We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay amidst the city and the sea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was like a cherry on the cake. Penang is a really pretty place and the hotel was a grand, sprawling property, located on the Batu Ferringhi beach - one of the coveted beaches of Penang. We had a very comfortable stay; sumtuous breakfasts; extremely hospitable staff; and overlooking the vast sea on the one side and a bustling city street on the other with food, drinks, hookah aplenty. Just walking down the winding path is quite pleasing. The only hiccups are that the internet is erratic (much like the other places), but then we were on a leisure trip and it didn't hurt much. Also, it's very far from the airport and Georgetown. And everything around there is slightly more expensive than the rest of the city. Also, there are very few dining options for a place this big. The spa - and the body massage were extremely rejuvenating. Overall a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Go for the beach facing; although the standard hill view isn't bad either.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuruchiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Margaret B,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedbacks, always very important to all of us here to ensure we constantly improve where necessary and assure that we exceed our guests expectations.
We are so pleased to know that you be back with us and we will surely ensure to make your 25th ;)) a great success ! Thank you a million for your support and confidence in PARKROYAL Penang, this is a great motivation to all of us here. T H A N K Y O U V E R Y M U C H !
Have a wonderful, WONDERFUL day
Sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We first went to Penang in 1999 and stayed at Golden Sands with our 2 children we loved it, we returned in 2005 on our own and stayed at parkroyal and have gone back nearly every year since. We celebrated our daughters 21st there 4 years ago and then her wedding 3 years ago we could not of had a better time or experience anywhere else the staff were amazing the detail was faultless and all of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their time there. I read in another review about Zam can't agree more he is great we seem to be there in September and he arranges the footy to be aired in cool bananas and always asks how are team is doing...

We are returning again this September for my 50th and really looking forward to seeing the changes as unfortunately we were unable to go last year but I would recommend Parkroyal to anyone and to have functions or wedding there they do a fantastic job..

For a cheap and friendly bite to eat nearby try Helenas run by Mother and daughter lovely people
Kind regards Frank and Margaret

Room Tip: We first stayed on 2nd floor which used to be as smoking floor although requesting non smoking but t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Margaret B,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedbacks, always very important to all of us here to ensure we constantly improve where necessary and assure that we exceed our guests expectations.
We are so pleased to know that you be back with us and we will surely ensure to make your 25th ;)) a great success ! Thank you a million for your support and confidence in PARKROYAL Penang, this is a great motivation to all of us here. T H A N K Y O U V E R Y M U C H !
Have a wonderful, WONDERFUL day
Sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 night in grand deluxe room with sea view. Room is good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Verity breakfast but no sushi.we do a lot of activities by the sea. Horse riding... parachute... and of course walking by the beach. We will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aszilawatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Aszitarmizi,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback which are a great motivation to all of us to constantly improve ourselves to serve our guests better every day.
As I always say we may fail at time as we are only human but please do let us know and we will ensure to have a prompt recovery to assure memorable hotel experiences to all our guests.
Have a real lovely day ahead.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

ParkRoyal Hotel, Penang
We transferred to our hotel in Ferrenghi Beach following a short, but well worthwhile stay in Georgetown. First impressions of the hotel were positive, our taxi driver reassuring us that we were staying a good hotel! The entrance is clean and bright and we were offered to sit with a cold fruit drink while the receptionist checked us in. I had put in a request (following previous reviews) for a high floor and a room away from the mosque and we were not disappointed. Whilst not on the top floor, we has booked a premier delux so had a nice quiet sea view room with a balcony (overlooking the atrium area). The corridors are filled with the aroma of citrus, making it pleasant to walk around indoors. The room was a good size with a separate bathroom (bathrobe and slippers) with the usual toiletries etc. Bedding and towels were changed daily if required, a turndown service is offered (not sure why they still do this) and during our stay we had note to say they would be insecticiding the rooms as part of their normal routine. We also had a free local daily newspaper as part of our room rate. We had free wi-fi, but connectivity was intermittent and slow unfortunately. 
The breakfasts were fantastic. There was more than enough choice and availability for any guest however fussy. Staff were often subjected to blunt requests, with no indication of a please or thank you from certain guests, rude doesn't come into it! To give the staff their dues, requests were carried out with a pleasant and cheerful manner and they were always polite and helpful, without exception. Breakfasts over the weekends were more frantic, apparently it's usual we were told! There was seating available both inside and outside in the garden area, with extra tables and staff to deal with the busier times.
The garden area had ample loungers and parasols with the usual reserving of sunbeds by a few of the hotel guests. This appeared to be tolerated, indeed no signage to discourage it (not that it would make much difference anyway)! The hotel sits right on the beach with easy access to water sports etc and warning signs to beware of jelly fish, horses and parasailing! Just along from the hotel there were some fabulous local eateries serving beer and delicious meals and snacks for a fraction of the hotel prices (we would recommend the Happy Time beach cafe). Many guests preferred to take advantage of the beach bar and 'at lounger' service, but we like to experience the local food (and save a few ringgit).
There were ample on-site facilities including a pool, kids pool and crèche area, spa and massage as well as restaurants and the beach bar. The gym didn't have air conditioning, but electric fans did the trick, with plenty of equipment if not a little dated, still in good working order.
The hotel is ideally situated on the main road in Batu Ferrenghi right next to the Holiday Inn hotel and a short walk (or free shuttle) from the Hard Rock Cafe and hotel one way and the Shangri la hotels the other way. On an evening, the street comes alive with a multitude of street sellers and hawker food markets, supermarkets as well as restaurants and the odd bar along the way. You're spoiled for choice with an array of food available at very reasonable prices in most cases.
Our main gripe with the hotel was its security if we're honest. There are staff on reception and at the entrance at all times, but we saw many 'visitors' either using the hotel as easy access to the beach or going further and taking advantage of the guest facilities without question (using toilets, ordering drinks - which admittedly were paid for, using sunbeds) and staff either turned a blind eye or felt uncomfortable confronting them despite having them pointed out as obvious non residents by other guests. We did see a group of teenagers turned away, but this was on one occasion only. We were eating at the local cafe (as mentioned above) when a large number of people mainly families with children descended on the beach area. Many sat at tables without ordering food or drink which whether acceptable by the cafe owners seemed to be uncomfortably tolerated. The groups used the public facilities to wash and change in, but I was amazed when we returned to the hotel to see a large group (say 12+) making their way across the grassed area as blatant as can be, having been able to take advantage of our nice clean toilet facilities in the hotel, without question, without challenge. Whilst we appreciate that it is difficult for access to the hotel to be 100% secure given its proximity to the beach, the obvious ease by which these people walked through the grounds, knowing where the access to the beach points were suggest it was not a one-off incident - this is something management need to address ASAP if guests are expected to feel looked after in a secure environment. I would feel more confident if access to the lift and stairs was via key card only making it more difficult for non guests to move around the hotel areas freely.
That said, would we return, yes we would. The hotel and grounds including the staff are 4* if not more in some cases, but whilst strangers can wander in and out freely and in the main unchallenged, this would affect us rating the hotel any higher. We're off to the brand new 5* hotel in Singapore next so will see how they compare.
Just a word of caution, the transfer to the airport would normally take @45 mins, we took over an hour and a half leaving the hotel at 7am, luckily, we had built additional time into the journey, but found ourselves rushing to check-in at the last minute.

Room Tip: As with previous reviews, book a premier delux and request a room away from the mosque!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mythos_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Mythos_1969,

Thank you for your kind complements about the hotel, its facilities and services.
Concerning the safety we are very particular and ensure that all customers and visitors are welcome when they do patronise the outlets. We have a also when occupancy permit with priority to hotel guests day pass visitors who can enjoy our facilities at a small fee.
Concerning the public toilets, we do authorise under discreet control the usage of our toilets, the urgency create the must and it is honestly difficult to close all doors. We try to be welcoming and we have security at the front as well in garden link by radio controlling none register guests or visitors. It may not always s seem obvious but can assure you we are probably one of the most secured and controlled place along the beach. However following your feedback we will reinforce our already stringent measure to assure greater safety for all our guests.

In regards of the transfer timing yes in a normal time 45 minutes is generally a good time to reach the airport however it depend if you are on the road during a peak season holiday or special celebration in town which could delay your transfer. I regret most sincerely you were not advise appropriately.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedbacks which will help us to continually improve our facilities to serve you and all our customers better day after day.

Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If only this hotel was like the photos shown on the web site.
Run down and dirty!
Well overdue for refurbishment.
We booked a beach view room, only to e informed when we arrived that it would not be big enough for the three of us that we booked it for.
Instead we got a room with a view down the road.
Everything and everywhere you look in this hotel needs to be either scrubbed or replaced.
Not a great experience but on checking out other hotels near by, it looks like this is the standard that you get in Batu Ferringhi.
There are a lot of other places in the world to go, we won't be back!

Room Tip: Another location
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear John L,
I am really sorry to read your message and even more sorry not having the chance to meet you personally and assure you had more pleasant and memorable experiences while staying with us.
I am pleased to let you know that within a few weeks we will have a total new flooring in our rooms and corridors. I will try to post a pictures of our new flooring shortly, it look great, easier to clean and more hygienic.
I once again sincerely regret and apologies for not been able to provide you with my team memorable hotel experiences but do hope you will give us another opportunity to prove to you such perception was not our usual standard.
Please do contact me personally and will ensure you have a great time and better feelings about Penang.
Have a fantastic time ahead.
Very sincerely

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I both mid aussies in our mid 20s stayed in a standard room at the parkroyal for 6 nights. We had an awesome experience and really enjoyed our stay, the pool area was great, the beach only 10m from the pool and many eateries and stalls just out the front of the resort! We really enjoyed the cocktails by the pool and the friendly staff especially Zam who made extra effort to go over and beyond to look after us!

Thanks for a wonderful time, Baylor and Ashlea from Australia!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baylor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Baylor88,
It is so nice to read your message and get your feedbacks. Some time, through all the comments received, I feel we are a different hotel.
I am delighted you had a real good time. Your kind comments about the Associates will surely come as a great motivation to all of them, THANK YOU!
I look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Have an outstanding time ahead.
Very sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed one week at the PARKROYAL hotel in March 2013, in a Deluxe Seaview room. As many others already reported, this hotel needs a face lift. Also we found stains in the carpet, the toilet would flush sometimes normally and sometimes not and the water pressure at the shower is low, giving a weak impression. Although the sound isolation of the walls is sufficient (we did not hear the neighbors), the door was very thin so you could hear everybody passing by and the conversations on the hallway. We had requested a room on a higher floor, and away from the mosque (advised by other reviewers); room 410 fulfilled both requests.
The breakfast buffet has a wide variety, but the place gets very warm as there is no airco. We ate once dinner at the restaurant (the Saturday seafood buffet) and considered it OK, but not exceptional. The pool area and garden area is a great place to relax, having enough chairs in the sun and in the shadow. The place is great for families with small children as there is a separate shallow swimming pool. And, considering that this is not a sports club, is the gym well-equipped. We went to the lounge daily to check emails but the wifi bandwidth leaves to be desired: sometimes the download would simply not complete.

If you wish to have a holiday in Malaysia and have not yet decided on the location I would advise Langkawi's Pantai Chenang over Penang's Batu Ferringhi. We have visited both locations and like Langkawi better. It is as if B. Ferringhi stopped where Langkawi continued to develop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the nightly music from the lobby, and away from the mosque...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLinTKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear NLinTKO,
Thank you for your feedback greatly appreciated. I sincerely apologies if we did not perform as per your expectation and rest assure that we will double our efforts to assure all our guests inclusive of your goodself receive only the very best from all of us at PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
I am pleased to inform you that we are as I type this message, changing all the room flooring as well as corridors, within a few weeks the whole hotel rooms floor will be like new.
Having work in Langkawi myself, this is also a beautiful destination but Penang has so much more to offer with its heritage quarters which is a must to visit and its beautiful natural parks a great experience to visit.
I look forward to welcome you back and be able to provide you with a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,464 reviews
7.1 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $98 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing