing seems to faze them. The buffet breakfast sets you up for the day with a huge choice including a Muslim selection. Pool and grounds are well kept and popular, and the resort backs onto a nice beach, though swimming in the greyish waters is not recommended. The room was bright and clean, free [slow] wifi and morning paper, but an uninteresting satellite TV selection. There's a huge choice of eateries back along the main strip, catering for all tastes and budgets. The Enca Cafe directly opposite does good local, Indian [recommended] and Western food at reasonable prices, getting a lot of trade from hotel guests. We didn't use the hotel restaurant, breakfast aside, but their Indian menu looked good value compared to most hotels. The 101 bus into the city stops outside for a long trip into the city. Its aircond, and OK if you land a seat.
A good hotel we'd use again.

Room Tip: Get one at the back, facing onto the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Andrew T,

Thank you so much for your excellent rating of our staff during your recent stay with us. This is very reassuring and we are very pleased we have served you well. We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests to return to us. I am delighted you enjoyed our wide selection of breakfast items, pool and garden area.

On your next visit, please check out our Light & Easy “Happy Hours” dining between 6.30 to 9.30 pm at our La Veranda Restaurant where we add value by reducing our a’ La Carte menu pricing to lower or similar pricing than the unlicensed Enca outlet across the road. We also reduce the beverage pricing by 30% during the same time whilst we offer food hygienically prepared and served in china crockery at “simply TASTY value” pricing.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,180 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
806 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#8 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing