We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights for our honeymoon in April 2014. The stay was nothing short of amazing. The service was first rate, nothing too much trouble for the staff and facilities first rate.
Staying in the Rasa Wing meant we had access to the private pool and Ferenggi Grill for breakfast, which made it a great experience for honeymooners.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brettt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,297
    675
    203
    64
    46
See reviews for
1,067
1,540
91
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed from 16-29 April and had an excellent relaxing stay. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. They go out of there way and even remember your names
You must stay at the rasa wing if you can afford the extra, high tea in the afternoon and happy hour drinks in the evenings make it that extra special trip
Special thanks to Chan and Jessica at the Rasa Wing and Matthews and Th.... at breakfast time who went out of there way
It's our second time at this resort and cant wait to come back

Room Tip: Stay in the rasa wing if you can with all the extras included
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Johnny 241,

Thank you for such a lovely review of our resort. We are pleased that you were so well taken care of during your stay with us and it gives us a great joy to learn that you cant wait to return to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa.

I will be sure to pass your kind words to Chan and Jessica at the Rasa Wing, Matthews and his team at the breakfast room. I am sure that they will be very happy to know that they were mentioned so kindly in your review.

We are glad that you were able to spend time with us and we certainly hope to welcome you back for the third time soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed some 20 years ago and. It was pretty special then. Now it is absolutely superb, it's probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff all of them EXCELLENT nothing too. Much trouble , rooms beautiful , food great. What more. Can I say, than to say can't wait to come back here

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahsyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

this was my second stay at the rasa Sayang, absolutely loved every moment of our stay. staff are very very polite and helpful. we didnt have any trouble with language this time but the first time was a bit hit and miss. the renovation presently hasnt caused much noise, kept to a bare minimum. because the resort is so vast, there are heaps of places you can go to avoid the noise eg beach. and oh, I love the addition of some hammocks dotted around the resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank alexlek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

What a lovely resort. We stayed here as a family.
Check-in was quick and personalised with a tour of the facility. Special mention of Jazmizaan and Lynn who were the excellent reception staff.
All the staff including cleaning staff are extremely pleasant and many remember you by name. They are always warm and smiling and unobtrusivley helpful.
The room was HUGE! We stayed in the Rasa Wing premier room that had a separate lounge and large balcony with outdoor marble bathtub.
Bathroom was spacious with double sink and large shower that could fit the entire family at once.
Lovely branded toiletries were available.
A special pillow menu made sleeping a pleasure.
We had breakfast at the Spice market and this was a spectacular experience with a large choice of cuisine. Special mention of Tharun the pastry chef who provided yummy breads and fresh hot croissants.
The pool was clean and quiet. There are separate pools at the rasa wing for adults only but we used the family pool at the garden wing which was more fun as a family.
The beach was as expected and lots of private watersports and massages on offer. Look out for Anita massage on the beach and ask for Natasha or Anita who provided the best massages.
The rasa wing provides high tea and cocktail hour, both of which we enjoyed and was very welcoming. There were complimentary soft drinks and tea/coffee throughout the day in the rasa lounge. Special mention of Mr Chan in the lounge who will see to your every need!
We used the health club steam room and jacuzzi and the facility was very clean and neat.
We enjoyed the buffet dinners in the spice market cafe...40% off on Mon & Tuesday was very good value for a huge choice of cuisine.
We will definitely be back here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the Rasa wing..the extras are really worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imraan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Imraan J,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa.

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us, and your compliments
to our colleagues are definitely encouraging.

We will certainly share your kind words to Jazmizaan, Lynn,
Tharun, Anita, Natasha and Chan Leong Peng. I am sure they will be delighted
to know that they were mentioned so kindly in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our family stayed her for 7 days in February after a 3 night stay in Singapore.
We visited this same hotel in 2001 but since then renovations have taken place.
Our welcome and check-in was excellent and standards of service were high.
We were allocated a family room in the Garden Wing with full sea view - the room was spacious and included WIFI.

An excellent breakfast was taken in the Spice Market restaurant with exceptional choice catering for all countries.
Dinner was also served here and the choice of menu could not be faulted.
The highlight of our dining experience was dinner at the Ferringhi Grill ( part of the Rasa Wing ) This was "fine dining" at it's best - the signature dish starter of Tomato Soup completed at your table was remarkable.Steak followed cooked to perfection.

Plenty of loungers around the vast grounds of the hotel, many of which were available in shaded areas
The swimming pool was large and enjoyed by all.
Bar staff were keen to please and everyone enjoyed "happy hour" in the early evening where cocktails were very reasonably priced whilst viewing the sunset.

This is the kind of resort hotel that you spend most of your time apart from the odd excursion.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are adequate if sea views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 10 nights at the Rasa Sayang, having previously stayed there 2 years ago. We enjoyed it every bit as much this time. We would highly recommend booking a room in the Rasa Wing which includes extras such as afternoon tea (from 3-4 daily), cocktails and canapés (from 5.30-7.00 nightly) and access to the peaceful Rasa Wing pool (no children, complimentary soft drinks, fruit kebabs, cooling towels, etc).

We very lucky enough to be upgraded this time to a deluxe room which included a private garden terrace. The room itself was slightly larger than the superior room we had last time but had the same fixtures and fittings. The Rasa Wing rooms have really good sound-proofing, powerful showers and quiet but effective AC units. They also include a good selection of gorgeous L'Occitane toiletries which were replenished daily along with bottled water and fresh fruit.

Like all good hotels, it's the staff that make the Rasa Wing such a fabulous place to stay however. Without exception they are professional and helpful yet manage to be warm and friendly at the same time.

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we look forward to returning for a third stay before too long.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShetlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing