We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time with 3 young kids, who enjoyed themselves. Wide variety of quality food in hotel lobby and service is exceptional. Great location with stalls just outside. Lots of fun Poolside activities. Only exception is the noise at night from the band in the lobby which can be heard from the family room levels 3&4. Otherwise A+

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Aussieadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Aussieadviser ,
Thank you VERY VERY MUCH and will surely share your real nice comments with my Team about your service experiences at the resort.
We will review the music entertainment sound volume to assure a better comfort to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang resort in a not too distant future.
Have a wonderful New Year head.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hotel on the beach, very comfortable and clean rooms. Whilst a bit dated on the outside, the interior is spacious and modern. Full range of facilities and more than sufficient choice of sun beds. Whilst drinks and food is expensive ( typical hotel prices) there are plenty of eateries and bars outside which are very reasonably priced with excellent food. Whilst normally about 45/60 mins from the airport by taxi, don't arrive during the evening rush hour. The traffic is horrendous and it too 100 mins to get to the hotel. Whilst we booked the taxi to the hotel at the taxi booth in the airport, we arranging the driver to return us to the airport. It was cheaper paying him direct. All in all, we had a very enjoyable long weekend from Singapore.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. If you want a balcony, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear NeilCheltenham_UK,
Thank you for your kind comments , much appreciated you took the time to share with all of us; even so good service is expected it is always a great motivation to hear we did it right 
We look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang resort in a not too distant future.

Have a wonderful New Year head.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have been to this hotel twice, a lovely property very suitable for families like mine with 2 small kids. Lovely pool, in fact, they have two pool one of which comes with a slider. Kids loved the swimming and other facilities. The restaurent by the beach was mind blowing, had a dinner by the beach - service, food, ambience were top of the class. The location is the key tourist hub of penang known as Batu Ferringhi, you will find a lot of eating places within a walking distance. In the evening, there is this place within 5 mins where you have many food options in a open space from japanese to arabian items. 5 star rating! room was big enough to accomodate my family of 4, internet was decent. Nothing to complan about, but breakfast seems always busy with tables full of guests which also tells you the popularity this hotel maintains within travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear ThunderExe,

Thank you so, so much for your very kind comments and as a returnee your feedbacks are more valuable and great sign that we are on the right track in providing memorable hotel experiences.
Your comments will be shared with the Team and surely motivate them further to achieve greater height in service delivery.
Thank you so much and look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang Resort in future.

I wish you a wonderful and successful New Year 2014.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I and our 2 sons (13 and 11) have just spent a week at the Parkroyal Penang Resort (22 to 29 December) and I am compelled to post a fairly negative review about what is an overpriced and quite poorly run hotel.

I am a VHA member and have spent 15 nights in 2013 in Parkroyal hotels in Singapore, Kuala Lumpur and Ho Chi Minh City so have a fairly good frame of reference in addition to being a frequent business and private traveller in the APAC region and elsewhere.

We arrived at 8pm to an empty reception and were greeted in a disinterested manner which was a consistent attitude exhibited by the front desk staff for the rest of the stay. No welcome drink as promised was offered and we were moved into 3 rooms over the next hour (not at our request) as an upgrade due to my membership. The final room was good but tucked in a corner with very limited natural light. The bedding is below par and when you're spending over $400 per night, you expect decent beds and pillows.

The breakfast at the Tamarind Brasserie is very average compared to just about any hotel I've stayed at anywhere, there is always a decent queue (unprecedented even in much larger hotels)which is not efficiently managed by the staff who aren't overly service oriented.

I don't won't to be overly negative but very little during the course of the week gave me cause to be otherwise. From spilled drinks on our last day to the phone ringing out to contact room service on 4 separate occasions, our experience was very disappointing. The hotel is shabby, the food is average and the staff clearly poorly trained and seem to be unhappy to be there. For half the price we paid, this would be disappointing, for what we actually paid, it was our worst hotel experience in years.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Julian S,

I sincerely regret to read your comments only now and not to have an opportunity while you were a the hotel to discuss personally with you and assist to make your stay more enjoyable. I will review all the issues brought up to my attention to ensure serious improvement where needed and would like to offer my sincere apologies for any discomfort caused.
Allow me to remind every reader, we are not always perfect even so we try, we may fail, we are only human but we are willing to change or improve if told while at the Resort, once you are left it is very difficult for us to change your perception of our property. Please accept my apologies once more.
Please next time you plan to visit Penang, do contact me personally and will ensure that you have a more pleasant and comfortable stay and enable to prove you your past experience was an accident and not the standard of the Resort.
I wish you a wonderful and successful New Year 2014.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I always love Park Royal hotel Penang. The place is great...pretty relaxing. Best to go during non peak season. I went recently during a festive celebration ..n yhe hotel was packed.
Nonetheless the service is still as good. They tryvto be as accommodating as possible. The staff were friendly and nice.
The breakfast is always good. Lots of choices. You can also walk out of the hotel to get good food at the nearest food court or restaurants.
A good place to be if you dont wabt to stay in town.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ms_CPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear eehc_iliep ,
it is really very rewarding for all of us to read your comments particularly from a returnee point of view, we dearly appreciate your comments and positive feedbacks.
I have shared your comments with the Team and you should have seen the smile and expression of satisfaction on their faces; THANK YOU, THANK YOU & THANK YOU!
We all look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang Resort in future.
I wish you a wonderful and successful New Year 2014.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

As a family group of 9 combining Christmas and a holiday here, this being the 4th consecutive year. Choosing to have Christmas dinner at the Park Royal was just the best. Chef Wong and his staff are to be highly congratulated for all their efforts for a superb tantalising seafood selection. Presentation was very impressive. Waitpersons very attentive on table service too. The whole atmosphere of the evening will be remembered.
We continue to come back to Park Royal for the friendliness of all who work here & cleaanliness. They do a tremendous job. Our granddaughters call it their second home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenys1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Glenys1948,

From the bottom of my heart THANK YOU, THANK YOU & THANK YOU!

I am so pleased to read your kind and generous comments about our property and our Team, so glad we made it right and years after years. Our best satisfaction is to not only see our guests coming back over and over again but be considered as Home away from Home. This is the sweetest music to our ears. THANK YOU SO, SO MUCH FOR YOUR SUPPORT AND CONFIDENCE IN US.

With the Team I wish you a fantastic New Year 2014, filled with Joy, Success and Great Health.
See you soon back in PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

As usual, how I chose my hotel will be after reading all of tripadvisors advises. This time what was important to us was agood hotel food as the children intended just to stay, eat, sleep in the hotel. The review of food here and the spread were pretty favorable...so there we were..

My eldest boy suggested to me to write in and title as "Do not Judge The book by its cover".Why? Because as we drove from Georgetown using our waze we nicely weaved in and out of the local small roads in town which showed us the charm of the old and new buildings in Penang. They readily fell in love and plan to visit again. As we drove along Tg Bungah/Tg Tokong and all we saw again skyscapers and other hotels and eagerly anticipate what Parkroyal looks like. Boy...against the all new Holiday Inn next to it..the newly green painted Parkroyal (as seen from Jalan Batu Ferringhi) was not we expected somehow...Later on I was told by the children that this was the first time that each of one of them thought.."Did mum actually chose this hotel? Why?" when they saw this old hotel from the Feringghi Road.

Anyway, we proceeded and checked in ..it was smoothly done but later I found out that they didn't accommodate my request for the extra bed although it was clearly stated in the booking form as well as requested verbally. Anyway it may be a blessing disguise as we discovered that the beds in the Grand Deluxe room were huge and can accommodate 3 teenagers easily. So we converted the extra bed paymente for free breakfast for the other 2 kids!

We were greatly surprised by our room selections i.e. the Lanai Suite which is connected to a Grand Deluxe Room. The lanai suite has 5 main compartments i.e the bedroom (with a large king size bed plus a day bed), 2 full size bathrooms (one with a shower and the other with a long bath), living room and a lanai which is an oversize balcony. It is very spacious and with good sea view (though from the side). The Grand Deluxe room was normal except that its twin beds are super twin beds joined together and became an oversized king bed. Now I understand why the hotel insisted they are not able to put in the extra bed in this type of room (during my telephone conversations) due to the size of the existing beds.

Food was good. We did two trips to the Cool Banana Restaurant which is beside the pool as they served good ala carte servings. Portions for some food were very generous for instance the burger. Try the stuff crab, it was so delicious. The staff there were really cool and cheerful. The breakfast spread was good and you can choose to be indoor or outdoor if the weather permits.

The only nuisance is the activities which was not provided by the hotel outside the hotel i.e. by the beach. There are many motorised sports activities provided which eventually limit the swimming/playing area by the sea. It is really busy and noisy. So if you are into those types of sports, you will appreciate it but if you have kids just wanting to play by the beach as the seaside, this is not the best place to be.

As mentioned earlier, this is an old hotel but it has retain its charm once you are in the hotel itself. Some of the facilities are due for repairs e.g. our toilet flush in one of the Lanai Suite bathrooms became non functional TWICE but it was promptly looked into. Wifi from the living area was good but somehow not from the bedroom section.

All in all, it was a good break but it was rather expensive.....

Room Tip: Lanai suite is great for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImaMohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear ImaMohamed,
Thank you very much for your confidence in us and am so pleased that you were happy with your choice of hotel. With the Team, at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, we are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay and the food quality for which we are renown for were up to your satisfaction.
I will review the toilet flush issue in your toilets to avoid similar discomfort in future, my sincere apologies!
Thank you and wish you a wonderful New Year 2014
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,479 reviews
7.1 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $84 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing