We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in 2010 and we loved it. The location is excellent, near to the markets, hawker centres, restaurants, shops etc.

The hotel is spotless, the pools are wonderful, we enjoyed the meals, whilst we had breakfast we could look on to the beach it was stunning. we booked several tours from the hotel which were excellent.
Highly recommended ! we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heartsutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Heartsutra,
Thank you very much for your kind words and comments. It is always very nice to see we have succeeded in our aim to create a memorable hotel experience.
With my Team I look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Have a lovely day.
Very sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
There are newer reviews for PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very helpful and full of respect during the stay. House keeping staff did the great job when cleaning the room with smell of aroma . During I buy the drink I did not know their is happy hour on of the staff told me why you don't want to order two glasses because is happy hour now. Front desk staff-very good with the explaintion of the room and during check out the bill was very fast no need to wait longer time . Security is very helpful during my check in day it was heavy rain and the car park almost full , lucky only got one place he reserved for me and get umbrella for me .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraGowri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear SaraGowri,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Nothing makes us more happy than to hear our guests having memorable experiences at our hotel. We thank you and will surely pass on your lovely comments to our associates. We hope to welcome you back soon to PARKROYAL Penang Resort!

Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A very mixed bag experience. Nice book- in procedure. present booking file and passport then seated in a very spacious lounge area and given an iced cordial while they completed our booking. Our rooms were not ready at 2.00pm so they upgraded us. We had requested 2 rooms with king bed but both rooms had 3 single beds. On complaint they place a topper pad on 2 singles pushed together as no king rooms available? The rooms were very dated so pleaded we had the upgrade. We did sleep well during our 4 night stay but had own pillows, the room ones were awful. Duvet cover was ripped badly as well.
Breakfast was good so no complaints.
Lunch and dinners very limited with mixed experiences. Much better food very close so chose to eat out most of the time.
This is a non-smoking hotel so when one room reeked of smoke on the third day we were offered strong lemon oil as they were fully booked but offered another room the next day. This was accepted and the new room was far superior with a king bed and sea view.
The Happy Hour was not so happy as when we ordered they said it was past 7.30pm, we ordered our drinks and after about 10 minutes I noticed the time was only 7.33pm so insisted we be charged the lower prices, this was agreed. but they were in a much smaller glass than the normal priced ones,so hardly a happy hour. The menu for happy hour was also very misleading so read carefully and ask questions. We did but not one of the 3 staff we asked could reply correctly.
The beach was average but would not swim in the murky water so be prepared to grab a sun lounger early and swim in the pool which was clean.
The staff a very mixed bag ranging from rude to excellent. The upper management were by far the best so go to the top if you need to.
This is not a hotel for couples wanting a relaxing break but does cater well for families with many activities and facilities, children noisy and unruly as parents relaxing..
This is not a tropical island getaway, horrific traffic and about 15km from Georgetown along a winding congested road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Apteryx54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Apteryx54,

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive criticisms, sincerely greatly appreciated as it assist us to constantly help us to improve our services to serve all our guests better day after day and create memorable hotel experiences.
I very sincerely regret of any discomfort with our pillows and that you did not see in the room that we offer a variety of pillows to assure the best possible comfort, a call to our housekeeping will have enable you to have a selection to your liking. Once again very sorry!
I do sincerely regret that, as you kindly mentioned, you met with higher management but you did not highlighted those issues at the time of the interaction with us, as we surely will have done our best to improve where needed to assure you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us.

You probably came during the Christmas period whereby many visitors from Malaysia and Singapore come by car to visit our island and at time Penang, yes, was under very heavy traffic very regrettably! In a normal time, off peak season, the traffic is quite smooth and going to Georgetown is a short drive of 30 minutes. I sincerely regret any discomfort caused.

Once again, I sincerely regret of the discomfort caused and you can rest assure that we will continue working hard on the issues brought up to our attention to assure serious improvement.
I do appreciate that you could be deterred from visiting Penang and patronizing our property again but if given another opportunity, we will prove to you those issues were only accidents and not the norm of PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
Please do contact me personally and will ensure you have a memorable time with us.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We asked the travel agent for a quality hotel that was peaceful and could provide a balcony room with a view. Mission accomplished. We were swiftly booked into room 714 on the 7th floor and the second thing we did after turning the air con on was to step out onto the balcony and check the view. We weren't disappointed. We had great 5 night stay and gave the spa a good workout. We found the food, spa, piano lounge, cool bananas, pool and service to be excellent and I took the time to seek out the assistant manager Ana, and expressed our satisfaction. For the Aussies reading this, the place is chilled out, the frothy's are cold and thongs and boardies are the norm and if you sick of Kuta, give this a crack. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoatGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Glen P,
It is so nice and very reassuring to read your message which really come as a great motivation to all of us to know we are on the right track!

Thank you so much and wish you a wonderful Year 2013 full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

we stayed here as part of a family group of 17 between christmas and new year. overall a lovely hotel set out very spaciously right on the beach. taxis or hotel minivan only 40 ringit to Georgetown.
rooms clean and spacious. breakfast is one of the best - try the beef randang or other curries. the pancakes are sensational. we were there during busiest time but our needs were well met. Pools are refreshing & the big slide was a hit with all ages. nearby restaurants on the beach and nearby offered excellent choices of local and international cuisine at good prices. (esp the Ferringhi Coffee Garden group on the right as you walk out of hotel) there is a doctor in residence - a service we used twice for minor ailments that were quickly diagnosed and remedied for a fraction of AUD prices.

Kids club was a hit with the tots - very clean and organised with lots of different activities.
our biggest gripe from our party (tho not troublesome for me) was the noise of the hotel band each night - plus the wedding bands on three nights. seems to depend on what room and floor you are on but it is worth ringing reception when it gets too much.

overall really enjoyed time here - nights - a true family atmosphere & very obliging staff even at the busiest time of the year.

Room Tip: sea facing second floor rooms open on to a large spacious area ideal for relaxing in the chairs away...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leppo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear leppo_11,
I pretty happy to read your kind words and real nice comments about our Team, our famous Breakfast, our quality of food and facilities.
Children are one of our important guests and we always try to create a great environment for them to have a fantastic time and provide their respective Parents a second honeymoon!
I sincerely regret the disturbance due to the music in garden and lobby, we are doing our best to keep it at level to avoid to be a nuisance to all other customers, please accepet our sincere apologies.
We look forward to welcome you back in a near future and wish you a wonderful Year 2013 full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose this hotel as it offered the best value among the 5-star offerings on Batu Ferringhi. We were not disappointed. Service was attentive and extremely friendly- all in keeping with a relaxed, luxury resort theme. The hotel is situated next to the beach (and the sea sports), has a great buffet breakfast, and the kids fully enjoyed the swimming slides and the kid's club. Many couples hold weddings on the hotel lawn by the beach. There are also many restaurants and shops, and a night bazaar (pasar malam) at the hotel's doorstep.
The beds were very large and comfortable, and the hotel provided bedroom slippers and showercaps.
The beach is nothing to crow about- the water is not as clear as what you'd expect from a top beach in Bali or Phuket. There are interesting sea creatures to look out for - starfish, jellyfish etc which are delightful to kids.

Room Tip: Beach-facing rooms would be better. But the street-facing ones are cheaper and well-insulated from n...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear rypper,

WOW we are so pleased to read your very kind and generous comments. It is really a great rewarding message for all of us to know we are on the right track in providing great service and create memorable hotel experiences to all our guests.
This is great feedbacks and real big moral boost on this beginning of the New Year THANK YOU , THANK YOU, AND THANK YOU!
Again, Thank you so much and wish you a wonderful Year 2013 full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Accommodation was very good,the staff were excellent and the location was ideal.The night market is outside the hotel.There's a bus stop outside also which provides a good service to Georgetown.2.70 one-way about 60 pence.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andygammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Andygammage,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous feedbacks, it is great to know we succeeded to create a memorable experiences for you while staying with us. Your positive comments about our Associates will surely be passed to them and will generate I am sure great sense of motivation to all of them, including me, to keep doing their best.
Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcome you back in a not too long future.

Have a wonderful New Year ahead, full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,467 reviews
7.1 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $95 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing