We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is my third time staying at this hotel and I really can't fault it as the staff bend over backwards to help you out. Breakfast is open for 5 hours, so if you miss it your fault...was there 3 weeks, made breafast 6 times, due to late nights out. The rooms were very clean maybe needed updating in places but suited us as we only used it to shower and sleep. There is a fab food court down from the Holiday Inn called "I Love U" food is fantastic and alot cheaper then eating in the Holiday Inn at night. Also across the road from the hotel is a place called De-Grill, great guys in there and they will also deliver a takeaway to you room. Also just down that side road is a bar called Daya's bar, doesn't do food but great for a night out if you get the right crowd in. If you wander down by the Golden Sands hotel, the side road to that will lead you to Leanne and Loon's who will do you a great lunch...don't be put off by the concrete tables and chairs. If your not worried about hawker stalls, then you can eat for next to nothing, the only downside is that the beer is just as dear as here! Will hopefully return next year, as got so many contacts now out there, but the Holiday Inn will always be my place of stay!

Room Tip: Go for the tower side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear AJ,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you very much for your continuous loyalty to our brand!
I am so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay extra special and we greatly appreciate your tremendous compliments about our team.

Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

Sincerely,

Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    983
    371
    109
    70
See reviews for
860
761
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Went there last week..call the hotel beforehand, n was informed my room is upgraded to deluxe..Nice ! Thanks Kathleen..Check-in was fast, Ms Nadia was superb..Clean, large room..decor was modern, lcd telly, nothing to complain..Night market in front, adds the fun staying there..lovely breakfast buffet spread, kids & wifey enjoys it..Only pool not impressive to my expectation, considering its Holiday Inn..

Room Tip: book thru hotel website sometimes cheaper than agoda..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azamin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear azamin99,

Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback that you posted on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and I do appreciate your kind comments regarding the service you received from our team.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort for another wonderful experience that you will certainly enjoy.

Sincerely,

Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Check in took a long time. The Kidsuite is a good concept but not particularly well executed. As the two sleeping areas are connected it isn't possible to have lights or TV on after putting the kids to bed.

The bathroom was really nice and spacious but the toilet broke twice and the plug in the basin got stuck down twice also.

The pool area is quite basic but does the job at the end of a hot day. Breakfast buffet was handled well despite being extremely busy.

Overall I would stay again if the price is right but it wouldn't be at the top of my list.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StevePER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear StevePER,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am pleased to note that despite some shortfalls, you were still able to enjoy your stay and you were satisfied with the services and amenities that we provide. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you will give us another chance and allow us to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Good spacious well appointed room. We had one with a balcony high up at the back of the hotel which we felt was preferable to one at the front. Plenty of choice at breakfast but very quiet in the restaurant in the evening. It appeared that most guests preferred to eat elsewhere. A few new sunbeds would have been welcome as they were soon taken. The loungers had seen better days and the mattresses were few and far between.
The night market was right outside both sides of the hotel. "Rolex" watches and other similar delights were on sale!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Only stayed one night, balcony room on the 20th floor of the tower. Room was excellent, clean and bright. Toilet didn't flush, fixed in 5 minutes. It was great sitting out on the balcony watching the sun set in the evening and at that height a cool breeze comes across in the morning and evening. Location is central and rooms very secure. Didn't eat at hotel but the main pool and gardens to the beach are very very basic for a hotel of this expense and I would argue having looked at all the major hotels along this stretch that it has the worst of the lot.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oneworld498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Oneworld498,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirafu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Holiday Inn and in between visits the rooms have been refurbished but the price has not. It represents excellent value for money compared to nearby hotels that charge up to double for equivalent quality. The rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel staff were extremely friendly and eager to please. The buffent breakfast was pretty good although the coffee was not particualrly great- weak plunger coffee - a barista wouldn't go astray! The pool is very good and unlike many other hotels its quite deep at 3 metres at one end. The only down side to the holiday inn is that the gardens to the sea is relatively small so there are limited places to sit and relax- many of the lounges were in different states of disrepair so some new sun lounges would be in order. This is really the only down side to what is a very good and very affordable hotel.

Room Tip: The beach wing is preferable to the newer wing that is across the road and accessed via a walk way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Michael S,

Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback that you have posted on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your tremendous compliments about our room and staff.

I am happy to report that the sun loungers replacements have now been confirmed and we are just waiting for production and delivery. I have also noted your concerns about the quality of coffee and will follow up accordingly with our Director of Food & Beverage for further improvement to ensure that we maintain a high quality of product to all of our guests.

On behalf of the team, we thank you for choosing our Resort as your holiday destination. We would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Resort Penang on your next visit to the island.

Sincerely,

Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The best room of all the hotels I stayed in on my Malaysian trip. Very bright, clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. Tea/coffee, safe, iron, fridge and big TV in room. Good shower unit as well as a bath. Coffee was actual Nescafe (not cheap imitation) and it was the only hotel than had decaff in the room.

Good breakfast, with a better attempt at pork substitutes for bacon and sausages than many hotels.

Be aware that the hotel is in 2 parts - beach section and tower, across the road. I was in the tower but it was fine. I just about had a sea view and I wasn't even at the front of the tower. Breakfast is in the beach section.

Good pool area on the beach side, difficult to get a sun lounger as the day progressed, but this is largely due to greedy people reserving loungers they are not using and staff were helpful. Direct access to the beach from the pool area - though no-one seemed to be interested in using it. The beach here seemed a bit less gritty than it was nearer the centre of town, but not the fine sand you might hope for.

Reception staff were exceptionally helpful when I had a problem with an excursion which wasn't even arranged through the hotel.

Very close to the night market stalls and several restaurants. Many of them were Pakistani or Lebanese but other cuisines were available too, including a low cost food court.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view go for the beach section or the beach facing side of the tower, avoiding lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear LoneBrit,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!

Thank you for your nice feedback in regards to our Resort, service and staff through Trip Advisor.

Your compliment regarding our hospitality service is highly appreciated since this is the indicative that our service has met your satisfaction and will surely raise our spirit in constantly giving the best service for our valued guests.

I am happy to report that the sun loungers replacements have now been confirmed and we are just waiting for production and delivery.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

With best regards,

Jean-matthieu Beroujon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing