We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but room for improvement”
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Stayed in the Holiday Inn from 9 to 12 Aug. Generally okay but a few points to note.
Good:
We arranged at the hotel early in the morning, travelling by coach overnight from Singapore, and the rooms are ready for us to check in, at no extra cost! This is wonderful experience as most hotels will make you wait till their check in time.
Rooms are nice and big, as we have the beach wing, I think
Breakfast has a good selection and some changes everyday.
Surrounding area comes alive at night with the pasar malam and food stalls.
Not So Good:
Although we asked for non-smoking rooms, we were still assigned smoking rooms and have to go through some sorting to get our rooms changed.
Pool is nice but there is always sand and leaves in it. Needs to be cleaned more regularly. It is also rather small and tends to be very crowded.
Surrounding area is very quiet during day, nothing much to see and do.
Overall: Not too bad but will not be visiting Penang again soon as there are nicer places out there at a lower cost.

  • Liked — The service provided by the staff
  • Disliked — The pool is too small.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    984
    371
    109
    70
See reviews for
860
762
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Batu Ferringhi for 3 nights as part of our trip to Malaysia. We stayed at the Beach Wing which had decent sized rooms, however it was somewhat disappointing as the decor was truly dated in this relatively old hotel.

The service was good with friendly staff, as was its location being in the centre of the night markets and within close proximity of the hawker food centre.

Given the choice again we would probably stay at the ParkRoyal Hotel next door next time, Even though its a slightly more expensive hotel, it had a fantastic spa / beauty salon (St Gregory's) which I visited and the hotel itself is in much better condition.

Batu Ferringhi: Its a pretty unique experience although not really a place for relaxation. Beaches are not particularly clean and its quite a long way from Georgetown or other parts of Penang. The only mode of transport for getting around are taxis, which can add up rather quickly. Our friends living in Malaysia have suggested that Langkawi and Pangkor are much better for a relaxing holiday. Besides food (while still cheap compared to other countries!) in Batu Ferringhi is around 2-3 times the price of what you'd pay in KL / Georgetown Hawker stalls - undoubtedly because its a tourist area.

  • Liked — Location along Batu Ferringhi
  • Disliked — Dated decor and no spa amenities
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybean006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

I like this place in particular the location and friendly staff in all areas (and particular in the kids club)

Located amongst the nightmarket nobody can complain about the distance to shopping.

The hotel would in my opinion be able to upgrade to a four star with some investment. Some parts are looking a bit old but it is somehow in a charming way and it is clean everywhere.

We stayed in the wing cross the street from the main hotel. No problem as it is connected with a walkway.

Breakfast, nothing special but not bad eitehr. Very friendly service staff.

Pool OK. Kids club is next to the kids pool, great for parents.

Beach not that great due to the activities there, horse riding and parasailing etc. This was however no big issue for us.
They also have a nice garden area with sunbeds.

No real spa but offers outdoor massage, not expensive and not bad.

Did not try the hotel restaurant as a lot of choice. in the area. Try the huge seafood restaurant next door (with huge aqariums with live fish). Great seafood basically on the beach. Also try the "Garden something?" restaurant in the opposite direction. You will see that it looks posher than all the other restaurants with a huge garden area. Very modern asian design with fantastic food and very smart and friendly staff. We even brought the fish we caught and they cooked it for us in three different ways and only charged us peanuts. They were also great with kids.

All in all I would recommend Holiday Inn and Penang as a destination but I would probably not go twice. Try Hua Hin in Thailand for a similar destination.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff. Good value.
  • Disliked — No complaints for the money paid
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in early May with my husband. We stayed in the hillview tower which had a pleasant view of the ocean. The room was quite comfortable with a big bathroom. We had to use the bridge to go to the other hotel for breakfast, but this was no big deal. The staff were always pleasant. The buffet breakfast was reasonable. The location was fantastic with the night market right outside the hotel. Overall, the hotel was ok, though was a bit tired looking.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melbchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

This was our second time in Penang, last year we stayed just outside Batu Ferrenghi at the Copthorne Orchid (cheap but there is a reason for that!!), they did however run a free shuttle to Batu which we used everynight and we used to go to the Holiday Inn for a drink at the poolside bar before hitting the night market. This year we thought we would stay there as we liked the feel of the place. We were not disappointed. This is a good clean medium class hotel; check in was quick and painless and despite arriving well before the check in time a room was provided. Our only gripe was that we were not asked if we wanted smoking or non smoking and by the time we had realised there were non smoking floors we had unpacked and couldnt go through the hassle of getting a change of room. Staff are all very friendly and attentive. Rooms are a little bit tired but are kept spotlessly clean by the cleaners, towels were changed twice a day if needed and free bottled water provided. The shower was hot and powerful and the airconditioning brilliant. We didnt eat in the restaurant but the food always looked and smelt great. The fact is despite reasonable prices for food in the hotel you can eat out for a fifth of the price. We did have drinks from the poolside bar every evening and always found the bar staff and waiters quick and eager to please, prices though are not great value. There is a shuttle services available to Georgetown which is 7RM per person oneway which is about a £1.10p which although is good some other hotels nearby offer this service complimentary. The pool is a little small if the hotel is close to capacity expecially early in the morning and late afternoon. Although towels are provided, sunloungers very comfortable, pool cleaned daily and manned with life guards. We went to the weekly cocktail party which was a good opportunity to meet staff and other guests and enjoy the free drinks, they should publicise this more as we only stumbled across it by chance!!! This is one of the first hotels I have stayed at where the hotel manager (Bill Vincent) has wandered around and spoke to guests. We found him very receptive to feedback and he gave us some good tips. More hotels should do this to learn more about what they guests think. He did say that the rooms were being renivated soon which will enhance this good hotel even further. The beach, and gardens are lovely especially late afternoon and at sundown, we used the watersports centre which was good value and safe. I would definatley stay here again if we came back to Penang. The resort itself is a holiday resort and therefore geared towards this. The nightmarket is a great experience and you can get yourself some great bargains. The food hawker stalls is a must and you can eat out for as litte as 3-4RM per dish £0.60p!!!.

  • Liked — Cleaniness, helpfull staff and the sunsets
  • Disliked — No complimentary shuttle and not offered non smoking room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L8H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Great location, recently refurbished bedrooms in the Hillview Tower, good size bedroom and bathroom. You had to cross the road via a foot bridge to reach the beach, but hey - that's no hardship. Loads to do on the beach, breakfasts were great with loads of different choices -asian and western food, and the staff were unbelievable!! I have never stayed anywhere with that amount of staff with every single one
happy, courteous and exceptionally helpful. Amazing value for money and I would whole heartedly recommend it, proabably more for families
than couples as we were there over a holiday weekend, and every room was booked, and it appeared every room had kids therefore, very busy pool etc but everything else more than made up for this.

  • Liked — It was a clean, comfortable hotel with great faciliities such as the pool and bar with happy, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing! I enjoyed it all.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at Batu Ferriinghi for the last 8 years but last year for the first time stayed at the Holiday Inn. We upgraded to the beach side with a sea facing room with balancy (there are only about 6), the only trouble was there was 5ft wall running across so your view was somewhat restricted. The rooms themselves were great, with a lovely bathroom, smaller than the other rooms because of the very large balcany but nevertheless lovely. Bedding etc changed daily and in the evening sheets turned down. The staff were great, although at the pool bar service was very, very slow and it could become quite annoying. Nice pool area if a little compact but the beach right on the door step. Unfortunately the beach area over the years has attracted more and more men bringing horses for the children to ride on and just outside the Holiday Inn is where they are congregated, needless to say these horses have a tendency of emtpying their bowels on the beach which the lads just bury in the sand, hence lots of flies. This year also there were quad bikes racing up and down the beach, which did spoil it for us. The hotel you cant fault, but Batu Ferringhi you can. Over the years the beach has become much dirtier with sewage running into the sea,. Sometimes its that bad you can only walk so far along the beach, or you have to wade through it.. This year we will be staying in Langkawi, a quiter but much cleaner place.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff. The cleanliness of the rooms and the location of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular. Although I did get a little agitated with the staff at the pool bar
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gl0betrekkeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing