We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

From the welcome at reception, to the clean clean rooms, to the friendly greetings from the bell hop, doorman, restaurant staff....we had a great time here. Initially we booked for two nights but after the first we were so impressed and made to feel so welcome we extended our stay by one night. As we had booked through the internet initially we did not really qualify for a discounted rate but the manager was very sympathetic to our limited budget and gave us a great rate. Our room was at the end of the hallway on the 22nd floor. Great view! As a Priority Club Member we got a complimentary fruit punch each, a daily newspaper delivered to our door and a later check-out. close to a MacDonalds if you don't want the hotel breakfast, a pharmacy, and the famed night market. All in ALL a great stay. Holiday Inn Resort Penang will see us again!

Room Tip: I followed Tripadvisor reviews and choose the Ferrengi Tower and Sea facing room and was not disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongDayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just back from Penang and stayed at the Holiday Inn at Batu Feringhi and I cannot speak too highly about the hotel.

The hotel is good but it is the staff who made the stay " great ". Everyone is smiling and eager to please and this more than makes up for the fact that the hotel is a little " worn ".

Meals we took there were freshly prepared and generally to a high standard - my only moan would be that it seemed problematic to get all 4 meals ( party of 4 ) out of the kitchen at the same time but that is not a great issue for me as it is just casual dining.

The Night Market just outside the hotel is worth a stroll down after dinner and recommend watching the sunset at Bora Bora which is a 5 minute stroll from the hotel before having dinner and a wander through the market.

Rooms are clean and fresh and the aircon works a treat.

Facilities are good but would not recommend swimming in the sea as a " sungai " flows into the sea a few hundred metres from the hotel and the aroma from the water there is a little too fragrant for my liking.

The hotel pool is more than ample in any case.

All in all a great stay and will definitely return again.

Terimah kasih to all.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Harributt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I went to Penang in August 2011 and had an amazing time with the Mrs. This hotel was ideally located and the service was superb. We were upgraded as soon as we got there and the staff made it an ideal place to stay. The evening entertainment wasnt the best, but the singers Bollywood ability was fantastic.
The breakfast was amazing and the staff made sure that me and my wife were well looked after. Outside the hotel were the buzzing markets and several cafes and restaurants. There was a mosque located 100 m away from the hotel which was ideal for all prayers. I was treated like a local by the community in the mosque:-)

Overall this hotel has many excellent points and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riazbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Penang and would highly recommend the Holiday Inn. Location, location, location. Lovely clean rooms, great breakfast, friendly staff, bus and taxi at the front door, in the middle of the night market. Perfect.

Room Tip: dont need to pay the extra for the beachside rooms, tower rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mim1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my second time staying in Holiday Inn Penang, no complaint at all..
Being upgraded to Sea View Room for Platinum member.
The beach is nice and clean. But the Pool is a'lil pack, too small indeed.
Rooms are perfect with all amenities. Located at the Ferringhi walk night markets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berry_escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort from the 9th – 20th July. This was our 5th stay at this resort and as usual, we only have praise for the hotel. With 2 young children, we always stay in the Ferringhi Tower. It’s across the road from the beach side but many of the rooms have balconies in the tower (so we can sit outside in the evening while the kids sleep and watch the night market ) The tower is connected by a bridge to the beach side and has its own reception too so we would always choose the tower.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the middle of the night market area so its got a buzz at night time and there are lots of great places to eat round about (Sunset Bora Bora was our personal favourite)
We messed up the booking and didn’t book a balcony room but reception was very keen to sort the issue out for us. Yes we had to wait for 2 evenings to get a balcony room but the hotel was full and lets face it – the mistake was mine in the first place. But yes, as soon as a room became available, we were moved without any problem. In fact I would almost say that the reception were apologetic that they couldn’t sort out my mistake any earlier.
The rooms are functional and clean, I wouldn’t say that they are amazing but they are clean and comfortable and the shower is great. The pools too are somewhat basic (no slides or Jacuzzi) but they are clean and the staff are always on hand to bring you drinks/food. We only ever have breakfast in the restaurant but the food is great and there is lots of it. Its also nice being able to eat breakfast in the open air at the poolside as opposed to being in an enclosed room. The free wifi in the public areas is also great, fast and easy to use.
The kids loved the kids club and asked to go on a daily basis to do arts and crafts and play together. The team there are warm and friendly and great with kids of all nationalities. They offer a babysitting service too which we used on one occasion and the baby sitter still remembered babysitting my girls 2 years earlier. It all adds to making you feel like a valued guest.
The reason we would always choose this hotel is not the pool or the rooms but the staff. They make this hotel what it is. It was 2 years since our last visit, but we were welcomed by the staff who recognised us and greeted us as old friends rather than hotel guests. They are always genuinely friendly, smiling and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel special. It’s ALL the staff that maintain this exceptional standard – reception, restaurant, the bar, the kids club "aunties", the lifeguards and the housekeeping staff.
In summary, are there hotels with better facilities – yes (but at a higher price) but if its customer service and a welcoming environment that you want – then look no further than the Holiday Inn. We would never go anywhere else. We are now counting down to next year when we can return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhamm1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Although the rooms and facilities were a little tired, the friendly staff and great location more than made up for this. The rooms are really spacious and great for a family of 5 (using one rollout). The night markets are right outside the door which is really handy. We stayed in the Tower and when we requested were moved to a higher floor. Overall I would say the hotel is great value for money. If you are looking for 5 star this isn't the place, but for the price I would say it was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,497 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $65 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing