We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average value for Money but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average value for Money but could be better”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was looking forward to the short stay in this hotel and was quite satisfied with what i saw but it would have been much better if a few things went along well. Check in and out was good. Pool was excellent. Breakfast excellent. A bit aged hotel which will explain the following shortfalls;

1/Both rooms did nto have the security safe working, after 2 calls no one came up.
2/Kettle had an odour but this i can live with fpr the price we pay.
3/Beach needs to have some cleaning and some supervision. As the para sailing sports cause a level of nuisance for the actual beach goers. i would reckon this beach in front of the hotel is solely for water sports, no swimming or wading pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prakash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Prakash28,

Thank you for your positive comments on our pool and breakfast. We do take pride in our huge free form pool which is the highlight of the resort and our also extensive breakfast spread served every morning with differing local and international choices.

We have noted your comments over the faulty security safe that was not fixed and the condition of the kettle. We apologise for any inconvenience that may have arisen but please be assured that appropriate action has been taken to address the areas mentioned.

The beach does have swimming areas which is zoned to keep motorised sports away from the swimmers and non-watersport users but we will always encourage our guests to use our oversized pool and garden whenever possible for their comfort and safety. The cleanliness of the beach is under the care of the local council who have their cleaners to tidy up the beach area and they are supposed to comb the area daily.

We look forward to your return with your family for another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    730
    362
    107
    64
See reviews for
695
540
69
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room is large, two easy chairs, a huge bed, a lovely balcony but really it is all a little tired in comparison with other similar resorts. And there was no chair under the desk area where I would have liked to put my laptop.

Having all the space to spread out was appreciated, and the pool, breakfast and lobby areas are all fine - no complaints there at all. Breakfast was good (and included in our package), and thank goodness for the self-help espresso machine - we were saved from the ubiquitous appalling strong, bitter, black stew that is called hotel coffee in SE Asia.

This would be a lovely place to stay for a holiday, rather than to rush through as part of a package holiday, as it was in our case.

The upsides of the lovely beach, lots of stuff to do, the funky night market with more knock off gear than you could shake a stick at and the excellent inexpensive restaurants in the area make this an ideal holiday spot, and this hotel is positioned nicely at the end of 'hotel row' so it is relatively quiet and undisturbed.

This is tourist ground zero, and super busy, so being at the end of the row makes it extra good.

This could be top notch with a bit of a room revamp - but was perfectly fine for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear fwc,

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and its large rooms that we are well known for. As for breakfast we are glad you enjoyed our over 70 choices of hot & cold items which is well received by many of our guests as well.

Indeed we are very different in style & look from the modern day hotel and we do try to maintain our retro feel as part of the hotels concept. Emphasis is always placed on the substance of our caring & efficient service which is what we are well known for.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here a couple of years ago. Hotel is one of the last ones on the the road so not much noise at night easy walk to all the night life or just jump on the local buses. Hugh breakfast buffet!!
Could do with a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlzDarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear CarlzDarlz,

Thank you for returning to the Bayview Beach Resort after your last stay a couple of years ago. I appreciate your endorsement on our lovely breakfast that has over 70 items of hot & cold dishes that you have enjoyed and is also well received by many other guests.

The Hotel has budgeted significantly for a progressive renovation which will be completed before this year ends. However it is to be noted that the hotel has been going thorough progressive updating or renovation in almost all the rooms.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you again and we hope you will return for another stay with us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at the family friendly hotel 4 times in the past 5 years! It is an excellent family friendly hotel! From the time you walk in to the hotel you are treated as part of the family! From the breakfast to the lunch! From the manager to the pool boys everything is great! Sure there are some minor problems but which hotel don't have minor problems!
In 2 weeks my family and I will be staying in this fan static hotel for a 5th time in 6 years and we can't wait!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Green_gold_roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Green_gold_roo,

Thank you so much for your excellent rating of your previous stay with us and we are delighted with your very positive endorsement. This is very reassuring and we are very pleased we have served you & your family well all these years.

We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests to return to us. We are delighted that you will be staying with us again soon. Kindly advise us under what name you have made your reservation so that we can check your booking and ensure all is taken care of.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in two weeks time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. We spent four nights in a family room, and wish we had stayed at least a week – in fact two weeks would be great and you still wouldn’t see all there is to see in Penang. Check in was easy, and they very nicely upgraded us to a seaview room. The rooms are huge, with door between parents and kids rooms. The bed is the biggest I have slept in – probably 8 feet wide. Two showers, small fridge, two TVs, and in the kids room couch and table. Two balconies, and a room safe. We used the safe, but one day left open by accident – the room was cleaned while we were out, and nothing taken. Honest staff and genuinely nice from everyone we dealt with.
Breakfast was great – a full range of food and plenty of it – the omelette station was great.
The pool area is fabulous. Lots of loungers around it with a large grassed area with plenty of shade. Separate pool for little kids, and main pool has a bar in the middle. Adjacent to beach where there was horse riding, jet skies etc. The water maybe not so good, but just swim in the pool and enjoy it. The pool area also has massage tent (RM30 for 30 min) and roving foot and leg massages (RM45 for 45 min).
The location is great. On the maps it looks maybe a little out of town, but a short walk, either along the beach or road to the night market. The walk there goes past shops and on the right hand side several massage places. We went to one close to the hotel and had fish spa for RM10 each. Have to try it if you haven’t. The food court at the market is great. We also ate across the road from the hotel at Enca which we highly recommend (meals RM10-15). Probably good anywhere - I think the food in Penang is universally good – only price that changes. Eg at night market 10 satay RM8.
The food at the hotel all looked great. The smoothies were very nice, nachos and icecream all good.
Bus stop out front which to Georgetown is RM2.80. Taxi to airport RM69, to Georgetown about RM25 by meter, but more like 30-40 when you negotiate.
Highly recommend – our family of four (kids 13,11) had a great time, and hope to come back and spend longer here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Bmiz,

Much appreciate your excellent review on your recent stay with us. Truly, a four nights stay is insufficient to enjoy the service and facilities provided by our Resort plus the sight and sounds of Penang. Nonetheless, we are pleased you have liked your stay at our Resort and Penang.

I’m glad that our staff’s honesty had endeared you and undoubtedly our staff is our biggest asset working either at the back or the front of the House. THEY make the positive difference we offered our guests when they have outstandingly fulfil our aspiration to provide caring, efficient and friendly service.

Thank you for recommending us to others and we are delighted you have enjoyed and endorsed your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you and the family back in the near future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Building old style, need renovation everywhere. Room need renovating, some furniture already wear out and the bathroom is very very slippery, even my 3 years old son was slip and had his head bleeding because of slippery.
In the pool, it was close at 7.30pm and there was sign for that, but 7.15pm the pool staff already put Caporit to pool and scare peoples away from pool. I was on kids pool, then he came and have strong argue with me because of he want to throw the caporit to pool which my kids play in. Very very rude staff

Overall, never want to stay again in this hotel...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear RolandL,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

The building which was designed in the 80s indeed has a retro look to it which is complimented by the many antique furniture and fittings which can be seen around the hotel. The management has always emphasized on maintaining the resorts old Penang charm without compromising guest comfort and service standards.

Unfortunately we are unable to determine the room type that you stayed in to check the condition of the furniture and the bathroom as claimed and we also did not receive any reports with regards to an injured child. However it is to be noted that the hotel has been going thorough progressive updating or renovation in almost all the rooms.

We have taken note of the pool staff’s action and we will take the necessary steps to prevent this from happening again. We apologise for what may have been a less than pleasant experience and I am confident that we can and will do better in the future. Once again thank you for your comments and for choosing Bayview!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the above Hotel as an add-on to a trip to Dubai and Kuala Lumpur. Although the weather was not that good, (two wet days) we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious with an 8ft bed. We slept very well as the hotel was very quiet. We had a large bathroom with bath and separate walk-in shower. Good quality towels and touletries were supplied daily and complimentary bottled water even though the tap water was fine to drink. There was a full-size fridge which we used to keep drinks cool and to make ice. We had a balcony with a side view overlooking the garden. The buffet breakfast was more than ample with a good choice of local or international food. Also a chef who cooked omelettes or eggs to our liking. The most delicious coffee was available at the coffee machine and there was plenty of choice. There was an evening complimentary bus down to the market area of Batu Ferringhi each evening where there were plenty of eateries and then we would stroll back to the hote after eating. The hotel is situated next to the Hard Rock Hotel and restaurant so we did eat there once and they do have a happy hour each evening. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and tended to eat out as the food and drinks are expensive at the hotel. Guests who did eat there were very complimentary about the food but they were on a half-board basis and would not have paid such a high price had the meals not been included. The local bus service outside the hotel is escellent and cheap. They run to Georgetown every half hour and are air-conditioned and not crowded. If travelloing in the opposite direction, buses run to the National Park where you register free of charge at the booth before enjoying the nature walks, lake and beach there. There are lots of wild animals, monkeys, wild boar, monitor lizards, birds and butterflies to be seen. Good walking shoes required. Regarding hotelo facilities, the pool area was uncrowded and very attractive with a jacuzzi and meditation pool reserved for adults only and a swim-up bar for drinks. We tended to sit in the garden area overlooking the beach as there are no loungers on the beach. However, we did enjoy walking along the beach but could not swim due to jelly fish and poor weather. There was a table tennis table, pool table, well-eqipped gymnasium and an excellent creche facility but no evening entertainment apart from a lady playing the piano. This did not bother us as we went out every evening. we had an evening flight when we left and were allowed to keep our room for two extra hours, enabling us to have some lunch before sitting in the garden area. We were able to swim and enjoy our last evening as there are excellent showering and changing areas next to the garden. Staff were very obliging, allowing my husband to charge his camcorder on the computer at reception and allowing the extra time in our rooms. We will return (preferably not in the rainy season!) Our only criticism is that their smoking policy is not clear. We aw two businssmen smoking at breakfast. We were sure this was not allowed but there are no notices to say otherwise so did not feel we could complain. Our room was no smoking but some people felt it was OK to smoke on their balconies which was not pleasant if you were next to them on your balcony. The lobby which is huge and spacious could also get smoky at times. The management need to have a clear policy on smoking.

Room Tip: Sea view room are hard to get but attractive. Superior rooms have free wifi but wifi is availoable c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazza002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Mazza002,

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and its large rooms with the super-king-size 8’ beds that we are well known for. As for breakfast we are glad you enjoyed our over 70 choices of hot & cold items which is repeatedly well received by many of our guests as well.

We are introducing a new concept of “Happy Hours Dining” to offer hygienic food of good hotel standards in our convenient location with similar or cheaper pricing to those illegal restaurants across the road. We recognise we have to give our in house guests good reasons to dine in house in the evenings so do look out for this new food & beverage offer when you are next staying with us.
Indeed, our La Veranda restaurant is a designated non-smoking outlet and I regret that the staff had not been diligent to advise errant smokers on the incident you mentioned. We have put extra signage to remind our guests on the non-smoking venue. As this hotel has an open air surroundings in all our balconies and our indoor atrium lobby, as such we do not restrict smokers.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we hope to welcome you back again (in drier weather) for another relaxing holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing