We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you’re looking for the perfect place to stay in Penang, this is the pick of the bunch. The hotel has everything you would need in Penang
.
The friendly staff during check-in, service requests and check-out will make your stay comfortable and hassle free. They serve a great breakfast, lunch and the occasional buffet dinner. The hotel has 2 sections, the Beach wing and the Tower wing connected by a tunnel walkway.

We stayed at the Beach wing and no regrets there. It is a couple of steps onto the gorgeous beach and a few more to get onto a boat, jet-ski or para-sailing adventure. The rooms are spacious, comfortable with beautiful views of the ocean. Sunsets and Sunrises will give you something to shoot at if you’re carrying a camera.

There is a massage/spa on the hotel grounds near the pool which makes it very convenient and relaxing. At night, the road along the hotel turns into a shoppers dream with many stalls selling all sorts of souvenirs, gifts, clothing and pretty much all that you’re looking for.

The hotel is located close to a few popular take-out spots like McDonalds and KFC which brings a little variety if you’re travelling with kids. The hotel has an in-house travel & tour agent on hand to plan and take you to all the major sight seeing hot spots in Penang.

Across the road from the hotel, there are many spa’s that provide all different types of relaxing massages, manicures, pedicures, facials and those fish nibbling thingies… not sure what you call them, but you just have to experience it.…

Overall, a great stay at a hotel group that will always go the extra mile to please their guests…

Room Tip: Beach Wing if you spend time in the pool or beach and if you are generally late for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shokat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    964
    362
    108
    67
See reviews for
829
741
86
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

My journey begins at check in. We were directed to a table some distant fr the front desk. Check in was " impressive " we were served fruit juice by the same person who check us in. She was the one of the person that I credit as making my stay better for the next 2 days. We were upgraded because of me being a loyalty member of the hotel. We were delighted. - UP then disappointed soon as the room was ok but bathroom was so old. Worse the bathroom floor was always wet and remain so- due to uneven flooring. Initially, I suspect the toilet bowl was leaking. DOWN- beach building deluxe room, Rm 506.
Breakfast has lots of variety- UP ... Quality average. However, we were shock to see birds sharing our food. The first day we took breakfast outside (patio)
After seeing this and mindful of bird flu- we decided to have breakfast inside.... The birds will land on table to pick on food on plates or fr the floor. The hotel staffs were not fast enough! DOWN
The resort has lots of things to entertain the guests..UP. However, most things are run down. The video player I requested in my room has no remote control ( payment was waived after I complain)
The swimming pool was so dirty that after a swim you will itch all over. ( hotel has full occupancy) . A walk on the beach outside the hotel area,I was chased off as the people involved in parachuting and sea sports make use of the area thus it was not safe to walk there. DOWNS
Finally, the hotel has no Spa. If u want this luxury, pls proceed next door to the Parkroyal hotel ( definitely nicer in every aspects)
My advice for visitors to Penang- unless u like the beach and activities and have higher budget, go for another hotel. Holiday inn is good but not this one... It's difficult to maintain a dated hotel.
I have to applaud the staffs. Polite n very helpful in every ways. Keep it up !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhhofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stay in this hotel from 30th June till 5th July 2012 with my family in 2 Suite with 1 KNG 2 SINGLE TOWER HILLVIEW, the room is OK but the hotel need a really upgrading of the Exterior since the first look give you the impression that the hotel is outdated, room service is OK, but the main entrance and Lobby also need upgrading, Breakfast restaurant need a really attention regarding the cleanless of the restaurant,
Overall it’s within the reasonable amount you paid for,
Important note: Penang airport have the most worst Taxi services I ever see if you are traveling to Penang during the summer and high season make sure to ask your Hotel to send you a car to the airport otherwise you will wait in the Q for more than 1 hour to get an Tax (Small , Outdated)

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your family the tower building is good for you but be ready to walk little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBaghdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The new tower wing was superb. Lovely room. Love my bed.
Situated at the middle ferringghi market long stretch. So no need to go through the traffic hassle.
Breakfast Food was a galore.

Note : tower wing is newly renovated.. I guess other bad reviews were referring to the beach wing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrzmn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location is fantastic. Tourists to Batu Ferrenghi will wax eloquent about the night market where you can pick up anything from fake rolexes to angry bird t-shirts. And this hotel is situated right in the middle of it.

But that's where it ends. Apart from the location, there's nothing to set this hotel apart from the rest. The rooms are acceptable (although the mini bar was locked for some strange reason). There's a swimming pool with a volleyball net strung across and a bar next to it. We didnt try much of the cuisine, except for the breakfast which had a wide spread including nasi lemak and char kwey tao (which I thought was a little to heavy to be eating early in the morning).

The hotel faces the beach- but there werent any takers- apparently there have been plenty of jellyfish attacks in the recent past. The beach itself is about 20 feet wide, so its not a long way to the sea. Having said that however, do try out the watersports activities available on the beach. Para sailing, water scooters etc are all par for the course. And with aching arms and legs, do head over to the inhouse masseuse who will pull, push, prod and pummel you for an hour for as little as 50 ringgit.

We had gone at a bad time. The hotel was undergoing renovation in the 'mountain' wing (more on that later) and had to use the service entrance to get to the rooms. Apart from that, we had been promised sea facing rooms on the sea wing. The hotel has two wings- one closer to the beach, rooms of which actually have a sea view. The other wing is across the road and the two are joined by an overbridge walkway on the first floor. While we were promised rooms in the sea wing, apparently due to high demand, we were shifted to the 'mountain' wing (which has literally no view at all).

Enjoyable, yes. Relaxing, yes. Out of the world, certainly not.

Room Tip: Make sure they confirm you in a sea-wing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjyamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Can't fault the staff, they were amazingly friendly and helpful but the hotel is a bit outdated and the rooms aren't the best. The walls are VERY thin, so you can basically hear everything that goes on in the hotel. We stayed in the beach wing building but had to move rooms twice as the first room we were near the elevator which made a loud noise everytime someone came onto that level and we could hear everything that happened outside on the street as the windows were very thin. The next room we moved to was worse as the people next door to us would not sleep and kept making loud noises till all hours of the morning. I advised the staff of this but nothing was done so we had to move rooms again over to the tower building but we were upgraded to a presidential suite with a ocean view which we got a much better sleep in. The breakfast wasn't that great. The location of the hotel was ideal, right on the beach and very close to all the night market shopping and close to bars & restaurants. I would recommend eating at the chinese cuisine, (they call is the chinese coffee shop) which is about a 5-10 minute walk up the road, the food is very cheap and tastes great!!! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We didn't know there are 2 buildings for this hotel which located jus across each other. The lower building face the beach and the taller one, the tower across it. We stayed at the tower on 9th floor. The view is very nice. The hotel itself is clean but a bit old. The receptionist was a bit not nice as she served without smile. She promised to let us know about late check out in the next day, unfortunately nobody tell us.

Room Tip: Choose the Tower which across the beach, you'll have a good view because it is higher building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing