We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn Stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2008

My wife and I travel to Malaysia every year. We always make a point of staying in the Holiday Inn when in Penang. The staff and service is always top notch. The best part about the stay is the massage (Make sure it is Taliab)YOU HAVE TO TRY IT.

One little point, compared to some of the other hotels the Inn is getting a little dated. Please Holiday Inn spend some cash and do it up. :-)

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Hotel could do with updating
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamtamunshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    983
    371
    109
    70
See reviews for
860
761
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
GOLD COAST
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Penang in the Tower side we had one doble bed and one king bed. For two adults and two children. The room was large and we had a beautiful view of the water, we where on the 20th floor. The staff here where excellent, nothing was a problem at all. Breakfast was good, especially the home made waffles and pancakes. Was a great night market at night right outside the Hotel. Not much night life here like Phuket a lot quieter, so if thats what you like it is good. Just down the road is a great eating spot which we called the tin shed, it had all types of food from chinese to Indian to Aust food, very cheap I mean we where eating here for the four of us for $10 and the food was great. Drinking here they dont encourage here so it is more expensive. Georgetown has a great shop centre where the nails and feet got a pedicured and massages here where a lot cheaper. Bus fare here was 2rm which in Aust moeny was like .70c to Georgetown, and was a good experience.I would reccomend this Hotel to stay. Very freindly, I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HOL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Stayed in the Holiday Inn for 8 nights in March. I have to say I was rather disappointed. The hotel is badly in need of an overhaul with all of its facilities looking rather tired and past their 'sell by date'.

We stayed in the beach wing and the room was at best 2 star quality. Very basic furnishings and the bathroom fittings were cracked in places with ingrained dirt in the cracks. In addition the range of TV programmes available in the room has got to be about the worst that I've ever encountered in an international hotel.

There is a pool-side bar, but after experiencing the prices there, we simply stopped using it. In addition, there is also the opportunity to be entertained each evening by a duet who perform in the lobby area of the hotel, but as drinks are delivered from the pool-side bar this is also a potentially expensive form of an evening's entertainment.

On the plus side the staff at the hotel were friendly and the breakfast buffet wasn't bad.

Overall I was disappointed with the hotel, which in my view, was not up to the usual Holiday Inn standards. I won't be going back I'm afraid.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overall quality of the hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Recently we traveled to Penang for a long weekend over Easter. My husband and I were looking for a quiet beach trip where we could relax. The Holiday Inn Resort in Penang is a decent quality hotel with many activities for children. If you do not have kids, however, you may find the place too noisy and overwhelming as we did. The pool area is very big and can accomodate many people. Behind that, there is a stretch of hotel beach which was like watching the circus every afternoon. There were parasailers leaving the beach every 15-20 min and the guys running the show would yell to them upon each landing about how to do it properly. There were 2 horses on the beach that could be ridden for about a 10 min ride all day long as well. The hotel has a daycare like facility also, so if you are bringing children who need entertainment this place is a good choice.

If you are a couple looking for a romantic beach getaway, go somewhere else.

Quality and location of hotel are good. The Eden Village Seafood restaurant next door looks like tourist hell, but is a wonderful place to watch the sun go down on the Indian Ocean and the seafood is excellent too.

  • Liked — Location was close to restaurants and markets
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We are used to staying at the Parkroyal, situated just next to this property.

This time, we thought we 'd take advantage of our Priority Club membership and check this place out. We were booked into the Main Wing, beach front, but because the bath tubs (for baby Jo) are located at the Tower, we were given an upgrade to the Tower - for the bathtub (and the much heard about "rain-shower").

The rooms are bigger than the Parkroyal, but less frills. Each fridge gets only 2 bottles of complimentary mineral bottles.

We have nothing to sing about the accomodation - average at its best. The beach front isn't that spectacular, and the pool - swimmable.

What we found distasteful were the number of flies in the Terrace Cafe - which was quite a put of for us despite the waiters' attempts to relocate us (thrice in fact). So, we cancelled all future meals at the Terrace.

Other than its friendly staff and the location- right in the heart of everything happening around the area in Batu Ferringhi - its at its very best, average.

  • Liked — Its location.
  • Disliked — Its F&B outlet.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Cheap hotel but clean. Cannot complain about this hotel as you get what you pay for in terms of luxury. Good location with plenty of cheap good quality restaurants just outside hotel.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
Thank bighonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We regularly stay at Holiday Inn's so thought we knew what we would be getting - big mistake ! I guess the hotel itself was up to Holiday Inn standard but cleanliness and staff attitude were certainly not. We checked in late one night after travelling down from Thailand and everything seemed OK. Then the next morning, we noticed a strange smell at the side of the bed and were disgusted to find a dried pool of vomit on the floor and all down the side of the bed. My husband went straight down to the front desk and asked to move room immediately. He was brushed off by rude staff - told to return to the room and wait for a call from the manager. After 30 minutes we had not been contacted so he returned to the front desk and was told by staff that no other rooms were available. My husband demanded to see the manager, who eventually appeared but the situation didn't improve, with a member of staff even suggesting that we had created the pool of vomit and simply wanted it cleaned up ! Then the manager suddenly became aware that my husband holds a Holiday Inn Platinum card and everything changed - a new room was found and a half-hearted apology was given. This worked out fine for us but I do not think it would have happened if my husband didn't have his card.

To top it all upon our return from our trip we contacted Holiday Inn head-office who apologised for the incident and gave us a voucher for a free night in the Holiday Inn Penang - As if we would ever stay there again !!!

On a plus side - the beach is great and the Indian stall at the local food market is fantastic but be prepared for a very long wait !

  • Liked — Indian in the local food hall !
  • Disliked — Staff Attitude, complete lack of customer service and diabolical cleaning
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moose-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing