We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang for 3 nights on a family vacation. The resort has a beautiful pool with a small pool for kids (0.45m) deep. I like that they have the sister hotel next door, which means that the facilities can be shared. There is lots for kids to do. There is the adventure zone and mini golf course for kids.

The rooms are simply furnished, but do need an upgrade. Half the hotel is currently being re-furbished, so can be quite noisy.

Food is average, think there is lots of room for improvement, seeing that it is Penang, the foodie town!

The hotel staff are great, and always have a genuine smile on their faces. Really go out of their way to be hospitable.

Will definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Lulub81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Lulub81,

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us.

We are in the midst of finishing up our renovations and we thank you for bearing with us. Once we have refreshed our beautiful resort, we hope to welcome you home again to experience our new rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Directior of Communciations
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 3,577 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent location almost the perfect stay but the bed was too hard staff were very attentive giving excellent service. The grounds are beautifully laid out relaxing in the pool area, a separate pool area is provided for families allowing children to play









Room Tip: upgrade to a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Leon C,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We have recorded your comments regarding the bed in your profile so the Housekeeping Department will provide mattress toppers during your next stay with us.

We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope we can have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Directior of Communciations
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Was on a business's trip for 5 days at this hotel. A few of my colleagues has good poisoning from eating at this hotel so beware!

The beach sand is course and water is murky. You are better off staying at hard rock or langkawi for much less. Will not return as the food was bad and beach was dirty

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eunice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Eunice W,

Thank you for your sharing your comments with us. I am very concerned to hear about your comments. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly with more details via email: suleiman.tar@shangri-la.com so that I can personally investigate the caused of the unpleasant experience by your colleagues.

I hope your colleagues has recovered from the incident. Please be assured that health and safety of our guests is of paramount important to us.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you and best regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Directior of Communciations
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Right on the beach and still the best hotel in Penang even though it is 40 years old. Lovely pools and the restaurants are good. A great gym, nine hole pitch and putt course and well worth the extra money. Probably not five stars but certainly four. Really recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan8443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Booked a family room - garden wing to take care of us and 3 young kids. Consists of 1 King (although it says Queen - definitely felt like a King Bed) plus 2 singles. Considering our kids are all under the age of ten, appreciated being in 1 room. There's a separate bath and shower area so didn't need to 'challenge' for the bathroom.

Breakfast is great, good assortment and you never feel that it's too crowded even during peak times/peak periods.

Staff are attentive and always friendly, good balance of helpfulness without being intrusive.

Pricing is higher than around the area, but overall is good value if you prefer not to be overcrowded during peak periods such as local school holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank JJYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was recently provided the opportunity to visit this resort as part of a convention and words cannot describe what I found there. The service, the quality of the staff, the food and pools is ... well words cannot describe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KilmoreKermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hello From Spain ... Been back a week from this hotel .. and we have stayed in a great many hotel s in the far east ..To be honest this is by far the best . the people the hotel are realy so nice the food one could die for .. the grounds out standing .
My wife and I thought we had died and been taken to heaven but glad we came back to say to all at the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa a big ty not just to one but all off u .. thank u so much for a wonderfull week .
IF ANY ONE LOOKING FOR A GREAT PLACE TO STAY LOOK NO FURTHER .
we hope to return again some day take care all
Isabella @ Peter
Spain

Room Tip: room with garden worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buzby i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
3,797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $155 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing