We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort, good family option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the beach wing, if you want a balcony then you will need to stay in the ferringi tower which is across the road. The breakfast is good with lots of variety. The breakfast area is not air conditioned so can get hot. The room was good with nice decorative finish, the bathrooms could do with a remodel as they are a little tired and old. Nice beach where the resort is placed and the night markets are just outside the hotel. The hotel has kids club that is free, it is a small room and was not well utilised while we were there but the staff are very attentive

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hfwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Hfwalker,

Warmest greetings from the Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you so much for the comments about our Resort which you have shared with us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback on bathrooms will certainly be taken into considerations when future refurbishment will be planned to ensure that we maintain a high quality of product to all of our guests.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

With best regards,
Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two niBeing ghts. As compared to nearby hotels in Batu Feringgi, this hotel is just above average.

Parking is a major problem for those driving there.

B'fast was average. Being a local, nasi lemak was terriblly served. The rice was not properly cooked and the sambal was like curry. For a hotel in penang, the local cuisines must be at the best to represent local delicacies internationaly. The lady by the road sells better nasi lemak.

The rest of the hotel amenities were alright.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear drnara,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent experience with us and I am glad to learn that that you had a good weekend here at the resort.

I am pleased to inform you that we have just added an additional 80 parking spaces in order to cope with the high demand of traffic that comes into the resort during peak season. I have noted your concern in regards to the breakfast food. Please rest assured that I have personally spoken with the Executive Chef who is responsible for further improvement to ensure that we maintain a high quality and standard to all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Resort Penang in the near future.

Sincerely,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I think the breakfast is great for the price you pay at this resort/hotel and the pool is quite nice, but if you aren't a great swimmer, good luck it's pretty much 10ft for most of the pool. The beach area was pleasant although not manned by staff or with beach furniture. The lounge area was a great place to unwind although I'm a bit confused why there was a treadmill and bike near the television. Small unattended kids were playing on the treadmill and I squirmed waiting for an accident to happen.

The room whilst spacious had a musty smell to it but otherwise good value for the price.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street view as it can be noisy. The beach or mountain view appeared to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddotsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear maddotsu,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the breakfast selections we offer. We apologize for the over-all experience you had that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family stayed at the Holiday Inn Batu Ferringi for 4 nights. Firstly choose the Ferringi Tower as the rooms are better. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The pool and leisure areas are beautiful and had the usual activities on the beach. The best thing about this resort was the staff, they were magnificent and made our trip even more special. The shopping and night markets are right outside your door and are entertaining with good bargains to be had.

Probably the nicest outdoor eating area we have ever stayed at and the food was great.

Overall I would highly recommend a stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear vasula,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!
We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and we really appreciate all your positive feedback regarding our resort and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Resort Penang for another distinctive experience that you and your family will certainly enjoy.

Sincerely,
Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was reading reviews for ages about all 3-5 star hotels in Batu Ferringhi and found out that somehow all hotels have been opened ca. between 1965 and 1995 except the Hard-Rock Hotel which was taken out of consideration because of the ever playing music all day long. Of course some hotels have been renovated during the last 40 years more or less completely - however I couldn't identify the value in charging 120-200 USD/night for the 4-4,5* Hotels.

The Holiday Inn Resort showed nice decor in the rooms and a quite fresh look compared to e.g. the neighbour hotel ParkRoyal which seems to be more luxury in the pools and gardesn but rooms aren't so nice I think. Breakfast is 30 MYR/p if choose beforehand, 40 MYR/p if you choose day by day (nearby restaurants charge half, eg. 4MYR for huge iced milk coffee)

Pro in Holiday Inn Resort:
- good location very close to markets, restaurant and beach
- soft carpets and freshly light (green/white) painted walls in Tower building
- huge soft king size bed with nice linen (and pillow selection)
- spacious room, bath with tub and extra shower
- rates around 70USD++ are just ok (not really a bargain)

Con in Holiday Inn Resort:
- both Ferringhi Tower and Beach Wing show its age
- bathrooms in Tower need urgend update
- toilets at poolside were horrible dirty
- open reception was "in" in the 70ies - 2013 it has to a closed room!
- very small park/garden - can be packed in high season... (?)
- no tropical pool like at the neighbours (just square)
- very old and broken "beach beds"
- beachside with all day long stinking water motorboats and scouters (not e.g. at the Shangri-La)
- slow internet, Wifi sometimes bot working (IP conflict)
- VERY noisy in the Tower building (all sea-view rooms) - there is a very busy street and conjunction down there

For short term the management should at least

- renew the old beach beds (just look at your neighbour)
- improve Internet Wifi (reliable and fast)
- renew the toilets at pool
- double glass in Tower building to make the Tower-windows sound proof

The only reason for me not to vote for 3of5 is that the brand somehow has kept the facilities well maintained and guest can feel this!

Room Tip: quietest rooms are hill face tower or (expensive) beach view in beach wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear joe1968,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you for your comment about our resort through trip advisor review.

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding all aspects of our Resort and we are thankful of your constructive feedback since it allows us to provide an opportunity to improve our property and service quality.

We have taken note on your feedback and will follow up accordingly with related departments for further improvement and rectification to ensure that we maintain a high quality of service to all of our guests.

We do hope that your concerns do not make your stay with us less than perfect and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Resort Penang in the near future.

With best regards,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stuff that I liked about the hotel

1. Kid friendly. They've got theme rooms, game rooms etc all things to keep your kids occupied
2. Pretty good message place overlooking the beach
3. Night market just a minute's walk away
4. Bright rooms, recently renovated building
5. Lovely tours for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Aseif,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to read that you had an amazing stay at our Resort. Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

Sincerely,
Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Did 4D/3N in Penang Batu Ferringhi - had a great time at Holiday Inn which is a nice resort, which a new gym and fabulous location. The staff were very helpful, even upgraded my room when the aircon was having an issue. I would say that Room Service is a bit pricey, Breakfast wasnt fabulous but food was nice. Great having (free) wifi in the room and hotel.

The hotel is just outside the bus stop where express buses run to Georgetown, I took bus on a number of days and was very convenient. The hotel tour desk arranged for a city tour and cabs to airport and make things very easy for me.

Overall had a great time - fabulous location, great food ... actually excellent food and nice clean place

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Mal D,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us and we highly appreciate your compliments regarding the service provided by our team.

We do hope that your personalized and memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,068 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $64 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing