We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I have recently returned from a six night stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

On arrival was greeted by very friendly and welcoming hotel staff. I was taken to my room by the front office manager and the guest relations manager who informed me that my reservation had been double upgraded due to platinum priority club status! This was a nice touch thank you. My room was in the Ferringhi Tower on the 15th floor with a great ocean view from the balcony.
The room was a nice size and included two double beds, fruit basket and the bathroom had bath tub and separate rain shower together with full bathroom amenities, bathrobes and slippers.
The location is superb right on the beach and in the heart of Batu Ferringhi. The whole area comes alive at night with the many street markets.
The pool area is fantastic and the hotel provides plenty of sun beds around the pool area, gardens and directly on the beach. Beach towels are also provided complimentary.
Breakfast in the Terrace Café overlooking the beach and ocean is very memorable, the food choice is extensive and of good quality.
If you get chance do try a traditional massage on the hotel complex, I would recommend.
I could not fault anything; I had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ste1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,233)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2008

Have stayed at this Hotel over 25 times in the last 15 years, we always stay in the tower with hill view and a balcony, they are large rooms, huge bathroom, the most friendly staff you will ever meet, nothing is to much trouble and more importantly the cost is reasonable.
Breakfast under the palm trees virtuly on the beach, what more could you ask for.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank BlueberriesWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

was their last february in beach wing really enjoyed it going back this march (20th) for easter cant fault anything on the hotel cant wait to go back their

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ditmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Stay here with my wife for four nights on our way from Singapore to Bangkok. We stayed in the Tower side, which is joined by a road bridge to the beach side. the room was a fair size and very confortable. Getting around the island is relatively cheap by taxis, so we had the balance of touring the sites, Geaorgetown with some beach time. very relaxing stay, and pleasant staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mikegasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days/4 nights. Eventhough we had requested a non-smoking room when we had booked with our travel agent, it appears that we were automatically assigned to a smoking room upon check-in. We then requested to be transferred to a non-smoking room. After a couple of minutes of sorting things out, we were upgraded to a Non-Smoking Seaview room in the Ferringhi Tower.

The room itself was spacious - a king sized bed and a double bed. The bathroom was clean and also spacious - enough room for a shower stall and a bathtub. There were also complimentary bottles of water stocked daily. The room could use some touch ups such as replacing the window pane (someone had put masking tape over a crack in the pane) and replacing the worn leaflets.

The breakfast buffet was great - a number of choices - from noodles, rice, curry, porridge to scrambled eggs, herbed tomatoes, toast, fruit and even a station where you could order waffles and have eggs cooked the way you wanted it.

The view from this room was alright. The Beach Wing blocked the view of the sea. The location of this hotel was good - within walking distance to restaurants, internet cafes and laundry servies. The night market was across the street and is not to be missed. It is quite the experience walking through rows and rows of watches, bags, DVDs, CDs, sunglasses and even handicrafts. There is also a hawker centre that comes alive at night where you can have your fill of local food.

Our only disappointment was the massage therapist who had double booked us with someone else. In the end, we decided not to use the massage therapist's services and saved our money for other things such as dinner at Mario's restaurant (very good Italian food) and spa treatments in Langkawi.

All-in-all, it was a good experience at the Holiday Inn Penang.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank limelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

The rooms were really spacious - we were in the beach wing with a hillview which was really lovely to look at. The staff were so wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and always smiling. Breakfast buffet was yummy with a big variety.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tahcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Stayed in the Holiday Inn from 9 to 12 Aug. Generally okay but a few points to note.
Good:
We arranged at the hotel early in the morning, travelling by coach overnight from Singapore, and the rooms are ready for us to check in, at no extra cost! This is wonderful experience as most hotels will make you wait till their check in time.
Rooms are nice and big, as we have the beach wing, I think
Breakfast has a good selection and some changes everyday.
Surrounding area comes alive at night with the pasar malam and food stalls.
Not So Good:
Although we asked for non-smoking rooms, we were still assigned smoking rooms and have to go through some sorting to get our rooms changed.
Pool is nice but there is always sand and leaves in it. Needs to be cleaned more regularly. It is also rather small and tends to be very crowded.
Surrounding area is very quiet during day, nothing much to see and do.
Overall: Not too bad but will not be visiting Penang again soon as there are nicer places out there at a lower cost.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,467 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $62 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing