We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Holiday stay !!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Penang for 3 days..... Had a great time, checking in was a bit confusing, but the stay was excellent. The staff were very friendly, service was excellent...

I opted for the room with the beach view on the 7th floor.... The room had a lovely terrace with a small sun deck..... The bathrooms were neat.... Its right on the beach and quite close to a few good local hang outs..... I would recommend staying here for sure... its ideal for a short vacation.... I indeed look forward to going back .....

Room Tip: Do opt for the room with the beach view and the terrace....... Its definitely worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear joanth,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your compliment regarding our hospitality is highly appreciated and will be shared to encourage the team to continue giving the best services to our valued guests.

On behalf of the team, we thank you for choosing our Resort as your holiday destination. We would love to the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Resort Penang on your next visit to the island.

With best regards,
Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    979
    367
    108
    68
See reviews for
851
754
87
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, and found it very good . The staff were very helpful and were keen to ensure our stay was hassle free. Any problems were quickly fixed by Miss Fixit Maria Francisca Richa. We moved to KL from Penang and both agree that our stay in Penang was more enjoyable. We would tell anyone that the Holiday Inn is the place to stay when in Penang. Meals ,Markets, and Transport close by and easy to access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Peter L,

Thank you so much for your review of our Resort! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and received great service. We will surely convey your kind compliments along to Ms. Maria, our F&B Guest Relations.

Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

Sincerely,
Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had many years experience staying in this hotel. This is my first write up about it. My last stay was two weeks ago. Good location, it is just near the night market, nice beach, good service and good food will make me come again to this resort. The best is about the bed, single bed will be a queen size and very comfortable.It is just walking distance to the shops and eating places.

Room Tip: Twin bed must be queen size for each bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAZLI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear FAZLI H,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make all guest stays comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our food and service.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Sincerely,
Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

It was my second time staying at this hotel. The incident took place during my second visit on the 5th April, 2014. I drove over to the beach wing to check in but unfortunately there wasn't any parking space to park my car, hence I have to check in at the tower wing instead. As I will be staying over at beach wing, I asked the staff over at the check in counter to check for me if there is any parking over at the beach wing at that moment. And he helpfully complied and told me there is. So I quickly drove over. At the beach wing, I did not see any parking available so I check with the parking attendant to see if I could park at the reserved parking (wanted to park there because I do not want my elderly parents to walk from the tower wing). Unfortunately, the parking attendant rudely asked me.. "Are you disabled?" And then look at my parents and repeated the question. I said no. Then he said those parking are for disabled only. Ok. I thought to myself if those are the hotel policy then I will comply. Hence, I parked at the tower wing instead. Upon walking over, I saw someone parked at the reserved parking lot. I was furious because the person who parked at the spot does not have any form of disability on him nor his family. Instead, he has a beautiful family of four. I know because he was my bro in law. I do not know what was the reason but I can only think of one. I am a Chinese. Parking attendant is an indian guy. My bro in law is an Indian guy. I felt racially discriminated. The attitude of the parking attendant was a huge disappointment to an otherwise a good getaway with the family. Pls do look into this matter.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Joel C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in late March, booked this online direct with the hotel several months in advance so got a decent rate on the beach wing second floor with an ocean view and king size bed. Had no problems here, nice clean room with a good bed, and the king size is huge so heaps of room.

Didn't realise when we booked that it was the school holidays, so it was pretty busy over the weekend we stayed with lots of families in the pool etc. but this was no problem to us. However if you like it quiet keep this in mind.

The staff were friendly and helpful so i would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear MikSin,

Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback that you posted on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and I do appreciate your kind comments regarding the service you received from our team.

We are definitely looking forward to your upcoming visit look forward to providing you a relaxed and enjoyable experience once again.

With best regards,
Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Last day here at Holiday Inn. Stayed here for 7 nights and the stay has being great.

Episode where my first room lock couldn't work for entry after a tiring day & the management ( Jasmine ) was really nice to give me an upgrade and also a free dinner for the inconvenience. They actually have to break the lock for us to get access to our things in the room. Our upgrade got a balcony and higher floor giving us sea views on the tower hotel.

Room is always clean and presented well everyday. All amenities given and of good quality. Clean, white and fluffy towels. 2 double beds twin room as requested - the only complain are the pillows. They are way too soft even when it said firm! Giving me a neck ache after a night sleep ;(

Dining room for early morning breakfast/dinner time - lights need to be brighter! It is way too dark to see what are being served!! Breakfast can become monotonous after a couple of mornings. And we stay here for 7 days! Could at least change the menu of the soup noodles to some local delights - like hokkien or curry noodles? Not just chicken soup every morning ;(.

Saturday Lok Lok and grill is not worth the money ( that's our free dinner for being lock out ) - Lok Lok came with too many sauces provided so one do not know which is the proper sauce to go with the food, grills were pre-cooked and looks really unappetising ( didn't have any ). The best being offer were the satays. And we order a plate of fried noodle to share.

For those staying here for 7 days or more, you can get 7days tourist bus card that entitled you to hop on hop off all the state's buses for free within the state of Penang. And costs only Rm$30/- (US$10) for the whole 7 days. Very handy and bus stop right in front of the hotel. We used it to go across the mainland to my hometown of Bukit Mertajam a few times. Buses here are air condition and modern. Bus drivers are another thing, haha!

Tower rooms are really pretty and colonial looking with its cane furnitures. LCD screens TV but no great varieties of English speaking channels. Another thing, should try the cold rose flavor drinks on offer at foyer - nice and refreshing after a hot and sweaty day out.

I would come back and stay on my next visit back here. And recommend to friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tinghq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear tinghq,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to write a comment of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com. We greatly appreciate your compliments on our dedicated team member, Ms. Jasmeen for her contribution to make your stay experience so meaningful and memorable.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced whilst staying with us. I was most concerned to read about your comment in regards to the room key card not working during your stay and have followed up with our Front Office Manager to identify what the problem is and to resolve it. I have also noted your concerns on the spread of food being served in the restaurant and please rest assured that I have personally spoken with the Executive Chef to review the menus to see where changes can be made.

I am very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and also with the quality of amenities provided.

We really appreciate your recommendations of the Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is my third time staying at this hotel and I really can't fault it as the staff bend over backwards to help you out. Breakfast is open for 5 hours, so if you miss it your fault...was there 3 weeks, made breafast 6 times, due to late nights out. The rooms were very clean maybe needed updating in places but suited us as we only used it to shower and sleep. There is a fab food court down from the Holiday Inn called "I Love U" food is fantastic and alot cheaper then eating in the Holiday Inn at night. Also across the road from the hotel is a place called De-Grill, great guys in there and they will also deliver a takeaway to you room. Also just down that side road is a bar called Daya's bar, doesn't do food but great for a night out if you get the right crowd in. If you wander down by the Golden Sands hotel, the side road to that will lead you to Leanne and Loon's who will do you a great lunch...don't be put off by the concrete tables and chairs. If your not worried about hawker stalls, then you can eat for next to nothing, the only downside is that the beer is just as dear as here! Will hopefully return next year, as got so many contacts now out there, but the Holiday Inn will always be my place of stay!

Room Tip: Go for the tower side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear AJ,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you very much for your continuous loyalty to our brand!
I am so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay extra special and we greatly appreciate your tremendous compliments about our team.

Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

Sincerely,

Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,441 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing