We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at Holiday inn Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Holiday at Holiday inn Penang”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The overall experience at this hotel was lower than expectation from at hotel that charges this prices but it is at Par with any other Holiday inn. To start with on Arrival we were offered an option to check-in on the beach side wing instead of Tower wing where we had a confirmed booking, when we excepted we were asked for additional charges, though we had a booking for larger room with two beds and accomodation and breakfast for 4 persons we agreed to accomodate in a double room at beach wing, we were denied.

Then the ordeal started that as we are only two PAX we were accomodated in a double room with one queen bed in the tower wing and inspite of demanding the larger room we were not provided the same.

The hotel is neat and clean, breakfast very good, staff is OK, very good local transport facility from across the road, good food around on hawker stalls, good night market and entertainment.

it was pleasant stay but could have been better if we would have been allotted the room we have paid for.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on higher floors of the tower wing are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easycomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear easycomm,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the room confusion which was unacceptable. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    984
    371
    109
    70
See reviews for
860
762
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

nice room with balcony on the tower wing. staff very coureous. room service very helpful. price is ok as the service makes up for it.good open restaurant on beach side. prices for f&b reasonable.would recommend to stay here over other similar priced hotels for the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjcstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having spent 2 weeks at the holiday inn Ferringhi tower for the second time we could not find fault.
The check in was fast and efficient with an upgrade that we did not expect,the room was spotless with everything you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
Our room over looked the sea, the village and a good view of the main street.
The staff throught the hotel were very polite and helpfull.
The pool boys were always at hand to help move sun loungers if needed, and always there for a chat and a laugh especialy Kannan And Vijay (Ashu).
There plenty of places to eat with in the evening with a good selection of food, i would recommend, Marios for excellent Italian cuisine,The boatman, Jewel of the North, and Andrews Kampung for a great little bar i would strongly recommend Daiya beer garden at the side of the Hol Inn tower.
Daiya is the font of all knowledge a great guy who`s wife Dewana has the biggest smile on the island.
There are plenty of places to eat along the beach for light lunches, the hotel also offers very good snacks at very competitive prices
The local bus into George town is a great service and very cheap.
All in all it leaves me to say we had a great holiday due to the friendliness of the people we met.
I would recommend the Holiday Inn, and Batu Ferringhi to anybody who want a quiet relaxing holiday ato a quality, friendly and affordable hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonviveure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Check in - as it was just us checking in , it was fast efficient and the staff were ultra friendly
Room - we were in the tower rooms on floor 17 , with a sea view and a view of the busy main rd . Superb room with king size bed , bath and shower cubicle , large tele , safe etc exceptionally clean
Probably one of the nicest rooms we have had for a long time .
Breakfast - wide choice well prepared most things available even for the fussiest . And once again the delightful happy staff
Pool- average pool but very clean limited sunbeds around pool and small garden area leading to beach,this was ok for us because hotel was under 50% occupancy be a problem if busier
Beach - extremely narrow and not used by anyone as there are no beds or parasols and you cannot go in the sea as it is infested with jelly fish and not very clean . Although advertised as a hotel on the beach it's a beach you can't use
Food and drink expensive in hotel therefore few people eat or drink there , much better and cheaper outside
I would suggest for lunch leave hotel via beach turn left 300 metres sunflower bar , great snack selection and a very cold beer
Loads of great places for dinner we found the boatman was our favourite ,
For a small bar with a great welcome frequented by most of the local ex pats and Brits from the hotel try Diaws bar . Here you can also get cheap trips and any info you may need from the bar owner . Leave front entrance of hotel turn right 100 metres take first right them 100 metres on left
Overall nice hotel with fantastic staff rooms great and good location
Downsides - disappointed about poor beach , hotel a mixture of nationalities , majority were fine however, the hotel does cater for guests from the Arab states and these people are a little rude at times

Would we go back ? Yes but maybe to area with a useable beach

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Resort Penang for three weeks on a recent business trip and had a fabulous time.
As it was a business trip, involving a drive in to George Town every morning, I must admit to being a little dubious about staying in what is called a 'resort' hotel that would be full of tourists.
My fears were washed away though by the friendliness, warmth and welcoming attitude of all the staff.
My room was on the 16th floor of the Ferringhi Tower, across the road form the main hotel. The room faced the sea which offered a great view of the ocean and the night market too.
The room was big. very clean. Well furnished. And it had everything I needed for my stay.
Bathroom was a good size with large walk-in shower and separate bath. Good water pressure too. A plentiful supply of shower gels and shampoos as well. Towels got changed during room the usual make-over and again in the evening turn-down too.
Internet, once connected, was reliable and good enough for my needs. My work emails made it through unhindered !!! Skype was usable too.
Breakfast was plentiful, with a very varied selection catering for all tastes, even on busy weekends it always seemed topped up and fresh. Tables were cleared quickly too at weekends.
The restaurant in the evening was quiet, I think most people opting to eat out in the market and restaurants locally. The menu was good though and the food of good quality. The Friday night Indian Buffet was awesome with a great choice of curries. My only minor gripe with the restaurant was a very limited vegetarian choice.
The pool was clean and had plenty of seating with the grassed lawn area running down to the sea being a great place to watch the sunset.
Like I say, the staff were very friendly, and even walking between the Tower and the main hotel they would say "Hello" to you as you passed by. Reception staff always made a point of a smile and a "Hello." Very nice compared to other hotels I've stayed in.
Overall a great stay and I'm truly missing it now I'm back home again.
I'll make a point of staying here again on my next visit.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room in the Ferringhi Tower as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellin_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in the Ferrighi Tower. The hotel facility was recently modernised and the rooms are looking great. The entire facility is looking like new and the interior is simply shining. Staff are very friendly and they have unique capacity to create a real, friendly atmosphere without a typical "obligatury" friendliness which is frequently seen in other hotels. Breakfasts are OK and the prices in hotel's restaurants are affordable. The local area is offering all you need including shops and restaurants. We paid 120 euro for roomnight and the price/quality ratio was high. WiFi was working properly in the entire building and was offered free of charge despite connection fee mentioned on the reservation. You should be , however, aware that the pool area/ garden offers quite limited number of places during busy periods (weekends) so that you have to reserve your place without a delay. Still, 9 AM you can find a place there. Also, the hotel management has to find solution to the people waiting for a place during the breakfast for some 5-10 minutes (busy days only). Clear warning has to be made to those who hope for sunbathing on the beach. Beach is deserted (which is both good and bad). There are jelly fishes in the sea which make it impossible to enjoy the sea in a safe way. Moreover, there is no sunbathing "infrastructure" provided on the beach (contrary to the beaches in Thailand).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krzys1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room is clean and big. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great too. It locate just in front of the sea. Our room is with the breakfast, the breakfast is ok, not much variety but it delicious. i enjoy my holiday and I will go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee-PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing