We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, but nothing special”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in the tower (across the street from the beach wing). The views from the balcony were great, and its proximity to the night market and Long Beach Cafe (a wide variety of hawker stalls with cold beer and football/soccer on the televisions) is ideal. The room, with its two double beds, was comfortable for our family of 4. We spent 30 minutes on the beach but heard too many horror stories about the water to go swimming (it looked fine, and I saw no jellyfish or oil). The pool area is quite nice and includes a wading pool for small children.

Cons: Expensive internet. However, they were nice enough to let me use the business centre for a few minutes to check-in for our flights without charge, and RM$1 per page for printing is not outrageous. Also, I could not figure out how they priced the phone calls. Most local calls were pretty cheap, but some numbers resulted in charges of RM$5 or more.

Other Interesting Sites: One night, while parking the car right next to the tower's reception area, I was approached by a "woman" who wanted to show me something that I did not think she had (unless "she" has had an operation). She was quite persistent and even tried to open the passenger door to get in at one point. She eventually accepted my refusals, but I was worried that she had plans to rob someone or steal from a car. Unfortunately, there was no one at the front desk when I went inside, but I saw from our balcony that "she" had returned to the outer corner of the parking lot to proposition the next person and was not trying to break into any vehicles. So, I gave "her" the benefit of the doubt and let it go.

After all the excessive phone charges, taxes, etc. we wound up paying more than $100 USD/night. I wish we had booked the service apartment at Gurney Hotel, which included breakfast and internet, for a bit less.

If you are there to enjoy walks on the beach, some time in the pool, and shopping for knock-off DVDs and purses, I recommend it (just don't use the phone). If you also plan to spend time in Georgetown or other parts of the island, I would probably recommend that you stay somewhere downtown, on Gurney Drive, or in Tanjung Bungah. The beach is nothing special, the food is better elsewhere, and the night market closes up shop around 11:00 pm anyway. Take a drive up there one day and night but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    964
    362
    108
    67
See reviews for
829
741
86
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed 3 days 2 nights at HI Penang in the first week of June. It was super peak period for the hotel as it was local school holiday and also a public holiday. We arrived at around 2+pm for hotel check-in. The hotel got our reservation mixed up. We booked a non-smoking room and requested to be put up at high floor at beach wing via the internet and upon arrival, we were told that the non-smoking room was subject to availability and our room was at 2nd floor facing the busy road! I made a fuss over it and the duty manager promptly put us in another non-smoking room at a higher floor. After the check-in incident, the duty manager was doing his best throughout our stay there and even provided complimentary breakfast and extended check-out time for us.

The hotel is pretty "aged" but it is clean. Although there is some refurbishment done like changing the TV to a flat screen, the rest of the furniture and bathroom has not been updated (we were at Beach Wing). I would rate it a 3-4 stars. The service staffs were not very consistent, some were quite helpful & friendly and some were "we couldn't care less attitude". Not sure whether because the hotel was super busy at that time. We requested for a baby cot and the housekeeping staff deliver it to our room but just left it at the door! We also requested for extra towels and were told that they have some laundry problem and not sure when they could send our towels.

Food was so so. The breakfast buffet selection were quite limited. The hotel has a kids club, games room, swimming pools for adult and children and other water activities.

The beach was too busy with para-sailing, buggy, jet ski and horse riding. The sea water was quite dirty too....we can feel that there is oil in it. Wave was too rough for a swim. The pool was quite good and plenty of deck chairs available.

The location of the hotel is great. Just outside the hotel, there is a nightly market that sells T-shirt, DVD, bags, shoes, towel, clothing and souvenirs. A lots of mini marts and restaurants within walking distance. It takes about 20-30 minutes to go to town by taxi. Not sure how much this will cost since we didn't try.

HI is not the best hotel in Penang but it is ok because of the location and it is near beach. Parking at the hotel is also inconvenient if you stayed at Beach Wing coz the parking is located across the road at Ferringhi Tower.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlem0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I had been with my family for a 3 day stay at this hotel. We had selected this hotel as we love to spend time on the beach.
On arrival, we checked out both the old wing, and the new one and selected the new wing as the rooms in the old wing, although overlooking the beach, wasnt to our satisfaction (cleanliness-wise). The rooms in the new wing was much better, but the bathrooms could be more clean. The food in the restaurant was good, and the people were friendly.
But what disappointed us the most, was that there was absolutely no privacy to hotel guests on the beach. There were hawkers who kept coming and trying to sell their wares. Also, parasailing and beach buggy rides were being promoted even by the hotel staff. So much so, every few minutes we were being disturbed - being asked to try out the rides etc. Finally we decided our room was more peaceful and just chose to view the sea from afar. Disappointing, as the very purpose of our trip was to relax and spend time on the beach!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svcindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

This was my first stop on my honeymoon. Book for the Ferringhi high view.

Took an air asia from KL , which was economical.

Was impressed with Penang and then with holiday inn. Was upgraded to a suite on a higher floor , which was opposite the beach.

Food was good . we tried only the breakfast here. Hop on to the local bus which take you to the main Penang . We found a Woodlands hotel which was a pure vegetarian.

  • Liked — penang - good alternative to langkawi
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karthiknatarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Me and my boyfriend were here for 8nts and absolutely loved it. We had the night market right on our doorstep and we couldn't ask for anything more. I would go back. Love the food, cocktails n the beach and the staff were great too!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windjammer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anonymous
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the hotel. The property is right on the beach, with the walkway connecting the hotel's pool area to the beachfront. One can consider the hotel to be positioned below the Shangri La properties further down the beach, but above most of the other hotels on the beach itself. Rooms had a great beach view. Didn't try too many meals at the hotel as we decided to explore the numerous restaurants in the area. Staff was very friendly. The hotel had its own sea sports team with options of jet ski / para gliding etc, which was a strong plus.

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the hotel had an amazing location.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank anonymous033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pakistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

It was lovely n nice place.V stayed in the main building towards beach side.our room was big n clean n it had valley view.there was soooo fun at the poolside.beach was gr88.it was like heaven on earth.staff was so cooperative.there were several roadside shops out there(bazaar).breakfast was awesome.it was a lovely stay in short...i will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affanmusaddiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing