We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$59
$52
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La(Batu Ferringhi)
$114
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa(Batu Ferringhi)
$154
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Pine Hotel(Batu Ferringhi)
$88
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Beach Resort(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$62
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rasa Motel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$15
$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
D'Feringghi Haus(Batu Ferringhi)
$37
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De'lady Boss Hotels and Resorts(Penang)(Great Value!)
$18
$14
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,745 results
Traveler rating
1,112
1,065
388
111
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,112
1,065
388
111
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscool bananastamarind brasserielanai suitegrand deluxesunset barnight marketpark royal hotelkids clubbuffet breakfastwater slidesfamily roomsnake showlounge areakids poolsuperior roombeach frontwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,722 - 1,727 of 2,745 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Parkroyal in Penang is an elegant and friendly hotel situated right on Batu Ferrenghi Beach. It has a wonderful entrance, always open on both sides to welcome guest and the sea breeze. Most rooms overlook the sea, pools and attractive gardens, but there could be some with mountain views. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff are efficient, welcoming and very friendly.

The hotel is right on a bus route into the city of Georgetown and, in the other direction, to tourist attractions such as the butterfly farm. There is a hotel minibus service into the city each day, also a taxi rank outside, and an interesting night market each evening. A multitude of restaurants are nearby, a favourite being the rather tatty but cheap and cheerful food hall a couple of hundred metres down the road - turn left out of the hotel. A number of activities are on offer on the beach, banana boats, jet skis, parasailing, and further up the beach horse riding.

The breakfasts are very good, plenty of variety and catering to all tastes, western and Asian, always with a selection of exotic fruit. An special treat is the delivery of home made biscuits to the rooms each afternoon. A relaxing way to end the day is a sunset walk along the beach. The Parkroyal is really worth a visit. I can't wait to go back for a third visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain would be quieter. There is a non-smoking floor. If there are no mosquitoes about, we like to switch off the air conditioning and sleep with the balcony doors wide open so we can hear the sea and enjoy the cool breeze.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear SJRAustralia,
It is so comforting to read your kind and generous feedback. Really made us feel even more motivated to try harder to serve our guests the very best we can.
So pleased to read you really enjoyed our famous breakfast, this is great and very reassuring !
I am also pleased to reconfirm that the whole hotel room side is non smoking; we have selected terrace on each hotel wings for the smokers’ comfort but I will have to agree it Is not always easy to control however we do our best to assure rooms are keep smoke free.
Have a fantastic day
Very sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We thought we'd come to the wrong place for a holiday as we drove from the airport through the business estates in the rush hour but once we got to George Town and started going along the North of the Island we changed our mind. And then we got to our hotel and our expectations took another turn upwards! A lovely large reception area with an enormous lounge, and a view of the pool, gardens and sea beyond - stunning.

The formalities of checking in was efficiently accomplished and we were taken to our Deluxe Sea View room on the 3rd floor. Whilst it was a lovely room with a very big comfortable bed, a big TV and bathroom and did have a view of the sea, it also looked over the mosque in the next street. I was aware of the likelihood of this when booking through Agoda, but it seemed the only way to avoid this was to pay a lot of extra money to get one of the Grand Deluxe Sea view rooms! Having stayed in the hotel, I imagine even these Grand rooms would have heard the Mosque. In truth, the call to prayer did not affect us unduly, we were always able to get back to sleep after the 6am wake up call ;-)

We did not let the location room upset us however and we had a wonderful relaxing time at the hotel. The service was excellent and all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was something else! Taken in the garden or adjacent areas the breakfast was everything we could have wished for with a stunning choice of International foods to suit every palate. The only problem was deciding when to stop gorging ourselves - we certainly didn't need to eat again till the evening after one of the breakfasts we ate! Heartily recommended.

We ate one evening in the hotels' Tamarind Brasserie and were pleased at the way we were able to tailor the menu to suit our individual tastes and very pleased with quality of the food and size of the portion. The service wasn't exceptional however, serving me the wrong size beer and despite the restaurant being almost empty it was sometimes difficult to see a waiter.

The hotel grounds were excellent, plenty of sun beds and sunshades as well as mature trees to shade parts of the grounds, which was very useful as the sun was very strong. the grass extended down to a narrow beach, but it shelved quite steeply and with a threat of jellyfish I was not brave enough to venture into the sea too often. The hotel provided a spray adjacent to the beach that could be used in the event of a sting. The pool was lovely though, and I made good use of that. The bar in the gardens was very nice, with a happy hour that promised special prices for multiples of the same drink. This was a good deal for two drinks, but the third was the same price as the first! Cocktails were good and the beer was cold - enough said.

There appeared to be activities for the children every day, and also for the adults including a cookery demonstration. The snake show one afternoon was appreciated by my wife who enjoyed being draped with a large boa constrictor!

Evening times in the lounge were enlivened by a very accomplished singer and multi instrumentalist who also played requests. Very chilled.

Outside the hotel we ate at a number of local restaurants that provided good food and service and drinks that were considerably cheaper than the hotel prices, though alcoholic drinks we thought were very expensive in Penang, though not as bad as Singapore as we later found out.

The street market which started outside our hotel and ran much further than we were inclined to walk was great fun, though I wouldn't recommend buying one of the watches from the shop to the right of the hotel.

There are a few small shops opposite the hotel and laundry services was available there, and that was very useful. The bus that stopped just outside the hotel was wonderful, cheap and air conditioned - a great way to get around the island.

We had some very dramatic electrical storms at night, but fortunately nothing to stop us enjoying the sun and sights around the hotel.

Altogether a wonderful stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear tommyC64,
Thank you for your kind word and great motivating feedbacks really much appreciated.
I would like to apologise for the poor service provided around the pool and I have immediately review with my Team the issue to assure great and prompt improvement. Please accept my deepest apologies.
Thank you very much for your strong support and do look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future to Penang.
Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently spent 5 night at the Park Royal and had a wonderful stay. We shared a family room with our two daughters 7 and 9 and found this to be a great layout. The rooms are a little tired but incredibly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great each day and had a delicious variety of food. By far our favourite part of the hotel was the gardens and children's pool our kids spent hours going down the water slides while my husband and I enjoyed cocktails and chilling out. We can't wait to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyadventuresoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear carlyw5,
Thank you for your kinds words. We love to hear we made it right and you had a wonderful time with us, we will continue to improve ourselves to assure we keep excelling in our service delivered.
Your comments come as a reward to all of us as sometime we feel pretty down when we read some feedbacks.
Thank you so much for your support, sincerely greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future!

Have a real beautiful day
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was like a cherry on the cake. Penang is a really pretty place and the hotel was a grand, sprawling property, located on the Batu Ferringhi beach - one of the coveted beaches of Penang. We had a very comfortable stay; sumtuous breakfasts; extremely hospitable staff; and overlooking the vast sea on the one side and a bustling city street on the other with food, drinks, hookah aplenty. Just walking down the winding path is quite pleasing. The only hiccups are that the internet is erratic (much like the other places), but then we were on a leisure trip and it didn't hurt much. Also, it's very far from the airport and Georgetown. And everything around there is slightly more expensive than the rest of the city. Also, there are very few dining options for a place this big. The spa - and the body massage were extremely rejuvenating. Overall a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Go for the beach facing; although the standard hill view isn't bad either.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuruchiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Margaret B,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedbacks, always very important to all of us here to ensure we constantly improve where necessary and assure that we exceed our guests expectations.
We are so pleased to know that you be back with us and we will surely ensure to make your 25th ;)) a great success ! Thank you a million for your support and confidence in PARKROYAL Penang, this is a great motivation to all of us here. T H A N K Y O U V E R Y M U C H !
Have a wonderful, WONDERFUL day
Sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We first went to Penang in 1999 and stayed at Golden Sands with our 2 children we loved it, we returned in 2005 on our own and stayed at parkroyal and have gone back nearly every year since. We celebrated our daughters 21st there 4 years ago and then her wedding 3 years ago we could not of had a better time or experience anywhere else the staff were amazing the detail was faultless and all of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their time there. I read in another review about Zam can't agree more he is great we seem to be there in September and he arranges the footy to be aired in cool bananas and always asks how are team is doing...

We are returning again this September for my 50th and really looking forward to seeing the changes as unfortunately we were unable to go last year but I would recommend Parkroyal to anyone and to have functions or wedding there they do a fantastic job..

For a cheap and friendly bite to eat nearby try Helenas run by Mother and daughter lovely people
Kind regards Frank and Margaret

Room Tip: We first stayed on 2nd floor which used to be as smoking floor although requesting non smoking but the housemaid on that floor made it worth staying unfortunately she has retired now, so I would request the higher floor away from mosque
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Margaret B,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedbacks, always very important to all of us here to ensure we constantly improve where necessary and assure that we exceed our guests expectations.
We are so pleased to know that you be back with us and we will surely ensure to make your 25th ;)) a great success ! Thank you a million for your support and confidence in PARKROYAL Penang, this is a great motivation to all of us here. T H A N K Y O U V E R Y M U C H !
Have a wonderful, WONDERFUL day
Sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews