We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful service, rooms a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a beautiful resort with excellent service. In the days I stayed there was also a conference of amazing entrepreneurs at the hotel. Even though the hotel mst have been full, it never felt crowded.

The room amenities were always well stocked. The evening turn down service was always done while we were out of the room.

There were a few shops in and around the local area. I tried a foot massage in the yellow building at the first major corner to town and it was underwhelming. Further down the road, they were more interesting and better value.

I got some washing down in town which was 12rm for a minimum of 2kgs.

The trip into George Town is about 30 minutes each way. Some cabs offer meter, some offer fixed price. The fixed price was good value during the day but I had trouble getting the same price at night as the drivers wanted to charge for returning empty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YingYang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,841 - 1,847 of 3,449 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

A wonderful hotel with charming, engaging and helpful staff. Their style is to be unobtrusive yet available and nothing is too much trouble. The outside areas are beautifully kept and the hotel was pristine.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Arrived at Rassa after 5 nights in the new wing of the Eastern and Oriental.

First impressions place a bit tired. Had a deluxe room which was half the size of the E&O.

Room marble top not been cleaned or looked badly stained.

Next morning.

Rassa pool excellent and staff look after you very well. Cold drinks, cold towels and fruit.

No children under 16 at the pool so it's very peaceful and restful.

Only spoiler are the wave riders zooming up and down. Pity as they are so noisy.

Nice wee golf course. £5 each for 9 holes. Should either be free or £5 for the day.

Afternoon tea is wonderful as are the pre dinner drinks all inclusive if staying in Rassa wing.

The marble work top was sanded the next day. Great service.

Service in the whole place is absolutely impeccable. Wonderful friendly staff.

Hotel could do with a make over as rooms whilst very nice and well appointed are out dated. Nothing major just the comparison with the E&O was enormous.

They were starting to refurb the garden wing rooms. Hope they do the Rassa wing as well.

Prices in the Ferringi grill are very high for this part of the world. London yes but not in Penang. Although the food is excellent.

We ate here three times and without doubt it is probably one of the finest restaurants on the island.

Close to the Hotel plenty of places to eat close to the hotel at a fraction of the price.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the Rassa wing for a wonderful relaxing holiday.


Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear pwd1690,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to our room and we will get our Housekeeping team to do a thorough check to ensure that the rooms are in tip top condition. We are pleased that the marble top issue was rectified in a timely manner.

The Watersports operators are operating on the public beach outside of the resort and they are in no way affiliated with our resort. Guests may notify our security team should they find the noise pollution to be unbearable.

It is also lovely to hear that you had a lovely time at Feringgi Grill and had the opportunity to dine there several times during your stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback which we will keep in mind for our future plans. We appreciate your patronage and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and myself recently had our third stay in the garden wing at this hotel.

This is a beautiful hotel with staff to match, we wouldn't otherwise return as we have.
One issue has arisen this year and it is that of their sunbed policy. The hotel has a small golf course where 5 days out of 7 they hold a putting competition. A great way to spend an hour or so relaxing and having some banter with other guests, it is well attended, or was early March with some 20 plus people there every day, prizes in the form of drink vouchers can be won and it really does make for a most enjoyable time.
It is however marred by the sunbed policy of the hotel, that being, if you leave your sunbed in the Garden Wing pool area for more than an hour your personal belongings will be removed and placed behind the bar. Despite protests to the hotel, the fact that you are taking part in one of their activities does not matter, they do not care, in fact they even have a time sheet behind the bar where they log every guest in and out of the Garden Wing pool. This is a 5 start hotel and the Garden Wing is an upgraded addition. One does not go away on holiday to monitored like a school child. What a way to treat guests in such an establishment. It also means that if you sit at their bar, having lunch and enjoying yourself, but take over an hour you loose your sunbed. This would not happen if the area for the Garden Wing pool was larger, but as it isn't they impose this ridiculous hour rule. So be warned, even if you are in the hotel, having lunch, afternoon tea or at the putting competition for over an hour they will impose this rule without remorse.
This was not an easy decision to place such comments on Trip Advisor because this is such a good hotel with such excellent staff, BUT, this policy and their refusal to be a little more considerate really does let it down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear John W A P,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a lovely time at our resort.

We are disappointed to read that you have an issue with our sun beds policy. We have encountered, on many occasions, guests who reserve the sun beds for several hours and this has caused some inconvenience to other guests. Therefore, this policy has to be enforced in order to be fair to other guests. Should you encounter a similar issue the next time you stay with us, please have a quick word with our Director of Recreations who would be more than happy to assist.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

very friendly great food the room was a garden view was excellent we could see the garden and the sea with the sun on our balcony till sunsett the people and the service were what made the holiday very special... beach was good although there might be jelly fish would definatley go again

Room Tip: garden view is best
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Chris H,

We would like thank you for your nice comments. We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us.

We are working closely with the local authorities in order to monitor the jellyfish situation in the local waters so as to ensure a more balanced eco system for a sustainable future.

We are delighted to know that you hope to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Sands.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed a week. Exceeded all our expectations. Service, service and more service. Resort has a great pool with pool side bar, dining and direct access to the beach whilst maintaining a comfortable level of security.

Room Tip: Garden Wing the better value.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Fitzroy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Penang for a conference and was fortunate enough to stay at the shangri-la. It was a Great stay, beautiful hotel, incredible service - overall wonderful experience.

I had a garden view room but you could still see the lovely pool and the ocean above the trees. Absolutely stunning.

Every room has a wonderful view and facilities are world class.

I Thoroughly recommend it. I will be back.

Thanks team at the shangri-la

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Benjamintrinh,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us during your conference here and that you would come back.

We thank you again for the comments that will help other meeting organisers to choose Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa as ideal venue for conference in Penang.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,465 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $146 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing