We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,893)
Filter reviews
3,893 results
Traveler rating
2,691
807
248
89
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,691
807
248
89
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing spice market ferringhi grill rasa sayang afternoon tea chi spa cocktail hour pinang bar high tea adult only pool a la carte breakfast old trees fruit kebabs dress code spice cake premier room complimentary soft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 3,893 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2017

I stayed in a Rasa Wing Premier Room for 3 nights for £230 GBP per night. The property is situated as a complex of 3 hotels (often the case for Shangri-La resorts) with the Rasa Wing section, Garden Wing section and Golden Sands Hotel. The facilities are hierarchical so guests in the Rasa Wing can use all facilities but Garden Wing guests cannot use the Rasa Wing facilities. The additional benefits of the Rasa Wing include the pool and lounge which serves soft drinks during the day, afternoon tea and evening alcohol drinks and canapes.

The room was spacious with a balcony running across the length of the room, large king size bed, large walk in shower, balcony bath tub and separate indoor sitting area. Although the room looked a little dated it was well maintained and kept clean. Breakfast is available in the Spice Market Cafe (serving a buffet) or the Ferringhi Grill (serving a buffet and a la carte menu). We went to the Ferringhi Grill and I would recommend this option if staying in the Rasa Wing as it is much quieter.

Overall this was a pleasant stay but the hotel facilities did feel a little crowded, particularly the lounge in the evening. My only other gripe is that the check-in was very inefficient and there was a delay in our room being prepared due to a late departing guest which meant having to sit in the lounge for an hour before we could check-in. However, despite this, I think this is a good place to stay in Penang if you would rather not stay in George Town.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear John D,

Thank you for choosing Rasa Sayang as your holiday destination. We are glad to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience. We are sorry to hear about the challenge you encountered about the delay during your check-in. Looking forward to welcoming you back for a better Shangri-La experience on your next trip to Penang.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017

Because we were staying only one night for a wedding function, we booked a room in the Garden Wing, having always previously stayed in the Rasa Wing with its wonderful "adult only" pool and the incomparable Mr Chan pouring evening drinks at the Rasa Lounge/Terrace. (Speedy recovery, Mr Chan, we hope you're back soon, you are missed!).
We weren't sure how the Garden Wing rooms would compare, but we needn't have been concerned - they are smaller than the Rasa wing rooms, but are very pleasantly decorated and furnished, possibly recently renovated.The bathroom is spacious, with a separate shower cubicle, and a good selection of towels and toiletries. Everything was spotlessly clean. The room is equipped with a safe and mini-bar, while the balcony had a table and two chairs, and a fabulous view through the enormous old trees to the pool and the sea. We heard no noise from the pool whatsoever, which was one of our concerns. The hotel overall is clearly very well maintained throughout and gives no indication of its advancing age. Similarly, the grounds are stunning, with plenty of quiet locations for those seeking peace and quiet and the sound of the sea while sitting amongst the greenery. The recently rebuilt bar/restaurant area by the beach is a great addition.
Check-in was handled very quickly and efficiently, as was check-out. We had breakfast at the Spice Market cafe, which was very comprehensive in terms of selection, including both western, Indian, Malaysian and Japanese dishes. Quality was also very good, and here again, the staff are very pleasant and helpful. We both commented that all the staff we met were absolutely charming, and really gave the impression that they were happy in their roles.
A high standard is expected from Shangri La - the Rasa Sayang meets and in many instances exceeds expectations. If we didn't need the adult only pool or evening canapes we would happily stay again in a Garden Wing room.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always glad to welcome you back! We are happy to hear about your excellent stay at Rasa Sayang and we look forward to delighting you once again on your next visit to Penang.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel alongside the beach. Pretty and classic decor in the hotel. Excellent food at the in house restaurant.

Room was spacious and meets the level of a 5 star resort hotel.

Location wise, it is remote in the Batu Feringghi area. Good for a holiday getaway. However there is only 1 way leading into and out of the Bantu Feringghi area.

It just so happened that during my stay, a lorry overturned on the road leading to Bath Feringghi where the hotel was located, resulting in only a single lane being used for bi direction traffic. Traffic was backed up for the entire evening from 9.30 pm until 1 am while the overturned lorry was being repaired.

No in house doctor on call who can attend to medical emergencies. Staff was not very helpful and under equipped to arrange for assistance. We were pretty much left on our own to find our way to the nearest hospital given that the traffic congestion had prevented our Uber from reaching the hotel. Luckily a hotel guest offered to drive us out of Bath Feringghi to the nearest hospital in Georgetown.

Despite the luxury and premium hotel setting, I definitely won't set foot into this hotel in the future until they have addressed the shortcomings in a medical emergency situation.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank TravelBug1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear TravelBug1081,

Thank you for your feedback. Our resort has a very competent emergency team and we would love to hear from you more regarding this matter. Kindly contact us at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com with more information so that we can discuss further.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile


We paid $400 Australian a night for a sea view room in Garden wing. Chose this cause we thought it was the premier offer. Sea view quite good- hugely better at the Bayview Beach resort where rooms are not set back so far. Rasa Seaview is- less impressive especially for the money.

The main flaw is that occupants of the Garden wing cannot use the adults only pool. We were sentenced to a pool full of raucous kids playing volleyball- accompanied by loud tasteless music emanating from the pool attendants shack.
Fine ! - if at $400 a night you can retreat to the adults only pool.

Spoke to management but they would not budge . Consequently we rarely used the noisy kid filled pool.
Bayview Beach resort nearby- sensibly sets up the volleyball in a kids pool. Golden sands has an adults only pool for all adults to use.

I’m still mystified by this inflexible policy that denies such high paying guests.

Also their gluten free breakfast main offer is hot oats - which are not gluten free. Odd - more research needed by senior kitchen staff.

Cafe staff were pleasant . Still deeply disappointed by the Hotel pool policy. It meant virtually a swimfree “ holiday”at a resort that boasts pictures of its capacious pool on all booking sites.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank helenc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear helenc54,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We have taken note on your comments which we have taken seriously for our review to continuously enhance the satisfaction of our guests. We would sincerely like to apologise for the inconvenience that you have encountered during your stay especially with regards to the ambience at the pool during the school holidays season and the choice of gluten free options during breakfast. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again for a true Shangri-La experience in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

We had our first stay with this hotel...and yes, we are staying at the Rasa Wing! The room is great, with balcony bathtub
We feel welcomed as the hospitality is warm. We have five more nights to go, and we look forward to enjoy our stay here.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Serena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Tey1409,

It has been our privilege to have you with us during your vacation in Penang. Thank you for choosing Rasa Sayang as your preferred vacation home. We look forward to delighting you again on your future vacations in Penang.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews