We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second To None!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Second To None!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2007

This is really long but there is just so much good stuff to write about....

We stayed in a Deluxe Seaview Room - Garden Wing - 8th Floor for 9 nights.

The Rasa Sayang is the best resort we have ever stayed in.

The hotel is divided into two wings - The Garden Wing and the Rasa Wing. The Rasa wing is the more expensive with nicer rooms (Ground floor rooms with garden and all floors up were double the size with a bath tub on balcony), you get free alcohol in the lobby lounge (Moet , beer etc) from 11am and then cocktails for the last 2 hours until 7.30pm, the Rasa Wing also has their own swimming pool which is adults only (so if you have children might want to stay in Garden Wing). The Garden Wing rooms are divided into 2 types - Seafacing on floors 2 - 6 and Seaview on floors 7 & 8. Some of the rooms on the lower floors wouldn't get much light or much of a view as there are huge old trees right in front of them.
Our room was a great size with nice furnishings and a nice marble and wood bathroom with seperate shower and bath (None of that shower over bath space saving rubbish). The room had a balcony over looking the pool and beach (Although was not overly private but cant expect it to be when in a hotel block with balconies all facing the same way).

The staff, the service, the accommodation, the facilities, everything about this hotel was total luxury.

The staff really make this hotel, they go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect for you, from greeting you by name when you pull up in your private car transfer, to the in room check in, to dressing your sun lounger for you as soon as you step foot in the pool area, they are amazing.

The Chi Spa was amazing - You pay 6 star hotel prices but the experience is truely out of this world. Definately recommend.

The pool was large and was a mixture of shallow and deep. There are a lot of sun loungers both in the sun and shade and the pool boys will bring you a buzzer so you can buzz for service (Food, Drinks etc)
(Rasa Wing guests can use either pool however Garden Wing guests have no access to the Rasa Wing pool - No worries as the garden pool is the bigger of the two and very very nice)

The beach was clean and nice and sandy although we didn't swim in the ocean as there are signs up warning about Jelly Fish, didn't bother us though as the pool was so nice we hung by that all day. There are a lot of water sports operating - Parasailing, jetskiing, banana boats, boats, horse riding, beach buggies etc etc. No one really lies on the beach sunbathing there there are all around the pool.

Breakfasts in the Spice Market Restaurant are awesome - Everything you could ever want - Omelettes, eggs, sausages, waffles, pancakes, cerel, fruit, Malaysian, Indian, Arab, + + + + + + much more. (NO PORK)

We ate a buffet dinner at the Spice Market one night and it was the best buffet we have ever eaten, it was a Pursian Night, but had a mix of everything. MYR106++, but worth every penny.
Also ate one night at the sister Golden Sands Resort (Garden Cafe Penang Hawkers Buffet Delight) - No comparison - Was very dissappointed with it. Although didn't try their other restaurants - They may have been better??.

Long Beach is best local hawker centre to eat dinner, we ate there about 1/2 the time - most dishes are under MYR6 and beer is MYR15 - MYR16 for a big bottle (2 glasses). Very cheap.
The markets don't come alive until at least 7pm and you can get very good bargins. Handbags - Guess, LV, Mui Mui, Marc Jacobs, Chloe etc etc (all fakes of course). Watches, DVDs, Music DVDs, PS2 games, Gameboy games, clothes, and so on. Would have liked to see more bars and pubs in Batu Ferrangi but was OK.
Nothing much happens during the day like in Phuket/Koh Samui etc so most people just chill at resort, go to Georgetown for shopping(not as good as KL) or do a tour.

We did the Langkawi Coral snorkelling tour that the hotel tour desk sold (trip was called Palau ...something or rather) It advertised 1 hour by high speed boat each way however was more like over 2 hours by dodgy ferry that went onto Langkawi after it dropped us off and 60 - 70% of people got seasick. Was good when we go there - Fantastic snorkelling and nice beach etc but overall was a very long day (7.45am pick up and back home at 7pm) MYR250 pp.

OVERALL WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. IT WAS FANTASTIC. BOOK IT. IF YOU ARE UMMMMMING AND ARRRRRRING BETWEEN THIS AND THE GOLDEN SANDS - BOOK THE RASA, THE GOLDEN SANDS IS MUCH OLDER, A LITTLE RUN DOWN, CHEAP PLASTIC SUNLOUNGERS AND OUTDOOR FURNITURE, ROOMS ARE DATED AND OVERALL WOULD ONLY RATE IT 3 STAR. (I'M A TRAVEL AGENT SO ASKED FOR A SIGHT INSPECTION OF BOTH PROPERTIES WHILST WE WERE STAYING AT THE RASA).
Can't say enough about it...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    675
    203
    64
    46
See reviews for
1,067
1,541
91
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Don't think too long about going to the Rasa Sayang. If you want the highest standards and VERY attentive, courteous and friendly staff, then just go. My wife and I stayed here just before its refurbishment and have just returned from a second visit of 13 nights. Most of our holidays are spent at large 4/5 star hotels where we can remain anonymous, but we’ll definitely go back to the Rasa again when we feel the need for that level of attentiveness.

The Rasa Wing is well worth the extra money (about £50 a week per room). We had a ground floor room with its own private garden facing the sea. You can arrange to have a massage here, or foot torture (sorry, reflexology), away from the public gaze. Breakfast is included, and you can choose a la carte at the Ferringhi Grill (a good selection but perhaps not to most Britons' taste) or a vast buffet at the Spice Market. Don't be put off by the name of this restaurant - it's not just spicy stuff. There's something for everyone here, but don't expect pork. There are staff flitting around all the time, clearing your table of anything that looks even remotely finished with. This can make it seem a bit frenetic. Having said this, we didn't see a single fly or insect of any kind in the restaurant at any time during our stay. Not even a fly could outpace these hardworking people!

Rasa Wing guests also have access to an exclusive lounge where alcoholic and soft drinks are served until 7.30pm, with canapés, champagne and cocktails included for the last two hours. Afternoon tea is served from 3.00pm. A couple of laptops are available for guests to use in the lounge. We used one every day and never had a problem with the wireless connectivity. All of the above are complimentary.

You'll never have a problem finding a sun bed in the shade, either at one of the pools or in the large garden, and within seconds of choosing one a member of staff will appear to 'dress' it for you and provide towels. There is a pool and Jacuzzi reserved for Rasa Wing guests. We never saw any kids at this pool so, if you want to see some family action, use the larger one in the Garden Wing.

It's impossible to single out a member of staff for special mention, but Leong Ping in the Rasa Wing lounge seems to strike exactly the right balance: friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. The lobby and reception staff are really helpful. We missed the free shuttle to Georgetown once and they arranged a taxi free of charge. The driver (a former employee of the hotel) said that he was told at least twice that he mustn't charge us. He even resolutely refused the tip I tried to press on him.

Although my comments have been about the Rasa Wing, please don't think you'll receive lesser service in the Garden Wing - you won't. All guests at the Rasa are made to feel special.

The hotel is situated at one of the best spots on the Batu Ferringhi. Just outside are the night markets, where you can buy some good, and not so good, quality things at very low prices. My wife bought six hand-embroidered silk nighties for less than £18. Don't be afraid to haggle. There are good, inexpensive restaurants here, too. The Ship is always worth a visit, especially if you like steak. Try the hawker food courts as well. The most popular one is a ten-minute walk from the hotel, on the same side. Indian and Chinese are really good. Pizza, too, but avoid anything else Italian is my advice! Also try the sea bass and snapper. Two of you will eat well for £10, and that includes a Tiger or two.

If you go to Penang you really must stay at this remarkable hotel. Your only complaint will be about finding a future hotel stay to match it.

  • Liked — Grounds - plenty of shady spots
  • Disliked — Occasional fumes from jet skis
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank deevienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

....and I've stayed in many. Everytime my friend and I travel now we find we are always comparing the hotel to the Rasa Sayang, then we laugh, because, nowhere compares! The rooms, the grounds and the spa area are all immaculate. The staff were helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Many Japanese tourists stay there, which should indicate the quality. Fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed for a week in the Rasa Wing. It was much more expensive than other hotels we have stayed in in the far east by a million miles but I thought it was worth it (not sure that management did though !).
I'd agree with other reviews that the rooms were a bit smaller than we anticipated but they were well appointed, the beds very comfortable and the room and bathroom had all the usual 5 star features. We had a ground floor deluxe room with garden with direct access to the extensive grounds and a short stagger to the pool. The pool was hardly used in the morning (7 -9) so I was able to have an uninterrupted swim before breakfast each day and the couple of times I had a swim in the afternoon, there were only a couple of other people in the pool at most. There were the usual sun freaks getting their melanomas on the sunbeds though. There is a larger pool and children's pool in the garden wing theatcaters for families and that seemed to be well used.
The service in the Rasa Wing was exemplorary and everything I had hoped it would be. Breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapes and champagne were all of excellent quality and served by very well trained and pleasant staff. We always had dinner in nearby restaurants so I can't comment on the dinners in the hotel.
The adjascent beach looked far better than it actually was and we didnt use it at all. Not many people on it, but it was dominated by totally unregulated water sport outfits that were cheap, but in my view inherently dangerous. The jet skis came ridiculously close to the shore making sea swimming too dangerous to contemplate. That said, it was not the fault of the hotel and is the same along the whole of Batu F.
We saw this part of our hol as a one off experience (mainly becuase you can get much better 5 star value for money elsewhere) but on balance I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for that little bit extra for a 'special' holiday.

  • Liked — the quality of the service
  • Disliked — the beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Just returned from our honeymoon at the Rasa Sayang and the hotel is well worth the extra money. Originally we had booked the garden wing room, then we decided we wanted the little extras that were included in the Rasa upgrade, so we upgraded to the Rasa Deluxe room, on the ground floor with private garden. After we arrived and saw the size of the deluxe room (a little disappointing) nice garden area but room
and bathroom very small for the amount of money spent on the upgrade.
We decided to go for another upgrade to the Rasa premier this is a much bigger room, Flat Screen TV, a hugh Bath on the balcony and the bathroom is very spacious and included, double sink and a wet room with rain shower. Anytime we wanted a bath we would order the bath type, temp and time we wanted the bath. (this was very nice) and you can have complete privacy on the balcony with a click of the remote control blinds. We loved the little extras we received from staying at the rasa wing, free drinks including Moet champagne, high tea and canapés and free use of laptops with broadband connection in the rasa
lounge. The Rasa wing pool is a fair size for the amount of people using it, there were a maximum of 10 people around the pool at one time and with no children being allowed this is a peaceful place to spend your days. The beach is a nice area but very narrow, good for those looking to do water sports but not for the beach lovers, we didn't see any sun beds on the beach, make sure you have a nice pool area. All facilities are cheap in the hotel considerding it's a 5 star but the laundry service was very expensive and we ended up going
up the road which was much cheaper. The staff are very friendly and the service we received was outstanding.

  • Liked — Room and Rasa Lounge
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jo25neal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing