We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad, value for money!”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The location is nice with a walking distance to the beach. Rooms were clean and what i liked about it is it had 2 big beds across form each other. My guess one for the parents and the other for the kids. The bathroom was big but basic and clean. We were at the beach all day with all kinds of rides, parachuting, speed boats, jet ski happening there but too crowded. But the night market was right there which was fun and amazing. Good restaurants around it.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Denebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    984
    371
    109
    70
See reviews for
860
762
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Hotel Inn Resort (Beach Wing) were fully upgraded and its rooms are satisfactory despite some not so good reviews given earlier by other travellers.
Other plus points are its location and easy access to the beach. We had great sea veiw from our room. My kids ranging from 5 to 12 greatly enjoyed the beach and the pool. Outside the hotel, night market was another attraction. Holiday Inn Resort is the nearest to all the street stalls. Opposite are lined with massage parlours, cafes, mini-mart, shops and seafood restuarants. Don't overpack your luggage. Just get there.....really convenient.

Room Tip: Request for Beach Wing although a bit higher rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We arrived the hotel at 1pm and tried to see if we are able to check in earlier. Fine that we r not able to so we have gone for lunch and back at 2.30pm, and was told the room is not ready still. And it is 4pm now yet it is not availavble.
Pls dun ever bother visiting this hotel, first, and last!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is a very old hotel and rooms need a serious renovation.

There are two wings - one on the beach side and other across the road. We stayed across the road. The rooms on the beach side are much more costly. It is preferable to stay on the beach side because restaurant and the pool are there.

It is right on the Batu Ferangi beach but one the far end. That makes it way too far from Penang town, and very very far from the airport. I think one should stay in the city becuase Batu Ferangi beach is not great and city has lot more sights.

Coming back to the hotel, i think it is perhaps the oldest hotel in the area and avoidable. It is certainly cheaper than other hotels in the neighbourhood but for a 3 star hotel, its quite expensive.

Avoidable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajain77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Holiday Inn Penang is simply the best resort to stay while in Penang. It is most ideally located and is in the midst of the night-market which is set up each night. The hotel is also extremely child-friendly with a lovely kiddie pool and a play room with a baby-sitter. The hotel is very warm and comfortable though not luxurious

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yitravelMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Very good service and welcome.
Very nice swimming pool and quick access to the beach (though the beach is not worth it, I wouldnt put a foot in it !). Rooms are good, nice mattress, good bathrooms.
So what's wrong? Nothing !! I encourage you to go there !
Just don't expect a Hilton: design is quite old, you feel like you're back in the 80's ! But it is clean, tidy, not broken. Just deal with it, it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Having just returned from our 9th stay at this hotel and I have to say it get's better every time. We alway's stay in the tower block and those room's are being refurbished at the moment and what a good job they are making and have alway's found the cleaning of them to be first class, there's not many place's we go and I will walk around the room in my bare feet but this is one of them.
The staff we have found to be very pleasant alway's welcome us back and what ever you want it's no trouble to them.
Buffet breakfast has most thing's people would want a great start to a very relaxing day day around the pool which has plenty of sunbed's without having to get up early to get one and the pool boy's greet you every morning with a smile.
If your staying and you get an invite to one of the cocktail party's I recommend you go it's a great way to get mixing with the other guest's.
Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheppo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing