We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Our family 2 adults and 2 children 12 and 10 stayed here for 7 nights in the Sea facing room in the Tower Wing. Had nice view of the beach. Room was adequate with 2 double beds and large bathroom. Air conditioning was good and quiet so could have on all night. Colours a little outdated but overall clean and comfortable. In the lobby area of each floor they have lovely burners going all day with perfumed oils. We didn't have breakfast included in the price and personally I would prefer to eat breakfast at restaurants nearby particulary the Boatman ( about 250 metres left of the hotel on beach side) or Jewel of the North ( about 250 metres in the other direction). About 1/2 the price of hotel and fantastic food.
Pool was nothing inspiring re design etc but was kept clean and was never overally crowded. Pool staff very friendly and loved to have a chat. Food prices around pool icecreams etc were reasonably priced for hotel prices and massage in the garden area was good. Lovely garden area with shade from sun. This garden area is the nicest part of the hotel. Plenty of sunbeds - never had a trouble getting one at any time of day. Hotel is in the best location for proximity to night markets, hawker beach cafe and local restaurants. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2010

We probably stayed in the same family suite as a previous reviewer - level 22 in the Tower. We found nothing to complain about, and I would imagine they have changed the pillows that were mentioned in the other review as they smelt fine! We chose the Tower as we really wanted a balcony and this was a good choice as the bridge across the road was no problem. Having a balcony, albeit with no sea view, more than compensated for the short walk. The room was very clean and ideal for two children (ages 8 and 11 yrs). The selection of food for the breakfast buffet was great and of a very high standard. We also liked being able to eat outdoors. Basically, the staff could not have been more friendly, the room was fine and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here for four nights from the 8th July. We stayed in a family hill view room in the Tower Wing no sea views are available for family rooms in the tower wing. I requested a high room away from street noise and it was very quiet on the 22nd floor. Room had a dividing wall with king bed, balcony and TVon one side and twin beds entrance area and bathroom on the other. Plenty of room and comfortable for our stay. Good sized bathroom, comfy beds, slightly damp smelling pillows-new ones are needed. Room was clean only slightly dated.
Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. Rectangular pool was better than I had expected and loungers were very comfortable and well maintained. staff friendly and efficient. price was OK-Booked through their website and notice it is now cheaper if you book advsnce purchase. That option wasn't available when I booked. We only spent short periods at the hotel as we spent alot of time exploring the many sights. Very handy to night markets and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joluvstravel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed with my young family and met up with extended family also staying at the Holiday Inn, Penang. The hotel is very tired and needs an overhaul. The rooms whilst clean are dated with mildew engrained throughout the bathrooms and the trims around the room starting to break off and the paint starting peel from the doors and walls. The pool is just a square and needs an update. Does the job though. No WIFI available and internet was charged at expensive rates.

The service in the restaurant was very average. They clearly pander and cater to people of one particular faith at the expense of other guests. This was disappointing. The breakfasts were particularly well catered for though.

A number of guests around the pool happy to raise their disappointment with the hotel - not value for money. At least one family moved to another nearby hotel in protest! Great location and the hotel appears to be relying on its name and location alone to get guests. I don't think this will last forever. Would recommend researching other hotels before settling on staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverstreak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Planned to stay 7 nights, moved after the second night, the only good think is that due to my Ambassador Card i got upgraded to a Family Suite (good for my son because Playstation inside). Stayed in the Beach side Building. Charge 640 MR ++ per night. ABF included.
Let's start rooms are not very nice, need a refurbishment, rooms were not clean properly, floor never saw water and detergent, swimming pool is just a rectangle, and for children a little square. Breakfast is irrelevant quality, and other food quality is not better.Only good point : location in the heart of Bat Ferringhi with night market at your door. And poor beach...
Will not return...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenage girls stayed at the Holiday Inn Penang from the 9th July 2010 for 4 nights,we stayed in the tower wing which is across the road from the main hotel and connected via a walkway which has security access.We found the staff to be friendly and helpful..We had the breakfast included in the room price and it was well worth it.. The swinning pool whilst not the best in the world was more than ok for a cooling off swim and a quite drink. This hotel is close to all areas for eating and the night markets..When we return to Penang we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xeePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

On the plus side, our room appeared to have been recently refurnished and was large, clean and modern. The down side was that it was above the booming noise from the bar. I have to say, the outside of the hotel said 'motorway service station' (re the bridge to the 2 wings) and the inside said 'Butlins'. I am sure if you have kids or maybe a singleton looking to meet other people this is a great place to stay, but as a couple looking for a relaxing break at the end of a week or touring, we wanted good, friendly service and didn't want to listen to hoards of screaming children all day around a very unimaginative rectangular pool nor the background music pumped around all the communal areas (including the Bee Gees for goodness sake (no offence boys)). The service was poor and impersonal, including a bit of embarrassment when a member of the pool bar staff strutted over to say we couldn't put drinks on our room (having already done so). The issue was simply that we had not been asked on check in to provide a credit card and in not doing so we could not have things on account. It could have been handled rather better, although it was quickly sorted out. It was a relief to transfer to the Shangri-La the next morning for 7 nights. Oh, by the way, don't be fooled by the 'Georgetown' address - it's a fair old taxi ride to Georgetown from here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,497 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $65 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing