We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but the swimming pool area was dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is our first stay in this resort and the hotel was very nice and rooms are spacious and adequate.Breakfast was the best and i should say the best I have ever experience in my travels
but the swimming pool area was a bit worn out and dirty and the beach front for parasailing was not even and my kid fell into the sea when the parasailing came down whereas it was perfect landing when we stayed at Golden Sands hotel.

Services was excellent and will come again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randyteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear randyteh:

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us, and your compliments on our breakfast spread.

We are disappointed to hear that our swimming pool was not up to your expectation despite our daily cleaning and removing dried leaves from the pools. We have shared your comments with our Recreation Team to look into the cleanliness of the swimming pools.

The resort are located on a public beach and the parasailing are conducted by a private water sports operators. We will inform them to be more cautions in their activities on the beach. We do discourage guests from taking part in the water sports activities run by these private operators.

We look forward to your many more happy returns to the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,894 - 1,900 of 3,532 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went there with our children and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms very very nice and the staff extremely friendly, always looking for your confort. The buffet were excellent with plent of choice.
We highly recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renaud d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our third stay at the Rasa Wing of this hotel. It is wonderful to be greeted by the same staff year after year and the welcome is genuine. The Rasa Wing room was wonderful as ever. Beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

It is always such a treat to have the Rasa Wing pool that is adults only. A calm oasis with the inimitable Muru in charge, anticipating ones needs - iced coffee, cool flannels, fresh iced fruit. And the Foot Therapist's poolside foot massages should not be missed.

Chi, the Spa is a treat of its own with marvellous massages in the most beautiful surroundings.

The only problem is having to leave at the end of such a blissful stay.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeBee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent attention to detail and feeling fully recharged. Can't wait to return for another week of relaxation. The staff were very courteous and made my young family feel welcome. The food was amazing too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank RayeLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Overall, it was a good experience for my family of 5 with kids ranging from 11 to 15. They did get a bit bored as the pool experience is a bit limited. The room was a bit worn but given that they are renovating the hotel, I expect in a few months time, it will be better. Service was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank JCRBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear JCRBAM

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us in tripadvisor.com.

We are pleased to know that your enjoyed the service at the reorot. I hope the children had the opportunity to enjoy Segway rides and Adventure Zone with Kid's Club facilities next door at Golden Sands Resort.

We hope that you will come back and experience the newly refurbished rooms at the Garden Wing, on your next visit to Penang.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Came to Rasa Sayang Resort and stayed in Garden Wing in early April. Unfortunately, the hotel was having an upgrading service, but it did not interfere with our stay (in fact, I didn't hear any construction work at all). We had a wonderful time here. The hotel left us a lovely note about the inconvenience caused by the upgrade work, which was a nice gesture.

Location: Batu Ferringhi, 15km from Georgetown (24km from Penang first bridge). It is quite a drive from the town centre, where the heritage sites are. It is in close proximity to beach and sea. About 10 mins walk to Sungai Emas commercial area. You will find lots of convenient stores, banks, 24-hour McDonald's, 7-Eleven, peddlers selling fake goods and souvenir items and hawker centres (try Long Beach hawker centre), restaurants and bars.

Transport: Bus 101 Rapid Penang or taxi could take you here (it may take a while). Shuttle service by hotel is available to town centre (Traders Hotel in Georgetown, another affiliate hotel of Shangri-la chain).

Hotel: Very cosy ambiance, with traditional Malay-styled interior. Even staff are having songket or kebaya as their uniform. At the centre where the sofas are, has this beautiful fan-looking "Tree of Life", and beyond that is the beautiful traditional musical instrument set (performance on Friday evening 6pm). After the lobby area of Garden Wing, the pools are in view with nice shades from two very old trees. Not far from the pool is the beach and sea (Malacca Straits). In comparison with Golden Sands Resort (located next door and also a Shangri-la chain), Rasa Sayang's sandy beach is not as beautiful as Golden Sands. However, this hotel is quieter and more relaxed than Golden Sands. The other side of hotel is Rasa Wing. There has more facilities, e.g. gym, sauna & steam bath, Taichi corner, Chi Spa and Massage, Turtle Conservation Area, Golf Putting Green. The hotel provides daily activities to keep guests engaged, which are really nice. Spice Market Cafe serves good meals with nice ambiance too.

Room: Room is very huge with firm comfortable bed and pillows. I had wonderful nights of rests. Balcony equipped with coffee table and chairs looking out to the pool, old trees and seaside. The ensuite bathroom is fantastically huge and nice, with shower cubicle and bath tub separated. Strong water pressure makes my bathing feels so comfortable. Quality toiletries and plenty of changing towels too. Bottle waters, fruits platter, changing outdoor slippers are good gestures too.

Overall experience was very good with Rasa Sayang Resort. I had a wonderful and relaxing time in this hotel. Will definitely come here again!

Room Tip: Room with view of pool and sea would be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April, before transferring to a planned two night stay at the Eastern and Oriental. How we wished we had stayed put at the Rasa Sayang! Wonderful, attentive and courteous staff; a relaxing location and excellent afternoon tea, drinks and canapés (the only let down were the poor cocktails - but the wine and beer make up for it) in the Rasa Wing. Would definitely recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Crazymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Crazymayo:

Thank you for your lovely review of the Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa and for staying with us for 3 nights.

Your remarks about the resort are much appreciated. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the cocktails and will inform our Food & Beverage Department accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,911 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $169 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing