We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Vlaardingen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the Bayview Beach resort for 8 nights and was very sorry to leave. For me the greatest attraction of the hotel is in that there is a very large garden, with comfortable deckchairs, you can sit under the palm trees and gaze at the sea. The pool is quite nice too. One point though about the garden: local people sometimes sit just outside the garden on the public beach, not to look at the sea but stare at the people sunbathing. One time it made me very uncomfortable and I hung up a towel to block his view. (will upload pictures end of January) The staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome and at home So yes, the room is not absolutely first class, it needs a bit of attention and the furniture could do with a lick of paint, and yes, sometimes the floor in the breakfast room is not entirely clean, but the kindness of the staff makes up for all these small shortcomings. One bit of advise though: some rooms have connecting door thus making you dependent on your neighbors for your sleep quality. Best to avoid these rooms if you like to turn in early.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Francesca_NL,

I am delighted that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us relaxing in our large garden. If alerted, I am sure our staff will readily address any unwanted voyeurs in a firm manner to discourage their presence at the public beach. I will appreciate if you could email us the room number you had stayed in so that we can check the physical condition of that room since we have completed our room renovation only recently. Thank you for highlighting to us on the cleanliness of the floor area in the restaurant affected by the high traffic flow during busy breakfast period which we shall remind our team to be more vigilant at all times.

Thank you for staying with us recently and we look forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay with us. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    705
    342
    104
    63
See reviews for
666
520
67
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Arrived for Xmas and New Year. First time in Malaysia and got a last minute booking. Hill view family suite.
Room was good, light and spacious but a bit dated. Didn't worry us though. First impressions outside though were a bit gloomy. Hotel seemed to lack a bit of umph. It just looked tired and a bit run down. But maybe it was the trip. Next day things looked better. Breakfast was great, hotel gardens superb, even the beach was much better than expected. Staff throughout were helpful and polite and could not be faulted.

Special mention to the tour agent based in the lobby. Again first rate service. Pricy yes, but we had two teenagers to keep amused and the trips were very well arranged. Guides were friendly and enthusiastic and much better than the service you normally get at these resorts.
Monkey Island a gem.

Xmas meals were really well done and a million miles better than two years back in Disneyland Paris. We thought they were actually better than nect door at Hard Rock. Livlier and better food, although no Xmas Pudding! Pool was a bit cold but made up in size and cleanliness. Pool bar service was top rate and great value.

Loved the hotel, the people, staff and quality of everything provided.

Except for!!!!!!

Lifts are small, usually wet from swimmers and painfully slow. Service lifts in use but I hate lifts with a vengeance and these were not a place I ever wanted to be in.

Then there is the Internet. Well there isn't Internet. Quite frankly it's awful. The free service doesn't really work until after midnight. You can pay to use the business centre but even here the speed is like the dial up modems of fifteen years back. We were trying to book Expedia tickets to Kuala Lumpur and it took all day. Gave up in the end and phoned them. It really is inexcusable in today's world to have to this poor a service. We had credit card issues which needed Internet connections to resolve plus trying to book airline tickets and you just can't.

The Internet cafe opposite is mega quick and so is the Bayviews own offices, so why is the rest of the hotel made to suffer? Booking and printing boarding passes with a budget airline Air Asia, was impossible as the site refused to load and kept timing out as pages were taking 10 minutes plus to respond. I have seen previous responses saying the band width has been improved. Well sorry, it hasn't worked.
And don't get me started with the PCs in the Business Center. Dinosaurs and in dire need of a major overhaul and deep clean. Plus a printer maybe useful for those pesky boarding passes and email confirmations.

I have no issues paying for Internet service. I don't want to use Internet on holiday but sometimes you have to and so please this really should be addressed urgently.

But overall a hugely enjoyable stay and we would come back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickejmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear nickejmartin,

I am glad your first slightly gloomy impression of our Resort had been replaced with delight of our great breakfast, superb hotel gardens and our helpful and polite staff throughout, ending with a hugely enjoyable stay.

Thank you for commending our licensed tour agent at our lobby for their friendly & enthusiastic service. Also for your nice comments of our staff service and the Christmas Dinner which you have enjoyed. Indeed, I have spoken to our Executive Chef to include the X’mas Pudding which was inadvertently omitted this year, our apology!

We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the poor WIFI connectivity that you had encountered due to the high occupancy and the bandwidth connectivity that we had hoped to resolve but met with limited success during the peak period. Currently, we can safely state that we have a stable although not super high speed WiFI connectivity and we are confident with shifting from the previous shared bandwidth to a dedicated provision, the problems that you have encountered will not recur. So sorry again for the poor WIFI experience you had experienced.

Thank you for your confidence to return again and we look forward to offering you and your family with another enjoyable stay with us. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights in December in a Superior Hillside Room.

The room was large and bright, and the very large bed comfortable (to me the bed was too large for a couple {unless you hate your partner lol}, you could sleep a family of 4 in it). It also had a large modern LED/LCD TV. The bathroom was a bit dated however (shower over a bath and a shower curtain) and there was a little bit of mould in the corners around the bath and around the taps over the bath. We were happy with the room though. It looked like they had put in new carpet and also new tiles in the bathroom. We had an issue with the Room Safe and they were very prompt to fix it.

The WiFi was woeful, so unbelievably slow, even in the Business Centre and at the WiFi Bar.

Our room was on the 7th floor and faced directly over the busy main street overlooking the small row of shops/restaurants opposite the hotel. The traffic/street noise never stops. It didn't really bother me, but if you are a light sleeper it could be an issue, even with the balcony door shut you can hear the street noise.

What can I say about the lifts, some days you waited ages, and I mean ages (5 minutes) and other days they were very prompt. We figured out during the busy times (breakfast and around about 4.00pm/5.00pm when people were coming back from a day out) that the lifts were at their worst.

The buffet breakfast was average at best, it's like "Raffertys Rules", people everywhere! One morning we had to search for ages just to find a table that was empty, and then we had to wait ages for the staff to clear the previous occupants plates. The "hot" food was normally luke warm, although it didn't help that guests didn't shut the bain marie lids once they had a look or chose their food. We stuck with fresh fruit and toast (some mornings there was a massive queue up for the toasters) and cereal. I would have preferred not to have the buffet breakfast included in the price. We were there at a busy time of year (Festive Season), perhaps it is better when the Hotel is not so busy.

We never ate at the Hotel apart from Breakfast so cannot comment on their restaurants.

The Tiger beers at the WiFi Bar are expensive at MYR19.00. You can walk down the street and get the same beer for MYR8.00 (but who can be bothered when you are relaxing in their beautiful gardens or beside the pool lol). Be careful though, some places quote you the price without adding on the GST and Service levy.

According to the signs around the Hotel the Balcony Bar was meant to open at 5.00pm for Happy Hour, every time we went there at 5.00pm, it was never open.

The pool area is excellent and the gardens beautifully kept. The staff impeccable and always helpful and smiling. We had a foot reflexology massage which was awesome (thanks Peter and Sin).

The Hotel is situated a fair way away from the night markets, but right next door to the Hard Rock Hotel which has bands, DJ's etc., if you are into that sort of thing. We were happy to walk (about a 15 minute stroll), but you can get the 101 bus out the front and there is a free shuttle bus at 7.30pm to take you there and you make your own way back. We usually took a trishaw back, you can barter the price and it is all part of the Penang experience :)

Would I stay here again? - not sure, some things were awesome about the place, others not so.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a Hillside room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Denise M,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and that you are happy with the room you had stayed in.

We apologise for the poor WIFI connectivity that you had encountered, facing problem with the bandwidth connectivity that has now being rectified and for the inadvertent wait of the lifts during our peak occupancy with the last bubble lift being upgraded. We are pleased to advise that the upgrade of all our 3 guests lifts has now been completed and with our other 3 service lifts, we would be able to cater to the heavy traffic during high seasons.

I am sorry that our breakfast service disappointed you during the busy mornings. I know we can and will do better by getting the team to be more attentive in that area. Regrettably, we cannot compete with the illegal and unlicensed operators with no compliance costs selling cheap beer. However the hotel offers a convenient and hygienic place to have your meals and drinks with Happy Hours offers at certain times in the various outlets. Thank you for highlighting the tardiness in commencing our stipulated Happy Hours which will be addressed with the outlet concerned.

I am delighted that you found our pool area excellent, liked our spacious garden and that our staff are impeccable, helpful & smiling whilst enjoying the foot reflexology by Peter and Sim.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and I hope you will opt to return so that we can ensure you will enjoy even more of our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Old and dated hotel on the beach with with nice gardens, reasonable gym and pool.

We requested a quiet room a month in adviance and it took them 3 attempts to get one for us. the fisrst was directly over the main road.

My biggest gripe is that we were charged for items from the mini bar we simply did not use. This is quite simply not acceptable. please be aware!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Rooms Division Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear disc0,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. Our hotel building which was designed in the 80s indeed has a retro look to it which is complimented by the many antique furniture and fittings which can be seen around the hotel. The gym equipment will get an update and we will also have an additional fun pool which will be available for guests by mid-year.

Unfortunately I am not able to determine your actual room number but the room type you booked is probably a Hillview where most of it is overseeing the main road. We are sorry that you had to wait until the 3rd attempt. The hotel runs very high occupancy on December which limits the availability of room location and choices when reception is assigning rooms. Please do consider booking a Deluxe in the future which is much quieter as it is on the ocean side.

I am not able to affirm your comment on the minibar as we do not have your room details. We have sent a private message to your Trip Advisor inbox to invite you to furnish us with more details so that we can look in to this matter.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am always skeptical about no name chains. When I started looking for the hotels in Penang, it was too late and all the brand name hotels were sold out. I reviewed TripAdvisor and found Bayview beach resort had 4/5 ratings so i made the reservation. I was expecting second rated property and the services. It met my expectations. as soon we walked in the room the air conditioner was not working causing condensation on the walls. the furniture is third rated and walls have 3 cheap pictures otherwise blank white walls. The toilet flush was malfunctioning as well. After making few phone call we were transferred to another which was similar but A/C and flush was at least functioning. The bathroom ids totally outdated. The free internet service is a joke! It does not work so you have to pay and get paid internet service. The housekeeping is poor at the best. The bed linen is terrible and it seems like a motel. Penang reminds me of Kauai, HI with a similar landscape but beautiful beaches. You can not swim at the beaches in Penang due to Jellyfish. As much we paid at the Bayview Beach Resort, we could have stayed in Kauai, HI at Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach, a 5 star facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Rooms Division Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear NJ008,

The Bayview Hotels has about 11 properties in Malaysia, Singapore, Australia & New Zealand. Despite being not in the same tier as the other big name chains, we do offer friendly & efficient services with tons of recreational facilities and space for our guests’ enjoyment at a much lower pricing. Likewise, we have received numerous good feedback particularly from our repeat guests who would agree that we do provide good value for the price paid.

The Deluxe room which has the 3 connecting pictures of our beach sunset was recently renovated. It is unfortunate that we are unable to determine the room that you stayed in so that we can check the physical condition of the room and furniture as claimed and revert. We do however sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused over the faulty air-conditioner and toilet flush.

We apologise for the poor WIFI connectivity that you had encountered, currently we are facing issues with the bandwidth distribution software which is being rectified. The free limited bandwidth WIFI connection should be sufficient for email or simple social network updates but not for streaming videos or downloading large files.

We are sorry you feel that the quality of housekeeping is poor and the bedding linen is of a motel standard. We will look into your claim and improve what is necessary.

Unfortunately, we won’t be able to agree with your statement about the pricing for the hotel in Hawaii. If comparison is made on similar seasons or stay periods, it would show that the stated hotel costs twice as much than the Bayview which is the most affordable 4 star resort in Batu Feringghi.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was there from 22-23 December 2012. Before I went, I checked some of the reviews here and most of them mentioned that the room still had its "80s" furniture and outlook but were surprised to find out that the room is refurbished with modern furniture, the bathroom (bathtub), shower room and sink are all separated. The room is huge and with very big bed. We and 3 kids can sleep comfortably. It also has a huge balcony with a seaview. Staff were very helpful and warm. They don't mind extending late check out for us knowing we arrived late due to traffic. The best part about the beach is even though its open to public but not many people there and the sport activities is less as the resort is the last at the end beach compared to Holiday Inn beach. We really enjoyed our massage by the pool while watching the kids. We ate at the coffee house for dinner and breakfast, the food is good and the spread is a lot. Definitely staying here again in our next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shisha1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area general Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear shisha1975,

I am glad that you liked our newly renovated rooms which the Hotel has budgeted significantly. The comment on our “dated” look is more on the style of the hotel associated with a 1990 building, designed in the late 1980s that has a retro theme and complemented by the many antique fixture and fittings which can be seen around the hotel. The management has proudly maintained the Resort “old world charms” appearance reflecting Penang’s heritage whilst without compromising guest comfort and service standards and improving our wide range facilities. As mentioned at previous postings, we shall be introducing before mid-2013 a “Fun Pool” (new family facility with an expenditure of over RM1 million) aimed at children over 5 years old where they can have a great time (along with their parents)!

I appreciate your endorsement on our popular breakfast that has over 70 items of hot & cold dishes that you have enjoyed together with the dinner items which is also well received by many other guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on your next family trip to Penang. Happy New Year to you and the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have just returned having a most enjoyable stay at the Bayview Beach Hotel. I had a spacious room on the 9th floor - the housekeeping staff were very efficient and any requests I made were granted immediately. I loved the pool area and spent quite a lot of time there and I was always greeted with a smile at reception and also by the staff in the concierge area. I would not hesitate to recommend the Bayview to my friends and hope to return at some stage. I did not find it too far to walk to the market in fact I prefer a hotel that is slightly away from the busy market area

Room Tip: I prefer a high floor but I think this is a matter of choice but although facing the main street I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinacoladobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear pinacoladobabe,

Thank you so much for your excellent rating of our staff during your recent stay with us. This is very reassuring and we are very pleased we have served you well. We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests to return to us.

I’m delighted you loved our pool area and before mid-2013, we shall be introducing a Fun Pool (new family facility) aimed at children over 5 years old where they can have a great time (along with their parents)! In case you are not aware, the hotel provides a free one way shuttle every evening for guests who opt for a short ride to the night market.

Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing