We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad choice at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel lived up to my expectations in all ways except for the fact that it didn't have WIFI!

Let me start from the beginning. Service is good: the receptionist and bellboys are all courteous and helpful. The hotel provides very nice refreshing lemon-flavoured ice water in both its lobbies (Beach Wing and Ferringhi Wing). We stayed in a Family Studio, which was perfect for our group because there were 5 of us. We slept comfortably in a king sized bed and 2 single beds. Housekeeping was prompt when we requested extra towels/toilet paper.

The room itself was clean, so was the bathroom. However, the TV channels were quite dismal, and like I said earlier, there was no wifi. I know we should be on holiday and shouldn't bother about these "technology-related things", but it was pretty disappointing!

The breakfast spread was good. We had to endure long queues in the morning, though, probably because it was at full occupancy. I think the hotel should do something to expand its restaurant, so that guests don't have to wait in a long queue in the morning just to get breakfast.

We tried having their "Makan Syok-Syok" dinner one night, and it was disappointing. The North Indian cuisine was good, but the BBQ seafood was very dry.

The hotel's location is good because there are restaurants nearby, the night market is nearby. There is a really nice nightspot just next to it called 69, providing sheesha, food, drinks and good music.

The hotel is also right on the beach so you can go there for water sports or just suntanning.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay there. Wish I could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlett361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    951
    358
    107
    67
See reviews for
822
723
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed as a family of 3 young children in the Beach view side in a good room and overall enjoyed the stay; there is enough to do in Penang without being confined to the hotel all day. The staff were always polite and the other guests were a great crowd mostly with similar young children. However, the beach was very dangerous and impossible to swim or even walk without the risk of being hit by a paragliding boat or jet ski. A safe swimming area should be created off the beach. The resort would benefit from an outside activity area for the kids as current facilities are limited to table tennis and an electronic games area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkUK094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed for four nights over Christmas. We had a poolside sea view room, which i do not recommend. The bar next door is extremely noisy until the wee small hours. Go for a tower room. We had friends in a seaview tower room and they were happy with it. The room we stayed in as nice and a good size but very noisy.

The resort is nice enough, a nice pool, nice poolside bar, nice restaurant and decent enough gym. The staff were friendly but not very helpful, it was like they would do their job but nothing extra. I wouldn't recommend booking transport or transfers through the desk across from reception. She was going to charge us double for transfers to George Town and ferry tickets to Langkawi. She was also rude and unhelpful when told the pick-up hotel would be in George Town, not the Holiday Inn. In comparison, the guy at reception booked us onto the ferry and arranged transfer from another hotel for a fraction of the price she was charging.

The sea is quite dirty and not really somewhere you'd want to swim. The hotel pool is an ok size with a sectioned off children's end. Its not very big so can get a bit crowded but mostly it serves its purpose.

If your not after great luxury, don't mind having mostly average service and don't want to pay as much as the other resorts in Batu Ferringhi then the holiday resort would be a fine place to day. If your after a nice beach go to Langkawi! I'd stay here again if i found myself in Penang for a few days, any longer and i would stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 10 & 13) recently stayed 4 nights in a Seaview room in the Ferringhi Tower, 16th floor. We had a balcony with an ocean view that included the Park Royal and a mosque. Holiday Inn is actually 2 buildings. We were told that the beachside building is older with no balcony and smaller rooms. We were happy with the size of our room and it was modern and clean. The room was well appointed with a tv, mini bar, coffee making facility (no milk), iron, ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe, clothes line over bath and air con. You can get your washing done quite cheaply or use a local laundry service but I just hand washed and hung outside on the balcony over the chairs and on a line we brought from home with pegs!!

Room serivce was quick and food OK. Housekeeping did a very good job. Internet is not free but I cannot remember the cost. We had the buffet breakfast daily and they were really good with great food and great variety - loved the pancakes AND they even had soya milk. The pool area is lovely and right near the beach. Ice-creams were cheap.

We had quick checkin and they asked for RM400 deposit to cover expenses, they won't accept credit cards that are debit cards.

There were only ever 1 person on at reception at a time and I found their level of English really frustrating. Simple questions to them were met with confusion. They weren't able to help with local knowledge. We used the 101 bus which has a stop outside - cheap and efficient.

The nightmarkets are good but the footpaths are highly dangerous. They are tripping hazards so please be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is not an area for a sight impaired person or anyone in a wheelchair because of the poor roads and footpaths.

There is a mosque nearby and the chanting/wailing started at 6am which woke me up. Being on the 16th floor it wasn't too loud for us.

Don't bother with the nearby Adventure Park - only for little kids, expensive and not as advertised.

The tours offered are good but they will rip you off in a heartbeat. Best to agree on a taxi price and find your own way. They are all out to get lots of $$$RM.

The best attraction is Kek Lok Si - excellent, excellent, excellent.

If you are looking at catching a bus from Penang to KL book with Aeroline. See my review.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countrygirlplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

From check in to check out this hotel is brilliant the staff are great and the breakfast fantastic. The rooms are clean neat and spacious and the views are great. The facilities at this hotel are excellent and its right on the beach. At night its in the heart of the night market and there are enough resturants to choose from. An excellent hotel that I am planning to return to my kids just loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohamedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

having all the experience staying in holiday inn
this is bit on the low
internet is charged
kids room facility is charged
almost everything is being charged
old room and old facility

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transfervcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We were staying in this hote for 4 nites from 16 Dec 2010. We were impressed with the rooms but not with the staff and standard of service offered. Prior to our stay, I had communicated a few issues with the hotel manager. When we arrived, we even had to wait till 3pm for our check-in altho official check-in is supposed to be 2pm onwards. When I tried to enquire about the birthday cake that I ordered 2 days prior and the car rental, there was no follow-up except for frustration. After the wait, we decided to come down to ask, the reservation officer couldnt even understand simple English. Finally, after confirming the car pick-up, we had to wait an hour before someone came to fetch up to another place to pick up the car when we understood was the car pick up should be from hotel and return to hotel. Before that when we ask about the car, the front officer replied about the cake instead of the car. It was all very frustration. When we wanted to try to explore the city/area by bus, the tour operator desk at the hotel didnt even offer any good tips or useful information except to point here and there as tho we know the area well. Not single smile nor greetings from anyone working in the hotel, except for one bell boy whom we really appreciate his assistance and useful knowledge on the city tour and places of interest. I wish everyone was like him but we were all very disappointed with the hotel's standard of service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing