We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy yet peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Busy yet peaceful”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently for almost a week.
Speaking of the location of the hotel it's a bit polar: from one hand it's kinda far from both bus station (we took a coach from KL to Georgetown) & airport (the distance is almost the same, it will take you around 45 min depending on the traffic). From the another hand the location at Batu Ferringhi itself is actually excellent.
We got the room at Beach Wing, even the room faces the street, not sea, it was pretty picturesque (top 7th floor). The room is spacious & clean.
We were the only ones who actually preferred swimming in the sea, rather than in the pool, it was always crowded (with exception for early hours). But sun beds & towels are available all the time.
The sea is not that spectacular, but still decent. The beach is clean & there are a lot of activities going on, such as banana rides, parasailing, etc.
Didn't really explore hotel's restaurants, but we tried seafood night in the main restaurant. I loved the selection & value. We preferred to hang out at Hard Rock Cafe, which is just 10 min walk. They even provide a shuttle from the nearest bus station.
Gym is so small, just 2 treadmills, so if you wanna jog, wake up early. We also hit the tennis court, it's kinda new one, though it's so humid to play. If you are lucky enough, you'll get a chance to meet some monkeys, squirrels, lizards over there :)
Basic Internet leaves much to be desired, to be honest, but I survived :) At least in the lobby the signal is stable :)
Georgetown is 45 min drive by public bus, taxi drivers ignore the meters & sometimes it's better to save the nerves & take the regular bus. All our trips to the city differed from each other, feels like there're so many things to do there. You can shop, try some street food, visit numerous ethnic neighborhoods and so on. I actually like the city.
Long story short my stay was pleasant & if ever my friends gonna go to Penang, I'd definitely recommend them this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smolyany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    964
    362
    108
    67
See reviews for
829
741
86
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is nicely located at the heart of the Batu Ferringi area. It took my family about 50mins to get there from the Penang airport. Taxi fare was about RM75.

The resort has 2 wings - the Tower Wing and the Beach Wing. We got a family room at the hotel, in its Tower Wing, which does not have a view of the beach but we were told that it's a newer wing. The room was rather spacious and clean, apart from some sand sediments on the floor of the bathroom. TV had many channels and the aircon was cool enough, apart from some random noise seemingly from the aircon compressor once in a while.

Breakfast at the hotel was disappointing though. There weren't much variety.

The swimming pool was also just an ordinary rectangular pool which was quite small.

I personally felt that the service could have been better. The staff were not very helpful when we asked for directions to restaurants located outside the hotel. And the telephone operator was also not very polite when I requested for some housekeeping stuff like an extra glass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Inn Resort Penang in the beach wing from Aug 06 until Aug 11 and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, always with a smile. Don't forget to utilise the hotel foot massage place.It is run by a mother and daughter and it is a good affordable foot massage.

We also enjoyed the local Indian traditional food that was on offer near to the hotel. You must taste the tea with Dhosa/Iddly or hopper. My daughter who is British now wants me to make this tea at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Patricia J,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a favorable review on Trip advisor.

It is pleasing to learn that our service has lived up to your expectation and that our staff took good care of you during your stay with us.

We do hope that your personalized and memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

With best regards,

Donald Morris,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Family of four, we had read a few reports before booking but we found a very well run friendly hotel with great facilities.mwevstayed in the Ferringhi tower which is separated by a link bridge from the other half of the complex. We had no issues around the pool and we found sun beds when needed. Beach is good with full range of activities at extra cost. Breakfast was busy but well managed by the staff. Would recommend this hotel to couples and families. Great street market each night on the doorstep of the hotel which was fantastic value and great fun too.

Room Tip: Ferringhi tower as room have balconies and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faxfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Faxfan63,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you had an amazing stay at our Resort. Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

Sincerely,
Donald Morris
Exective Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

if you stay here you got to stay at the beach side and ask for the sea view, when you get into the room you'll know why you had to ask for this. :P
the stay was good we had an issue with the lights in the room but someone came and reset everything. perfect!
when you go to the swimming pool they give you additional towel, so you don't have to bring it from your room, they have a table tennis table, which was great. we manage to play some, as no one seem to be using it.
there is a counter at the lobby for set tours, i.e. to langkawi etc etc. we didn't use it tho, we just spend it in penang. there is a provision shop walking distance from the hotel and food places along the street. there are tailors as well, had to fix a trouser it was fast and cheap.

Room Tip: ASK for sea view. if not you'll be on the other tower not close to the beach or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttp1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear ttp1111,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!

I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your positive experiences with all of us, greatly appreciated!

We look forward to welcome you back soon and in the meantime we wish you a great day ahead.

With best regards,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Everything was great from the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite large and overlooked the swimming pool and the beautiful beach below. The swimming pool was great and there was easy access to the beach. We were unable to swim in the sea due to the jellyfish but the hotel pool was a welcome alternative. The hotel is a few steps away from the night markets where the street food is wonderful (and incredibly cheap). Overall we had a terrific time staying at the holiday inn and would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saranya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Saranya J,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you for sharing your Holiday Inn Resort experience and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and create more positive and a memorable experience on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Staff were very Friendly.
price was within my Budget, booked online.
Bathroom was average size, but nice.
room was very large, view over the pool & beach was nice.
bed was large & comfortable.
Breakfast was very nice great selection, bbq Dinner Buffet was ok could have been better.
swimming pool was fantastic, beach was nice it was lovely to swim in the sea.

Room Tip: do NOT get a room (in the Beach Tower) that's next to the night club on a Saturday night very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesenior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing