We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to be looked after” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Want to be looked after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 5 days. Its location within Batu Ferringhi is central, its loaction to the capital "Georgetown" is 40 minutes on the bus, which costs RM2.Only minor problem, is the 1hour taxi journey from and to the airport (RM80).

The hotel its self has all you could need to relax. Large Pool, pleanty of beds (by the pool and on the beach front). Water sports on the door step, as well as nice beach walks in either direction from the hotel.
The hotel resturant is good and wll priced, though you will need a full wallet to get drunk, as the beers are a little over priced.
The rooms are made up every morning and a cart comes round during the evening to check if you want fresh towels, toilet paper or anything else. A free news paper (In English) was left at the door each morning.
Breakfast was NOT include in the price, but was offered a great deal of MR425 for 2 adults and 2 boys for the 5 days. Great choice of food and everything was fresh and replaced often.
Our room was plenty big enough for the 4 of us, 1 king and 2 singles, with the king seperated by a dividing wall from the singles. Kettle and a fridge and one of the best hotel showers I have experinced.
Plenty of small shops near hotel, including "7-11" type of shops, to top up on snacks, beers and water. There are also a lot of Tailors, that will make you a set of trouser for around RM60. To avoid taking home all that dirty washing, at RM5 per kg, get it done before you leave.
Only compaint I have about the hotel, is the cost of the internet. RM30 1 hr, RM45 2 hrs amd RM58 for 24 hrs, unfortunately the 24 hrs must be used in 1 block.
For the best shopping in Penang, visit the Gurney Street mall. It is bigger, cleaner and better laid out than the Komtar Mall in Georgetown, also with far better shops.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    941
    351
    106
    66
See reviews for
818
715
80
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
271 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed in this hotel last year while on Penang Island. When we decided to return to Malaysia this year we decided to spend a few days at the resort again, since our experience last year was so positive. We booked a room with breakfast in the Ferrenghi Tower since it is more modern and newer. We were certainly not disappointed. Our room was on the fifth floor – we asked for a higher room but none were apparently available during our stay. This struck us as curious since an employee told us that the hotel was only forty percent occupied. The room though was very good – large, newly redone, two queen sized beds, in-room safe, fridge, two complimentary bottles of water daily, free newspaper, large and well equipped bathroom with separate enclosed shower. The room was nicely decorated and bright. Breakfast at this resort is excellent. Fresh pancakes and eggs, large buffet (where the hot food is actually hot!), a cappuchino/expresso/latte coffee maker, large Asian food selection, fruit, yoghurt, deserts – a real treat to start your day. The pool area is clean, with good facilities and towels. The exercise room is well equipped and available most of the time. In other words, this hotel is truly a resort! The staff was unfailingly helpful and friendly with the exception on one person. The hotel is right at the night market and five minutes from the excellent hawker stalls. We highly recommend this resort. In fact we met a number of British who use the hotel for long stays in Penang. They e-mailed the hotel directly to receive a long stay rate. Something for us to think about for future winters.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We selected this for a short family break in Penang based on the recommendations on this site. We stayed 21st to 25th March 2010 and were allocated room 212 a standard hotel room – no balcony but overlooking the pool and beach.
This was our first visit to Penang – but not our last. The hotel is located directly on the beach among a strip of similar tourist hotels. Overall we were impressed with the hotel and its facilities.
Whilst we did not take meals in the hotel (breakfast was offered at myr 42.50 per day) we found the hotel staff helpful and pleasant.
We prefer to try the local food and during our stay tried:-
The “Net” cafe – left out of the hotel 200 yards on the opposite side of the road to the hotel. Breakfast was both good and cheap. We returned to try Indian food for lunch again good.
We tried the Fantasy restaurant – right out of the Hotel and about half a mile. The meal was very good but a little more expensive than others but we found food very good and really cheap on the island.
En route from the airport the taxi driver pointed out the Long Beach Cafe, which is left out of the hotel about 600 yard on the left – under a huge billboard. This is a food court where you get a table –go to one or more of the myriad of food stalls and make your choice. The food is brought to your table where you pay The Spring Roll stall produces the best spring rolls we have had, and at 3 myr a steal. The food here is really good and cheap too – the Tiger beer is 15myr a large bottle.
Accepting, being tourists the cheapest we got the large bottles of Tiger was 11myr. The dearest was 60 myr for a jug in this hotel
Touring the island – most taxis offer their services at around 25 / 30 myr per hour. We were told that unlicensed taxis do offer much cheaper rates.
As our intention was to laze around the pool we confined our visits to Georgetown and the Tropical Spice Garden. For both trips we used the 101 bus which stops outside the hotel. The Tropical Spice Garden is about 2 miles from the hotel. We opted for the guided tour at 22 myr (wander around yourself - 14 myr). The guided tour was excellent and the guide Joe was well informed and made the tour interesting and a pleasure.
Our visit to Georgetown was more of a cursory visit. The 101 bus terminates at the Jetty, where you take the hop on hop off free tour bus which takes a circular route around the town. We toured the town and then tried some retail therapy – we would certainly go back for an in depth tour on our next visit on this occasion we were constricted by time.
Overall, for our first visit to Penang we were impressed –ok for “tourist town” style we enjoyed, the weather (having had the worst winter in the UK for 30 years) – the food and friendly people.
My wife visited a hairdresser and then tried the massage, pedicure and manicure at the hotel all for a fraction of the cost at home and carried out by lovely people.
Overall we thought the hotel was an excellent base and value for money. We have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colinandkathdudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Great hotel, great location on the beach but the water itself was dirty and too much trash floating in the water for us to swim in. The pool was beuitful so we stayed mostly at the pool. We did go for a ride to the other beaches via a private car provided by the hotel and they looked much better. At night alot of vendors set up shop on the streets and sold touristie items. One night we went into Georgetown itself for dinner and drinks. It was fine, we found a walking street with bars. Overall we probably wouldnt go back to Penang, we were expecting beautiful white sand beaches and we just didnt see that. I guess its all what one is looking for, if you want to stay by the pool and relax, this hotel is fine and the staff is very nice. Not alot to do for nightlife in Penang, the resturants are great and reasonable.....

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed in Georgetown a day but then moved to this area because of the lousy experience in the city centre.

This area of Penang is definitely more touristy and maintained but if you want to do sightseeing and cultural or natural exploration you'll need to get a taxi. We hired a taxi per hour but I recommend you find one without the hotel as the prices will be way higher. So don't rely on the hotel's bell boy.

The room was clean and very spacy. The infrastructure of the hotel I would describe as typically HI. The staff however, disapointed us several times especially the slowness with which they processed requests.

Small and crowded pool with a very small beach but with a lawn (check the pictures on the site). For me that was just fine as we didn't come to spend the entire day on the beach (except for the occasional - expensive - coctail at the pool bar).

We didn't eat at the hotel. Given the marvellous and cheap seafood and the wide choice in this area, eating at the hotel would be a waste!

So, Nice experience but if I were to go back to (that area of) Penang, I would try to find something else although I acknowledge that it wouldn't be easy to find that value for money in that area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mordecai_beisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a week on our first trip to Penang. The staff were all friendly and professional. The room and breakfast were ok but we were very disappointed with the pool and garden facilities. The lack of umbrellas and poor quality of sunbeds in the garden didn't make it very encouraging to spend that much time there. Unfortunately this hotel suffers, like many others, with the prime beds with sun umbrellas being "reserved" with towels and personal items - yet being unused for hours on end.

The location of the hotel is perfect if you enjoy the nightmarket - which is right outside, together with lots of shops and restaurants, so there are no taxi fares needed to enjoy the nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somchai65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

The hotel is ok, only the price is a little too high. Very clean room, even a little older. Nice and friendly staff with direkt access to the beach. Brackfast is not very tastefull, but also caused due to the holiday resort and many local customers. (Not business standard)
The Minibar is empty and if you ask for the filling up, the whole drinks/snacks need to be paid.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing