We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great location!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed the location! Room was great stayed in a deluxe beach wing room, same room both times..Rooms were clean and nice and cool as it was pretty humid in Penang..


Breakfast was lovely outside but dont leave your plates unattended as the birds will come and sweep up yuo brekky before you can get it! We always got our chilli padi with our eggs at brekky and all the staff were wonderful and always smiling! The guys at the bar were always friendly too.

The pool was basic but there was always room around there, games for kids and activities arranged daily for people to enjoy..
Location is A+ as you walk outside everynight and its where the night markets are, walk a little further and get to the long beach cafe and have great meals there for amazing prices! black pepper prawns were awesome and sooo cheap, satays delicious! we always went back there..

Also if you exit and go right and then another right into first street and walk up to beach turn left you will end up at the sunset bar was great for watching aamazing sunsets there on Batu Ferringhi beach...My profile pic is from Penang!
Must visit butterfly farm, ecopark, spicefarm, georgetown...lots to do and see..

Dont forget to have your massage with Taleb the inhouse massuer that is outdoors just past the pools on the grounds of the holiday inn... the beach massuers on the actual beach might be a tad cheaper but its soo noisy and they talk to their friends while they massage you not very nice and personal!!
Enjoy and I look forward to going back there...

Room Tip: stay in the beach wing its close to pools and breakfast areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peatsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    971
    363
    108
    67
See reviews for
836
749
87
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here because of the Kids Club and being a Holiday Inn thought it would be pretty good. My grandkids went into the Kids Club which we thought was a safe place to be however after an hour they just walked out themselves and luckily found my son-in-law (great security for kids). The room I had was in a lovely position with a great view but the band (who were great) were going on to 2.00am and hard to sleep and also chairs kept moving all the time in the room above and this was also happening to several people we spoke to. The bar was unbelievably slow due to the fact that there was one barman and about 6 bar people and they all had to answer to the one barman' hence waiting about 20 minutes for a drink. The most annoying thing however was a group of lovely "POMS' who arrived and thought they had the right to reserve one half of the pool lounges group. One of this little group would throw towels over 7 pool lounges for the whole day to the detriment of every other person who wanted to sit around the pool. They never swam, either just sat trying to grow melanomas on their bodies or going for a pint and then coming back to their 'saved lounge''. Would recommend the hotel next door - better service and nobody seemed to confiscate lounges.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side at least have their own place for breakfast and swimming pool. The tower bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dockersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear dockersfan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stay here with a family of 3 children at the tower building.
The place situated at a very strategic location which was near to the night market.

The room was very lovely & cosy. I think it was just been refurbished. The kids loves the bed (soft). Its all carpet in the room & it fits my little daughter. The bathroom was clean & shiny.

My room has a nice view. Even though its far from the sea but its still a great view. Will come back again.

Pro's: Near to the stalls at night

Cons: Room far from lobby, pool etc2 where all the activity is. Only 3 lift. So quite busy during certain time.

Tips : Ask for higher floor & overlook the sea.

Room Tip: Upper floor to get a great view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Checking-in to this hotel is generally straightforward but we were told that two out of three rooms that I booked weren't ready and we would have to wait. However, they made the waiting-time more comfortable by offering the complimentary drinks, so fine then. Asked the bellman to store our luggage and decided to kill time by enjoying the free drinks at the coffee house and later exploring the hotel area. Rooms were finally ready only after 40 minutes. -_____-"

By the way, I made the booking through Hotel Travel website; mainly because they offered the cheapest rate at that point of time (room plus breakfast). Not sure if this has got to do with a luck thing but I always find my best rate right here. Hehe.

Staff
Friendly and attentive EXCEPT those in Children Playroom! Trust me, they should not be the ones to handle the kids! Anyway, 5 stars given to all coffee house - waiter and waitress, because they were all fast on feet yet still provide a courteous service. Imagine the hotel full occupancy rate and the number of people they have to serve during breakfast, but they just made it efficiently. *Clap! Clap!*

Room
Clean, tidy, super comfy beds (two queen sized beds in the room), spacious, quiet (surprisingly because our room is on the beach wing facing the main road) and all the good nice things that you can expect from a newly renovated room ;) Perfect.

What else in the room? Tea-coffee making facilities, mineral water bottles, in room safe, hair dryer, flat screen TV with Disney channel (most important hehe), complimentary toiletries, mini fridge, extra towels, extra pillows, iron and ironing board, all included. Just the perfect way to make our stay pleasant. :)

We decided to stay on the beach wing even though many people suggested the tower wing for its beautiful sea view rooms. But since we are family with two active little boys, staying on the beach wing seem to be more practical and manageable as it houses all the main facilities; coffee house, children playroom, swimming pool and of course, easy access to the beach itself. For info, beach and tower wings are separated by the main road but worry not, there is overhead bridge connecting these two.

Facilities
Medium sized adult's pool but it seems too packed during this full-booked-season. Kids pool? Gone case, just too small for every kids to go in. Some kids may have to swim in the adult's pool with floaties. T____T

Beach area; no designated swimming area and we have to be extra careful due to the paragliding activity going on there. Cleanliness? So-so but acceptable. What most important, my kids enjoyed their whole time there.

Children Playroom
This is the only NEGATIVE point that I would like to highlight here. Not many things for my kids to play with except those self paid ones like clay/tshirt/keychain painting stuff. But this is not an issue here. The main issue here is about their UNFRIENDLY and IMPOLITE staff which definitely act beyond my tolerable limit. And they totally pushed my angry button on when the staff asked Aiman (in a very harsh manner) to clean up the mess he made! Come on, he is just TWO YEARS OLD and its hotel's children PLAYROOM after all! Which logically kids are allowed to play in anyway they like, regardless the mess that they possibly make (unless its dangerous), right? Aiman, he just dumped out the entire basket full of toys but that was all! Jumble of toys, so what? However, in less than 5 minutes, that lady came said, "kemas balik, takmau sepah-sepah" (clean up the toys otherwise it will be messy) ANGRY! ANGRY! We have been to many hotels before hence the experience in several kids playroom as well, but this one is totally the worst!

Not only that, I witnessed on how this lady chase out a group of kids (not locals, probably age 10-12) because there were making too much noise and jumping excitedly on the bean bags. Seriously??? This is so unacceptable. Ok, there is more. This lady, later on decided to lock the door from inside and pretend not see nor hear any parent who knocks the clear window so that they can get in as well. So yes, I was the one who has to open the door after one another, because I was already there inside. I bet she is just damn lazy to entertain more kids and to clean up more mess. Unfortunately, I didn't get the chance to check on her name, but she was the one on duty on 29th December 2012 around 5-7pm. I seriously hope that management can do something with her, if she is still around. Indian girl by the way. Maybe to place her in some other department but please not under kids playroom.

Food
Breakfast was good, big spread, variety of foods but coffee house was a bit crowded, probably due to Christmas & Year End week. Owh, their omelette is seriously one of the best I had so far. With EXTRA EXTRA cheese inside! Hehe.

Location
Perfect! Just right smack in the middle of Batu Feringgi area and the night market too.Many eateries around including The Ship (western) and Tarbush (middle east) just next to the hotel. Mini market, convenient stores and laundry shop is just a stone's throw away.

Conclusion?
Satisfied but not totally impressed. Still, we totally enjoyed the stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilaShower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel used to be absolutely terrific. I have stayed here about 10 times, the last time about 8yrs ago. After returning to Penang again Jan 13, we stayed at Holiday Inn as we knew what we'd get....or so we thought.

The hotel has really let itself go. It is looking aged and is a little dirty in many places inside. The pool lounges are old and mouldy, the push bikes are disgraceful, the service at the restaurant is lackluster, my room and surrounding hallways smelt musty / mouldy.

I don't know what's happened to this place. All the old friendly staff members are gone and most of the replacements appear to be cheap labour from Bangladesh....or so I was told by someone in the know.

The pool area is small and uninviting, just a rectangle pool with a small lawn area, there is no character or style about it. Not to mention the pool lounges are all reserved by about 7.30am. There is only about 50 lounges for about 400 odd guests and plenty of room for the hotel to purchase more.

Would I stay again.......no. Go next door to the Park Royal or down the road to the Golden Sands. If it's a little more, it's worth the money.

Room Tip: My tip for a room is to choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Aussie73,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and thoughts regarding your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in a few holiday inns in America which were quite good so we were quite surprised to find this hotel in Penang as being superior.The room was large with a king size bed ,large bathroom ,walk in shower and a lovely sea view balcony. The staff were friendly and sorted out a problem with my I Pad.
The outdoor swimming pool was warm and the pool side area including bar was pleasant.
The hotel is situated close to all amenities and on a regular bus route to the Capital Georgetown.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MikejMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
259 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed over Xmas 2012, so the hotel was very busy with slow service at breakfast. However, that was the only downside. Staff were friendly and helpful, we had a really nice room with a sea view in the tower wing. The room had recently been refurbished and was fresh and bright. The bathroom was large and clean with a bath and good sized shower. It could probably do with an update too, but was fine for our needs. There was a bit of noise from motorbikes on the street and a disco across the road, but the hotel can;t help that (take earplugs if you are sensitive to noise). We managed to get sunbeds every day although the pool area was busy. Happy hour at the Holiday Inn was 30% off. It was much better value at the Rasa Sanang (6.30 - 7.30 p.m.) and Golden Sands (5.00 - 8.00 p.m.), so we took advantage of those each day. We ate lots in Long Beach - you just can't beat it for value for money. Ron at Sparks Tailors made my husband a couple of pairs of trousers and gave us lots of good advice about places to go and where to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower have a good sea view - but you will get road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,430 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing