We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, borderline bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed at the Bayview Beach Resort in Batu Ferringhi, Penang on a company trip from 18 to 19 November 2011.

The resort is located a good 45 minutes from Penang Airport. This is if there are no traffic jams along the way. The traffic through Georgetown can be really horrendous according to some of my colleagues who drove to the resort.

There are only three lifts leading up to the rooms, and they were all extremely SLOW. The carpeted walls in the lifts were rather dated and didn't look like they have been cleaned for a long time. The room given to us was a pretty good size one, though the first thing we noticed upon entering the room was its rather musty smell. We had to open the doors to the balcony to air it out before it got better.

The bathroom was rather large and modern, with separate shower and bath facilities. Water pressure was great and hot water very sufficient. Complimentary toiletries consisted of two tiny bottles of something which I couldn't make out as the printing on the bottles were really bad.

The room had a rather nice view of the sea, an empty fridge, clean sheets, an LCD TV with very limited international channels (see picture) and a safe which didn't work. It was probably not plugged in or the battery was flat. Repeated attempts at pressing the buttons in accordance with the instructions on how to set it up failed to produce any resemblance of a response. We didn't bother with calling for help as we were rushing off for lunch and an event at the function room.

The function room on the same floor as the lobby had the same musty smell from our room - the carpet seriously needs a good shampoo. Some colleagues were sneezing and had their noses all blocked up because of the air in the function room. Food served by the resort was pretty good, though it seemed every other dish was a curry. That, however, was probably more the fault of the organisers (us) rather than the resort's.

We had our company dinner and dance at the Crystal Ballroom and boy was it a disaster. The sound system was horrible. We couldn't make out what the emcees were saying at all. The resort staff present were totally helpless. To make matters worse, the air-conditioning didn't work very well. We were not suffocating, but it got more and more stuffy as the night went on. The resort staff told us one of the air-conditioner transformer broke down and there is nothing they could do. Unacceptable! The result was everybody sweating profusely under their costumes (yes, it was a themed dinner and dance).

This air-conditioning problem seemed to extend to the resort's gym, it was really stuffy! It has very basic equipment and some free weights, a few stationary bikes and one treadmill. Big fluffy towels are available and the gym opens from 7am daily (according to the sign at the door) - all rather good for a resort gym, if only they can get the air-conditioning fixed.

One of our colleagues had a family emergency on the second day and needed to get back to Kuala Lumpur as soon as possible. He sought the help of the concierge to see what is the first available flight out. The concierge made a phone call, told him there was no answer and then stood there, unable to offer anything else or suggest any other means of obtaining the information. We had to track down another colleague with an iPad, found the number to an airline with flights from Penang to KL that day and make the arrangements ourselves. The concierge merely offered us a piece of paper to write down the details - great help he was!

The sum of all the negatives made this a rather bad experience at the resort, not gonna go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ooFlaneryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you for the write-up you have posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate comments that help us enhance our standards.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused over the lift service during our peak season. We have made available the 3 service lifts, making it a total of 6 lifts accessible for guests usage. A signage pointing out the extra 3 service lifts is placed at the lift lobby to reduce waiting time & crowding during busy periods.

Regarding your company function held here, your main organiser had written to us as follows: “On behalf of the LxxxxNexxx Sports and Recreation Committee, I would like to express our heartfelt appreciation to you and your team at Bayview Beach Resort for the excellent hospitality and assistance rendered during our recent company trip and annual dinner. The feedback received thus far from our employees has been positive and the overall ambience of the hotel premises including the beachfront activities were pleasurable.” We regret that the organiser and ourselves were not aware of your dissatisfaction notwithstanding the unexpected breakdown of our transformer which had indeed affected the efficiency of our air-conditioning at the Ballroom. We have since replaced the defective transformer with a brand new one to ensure reliable efficiency of our electricity supply for many years into the future.

I sincerely apologise for our concierge lack of attention & service during your colleague’s much needed assistance which should have been provided without any problem and I appreciate your taking the time to write in which allow us to address the various shortcomings in our delivery process, helping us to ensure we deliver good service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for your input and we hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves. As such, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bayview Beach Resort when you next return to Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Its beside Hard Rock Hotel. Pay half of what you will pay at Hard Rock to stay and you can spend your day at Hard Rock similar to other visitors as Hard Rock is definitelt overpriced.

Bayview is quite an old hotel but was once awarded the best hotels in Malaysia as per the certificates they displayed in the lobby. Good service and great facilities in the hotel itself. If refurbished, it will definitely look much better.

Hotel rooms are spacious and furniture still in great condition. Recommended to get a sea view room instead of the garden view which is facing the main road.

As the hotel is located at the end of Batu Feringgi, you will definitely enjoy the private beach which is for hotel guest only. Very clean beach and also a huge swimming pool with a bar in the middle.

It is 10 minutes walk from the night market and shops which makes it very convenient.

In conclusion, highly recommended to stay for half the price if compared to Hard Rock and Lone Pine hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKalsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you for your positive input of our Resort posted in the Tripadvisor and we're glad you have found value for money and enjoyed your stay here.

We have now renovated different categories of all rooms in varying stages (new furniture, new carpet, new interiors such as curtains, wall’s mural, bathroom lightings, basin tops, additional glass shelving, etc, All rooms except the standard category now have flat screen LCD TVs, new facilities such as relocating our gymnasium to our garden level (now air-conditioned) with an addition of a treadmill facing the beach-front, new children playground station, upgraded kids club and the revamped Recreation Club with various new games plus the cabanas’ thatched roof, tennis & multi-purpose courts, garden’s toilets have all been recently renovated. We aim at focusing on delivering consistent excellent services along our renovated product rather than the older style of our 1990 building.

Please be advised that the beach in front of the hotel is a public beach by law and not our private beach as you had thought.

We hope to welcome you back to the newly refurbished Bayview Beach Resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

On the map, it appears right at the end of the strip: after two nights struggling through the crowds at the night markets, you'll probably appreciate as much as we did that being 10 minutes down the road is quite a good thing. The whole beach is generally not clean, making it more useful for waterskis and power boats, but those have been banned since early 2011. If you are happy with the pool, the exceptionally good Penang food (even Malaysians come here) and inland tours of the island, then this hotel is great value for money. The view over the beach and hills is quite amazing and makes for a pleasant and relaxing holiday experience. The rooms are a good size, well furnished, everything works. Breakfast is very generous, there is something for everyone. There were no unexpected charges at checkout or on my credit card after leaving. I have been to Penang 3 times in 10 years, and have stayed at this hotel each time, I would not be reluctant to do so again.

Room Tip: try and get a view of both beach and hill, maybe on the west side of the hotel, higher up (above lev...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank objective_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thank you for the nice write-up you have posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate comments from all guests to monitor our standards with continuous enhancement.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

we liked this hotel,right on the beach,nice beach too.our room very spacious,2 room interconected for 4p,rooms a little out of date,but still not bad,staff were good,had to paid for internet,still cheap,but always had to go to reception to paid first and get login no to log inn,it wasa pain,as had to go down all the time.Breakie was awesome,heaps of variety of foods,yummy!!.nice pool with pool side bar,serving great cocktails and snacks,go for the satay!!.had a lovely massage at the pool cabana for $15 aus dollars,an hour.ricki oo7 as he calls himself does the feet massage as you lay by the pool on yr deck chair,go ricki u were great.!!!Tha night market are a 5min walk down the road,some great buys,on 7 days a week.nice resturant in front of hotel angd good money changer and cheap internet,if u dont want to use hotel.bus stop right next door infront of the hard rock resort,acn take u right into georgetown as we went here for$ 2.70 ausoneway,have correct money,as no change is given,,its take abot 45mins to georgetown.get the bus to guerny plaza shopping centre,20mins away,straight down road,just ask if he can stop at that point for u ,or u might mis it,walk 5mins and u will enter at back of tne centre,if u lie shopping like me,we found heaps of sale thing here to buy,trust me, it was cheaper than home and our next stop singaopre.check the pool at the hard rock next door to bayview,it is a amazing pool,we sat out there at night ,while my teenager child use there free wifi,which l happen to get their code 2 days pior and we could also pick it up at our pool outside as it was right next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

We thank you for your positve comments about our facilities, staff and services.

I am sure your other useful tips on Penang will be helpful to other readers. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is the last hotel along the beach and is probably the furthest away from the main market area. The rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped with safe, tv, fridge, kettle and strong air con. Overall the hotel was spacious and clean but a little dated. The lift doors had a life of their own and often closed at high speed catching many an unsuspecting holidaymaker when entering or exiting them - beware old people and young children. All staff seemed friendly and some were very helpful whereas others didn't have a clue and service in the restaurants was very hit and miss but that aside the food was good and the prices fair. The beach was poor and we only went onto it once for a quick look preferring to stay in the large and well kept grounds by the pool. Wifi was not free but not too expensive and there were loads of great places to eat nearby, the best being the night food market food court place which everyone should visit!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Thank you for your comments on our hotel's services and facilities.

We are aware and currently addressing the lift closure problem. Unfortunately the customised parts are yet to be fixed by the lift company.

The public beach in front of the hotel is not under the hotel’s jurisdiction, however the local council workers do carry out cleaning activities of the beach every morning.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Me, my wife and our two girls aged 1 and 4 stayed here from 26th October to 31 October 2011. My personal summary:

Room: 3/5
A huge room with a king sized bed was greatly appreciated since we all like to cuddle each other. But having a huge room has its down sides. The TV was so small and located approximately 15ft from the bed, which gave us a hard time watching our favorite Thai horror movie when we needed to read the subtitle all the way. The wall was empty, not so much done to decorate the wall. The lighting was not sufficient for a room with that size. But our girls really enjoyed the space.

Power failure: 2/5
We had two times power failure which knocked out the power in our room (and the whole floor as we were told by the staff). The first time was not that annoying. Barely 3 minutes. But the second time happened when I was bathing my girls in the tub. Imagine having two panic girls in the dark with shampoo all over their hair in a half-filled bath tub. We were left in the dark for almost 5 minutes. I consider myself lucky nothing happened to my girls during that time.

Pool: 4/5
The pool was huge. We were told that the hotel was fully booked that weekend but it can still hold the crowd. The kids' pool was the excellent. The water was clean, the surrounding was beautiful.

Beach: 3/5
It's not actually a private beach. Public can still access the beach - only by not using the hotel's pathway. There's an access to the beach located between the Hard Rock hotel and this hotel. The beach was clean. The water was not that appealing, but we had good time running along and the girls enjoyed playing with the sand.

Sourcing for food, drinks etc. 4/5
We didn't take any food or drink offered by the hotel. Instead we drove around and sometimes we walked to the eateries and grocery stores (mini market). It was better this way when we had more control to what we wanna eat and pay. We had dinner at Hard Rock Cafe on Friday night, a few minutes walk from the hotel. We also went to the famous Ferringhi night market when and had dinner at one of the local Arab menu. We also supplied ourselves with loads of outside food e.g. corn flakes, milk, chips, soft drinks, etc.

Elevator service 2/5
The elevators were so slow. They actually have 6 elevators for use. 3 at the main lift lobby and 3 service elevators. But they're just slow and packed.

Would we want to go back here?
Yes. Because of the huge room, beautiful pool & beach and the reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get room at the 2nd floor so you need not depend so much on the elevators. Ground floor is the pool...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamarol1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments of the resort and we're glad that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We also take this opportunity to apologize for the power failure incident on your floor which was actually caused by a faulty laptop charger used by guest in one of the rooms. Also as mentioned, we have 6 lifts that can carry between 12 up to 16 people in each of them but unfortunately there are times especially during noon when it may seem a bit slow due to heavy usage.

We thank you for choosing Bayview and sincerely hope to welcome you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Bayview Hotel Resort is located close to the beach at Batu Ferringhi on Penang Island.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff (mainly Malaysian's) are extremely friendly and professional. The buffet breakfast (included in tariff) is to die for. Local food in the several restaurants is yummy and reasonably priced. It is a short stroll to restaurants, bars, massage parlours (strictly professional masseurs and nail artists) and of course, the beautiful beaches. It is also close to the fabulous night markets, which are open every evening/night. Prices at the markets are ridiculously low and you can buy just about anything.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good, but if you want a five star room, just slip the check-in person 100 Malaysian...
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DekkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments on our staff service and breakfast served.

I am reading your room tip with clarification as we strictly disallow bribing and do have an upgrade programme where guests can take up better rooms at norminal charge which goes to the hotel, not the check-in person.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,464 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $55 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing