We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunbed policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sunbed policy”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and myself recently had our third stay in the garden wing at this hotel.

This is a beautiful hotel with staff to match, we wouldn't otherwise return as we have.
One issue has arisen this year and it is that of their sunbed policy. The hotel has a small golf course where 5 days out of 7 they hold a putting competition. A great way to spend an hour or so relaxing and having some banter with other guests, it is well attended, or was early March with some 20 plus people there every day, prizes in the form of drink vouchers can be won and it really does make for a most enjoyable time.
It is however marred by the sunbed policy of the hotel, that being, if you leave your sunbed in the Garden Wing pool area for more than an hour your personal belongings will be removed and placed behind the bar. Despite protests to the hotel, the fact that you are taking part in one of their activities does not matter, they do not care, in fact they even have a time sheet behind the bar where they log every guest in and out of the Garden Wing pool. This is a 5 start hotel and the Garden Wing is an upgraded addition. One does not go away on holiday to monitored like a school child. What a way to treat guests in such an establishment. It also means that if you sit at their bar, having lunch and enjoying yourself, but take over an hour you loose your sunbed. This would not happen if the area for the Garden Wing pool was larger, but as it isn't they impose this ridiculous hour rule. So be warned, even if you are in the hotel, having lunch, afternoon tea or at the putting competition for over an hour they will impose this rule without remorse.
This was not an easy decision to place such comments on Trip Advisor because this is such a good hotel with such excellent staff, BUT, this policy and their refusal to be a little more considerate really does let it down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear John W A P,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a lovely time at our resort.

We are disappointed to read that you have an issue with our sun beds policy. We have encountered, on many occasions, guests who reserve the sun beds for several hours and this has caused some inconvenience to other guests. Therefore, this policy has to be enforced in order to be fair to other guests. Should you encounter a similar issue the next time you stay with us, please have a quick word with our Director of Recreations who would be more than happy to assist.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,327
    679
    203
    65
    46
See reviews for
1,078
1,556
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

very friendly great food the room was a garden view was excellent we could see the garden and the sea with the sun on our balcony till sunsett the people and the service were what made the holiday very special... beach was good although there might be jelly fish would definatley go again

Room Tip: garden view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Chris H,

We would like thank you for your nice comments. We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us.

We are working closely with the local authorities in order to monitor the jellyfish situation in the local waters so as to ensure a more balanced eco system for a sustainable future.

We are delighted to know that you hope to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Sands.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed a week. Exceeded all our expectations. Service, service and more service. Resort has a great pool with pool side bar, dining and direct access to the beach whilst maintaining a comfortable level of security.

Room Tip: Garden Wing the better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzroy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Penang for a conference and was fortunate enough to stay at the shangri-la. It was a Great stay, beautiful hotel, incredible service - overall wonderful experience.

I had a garden view room but you could still see the lovely pool and the ocean above the trees. Absolutely stunning.

Every room has a wonderful view and facilities are world class.

I Thoroughly recommend it. I will be back.

Thanks team at the shangri-la

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Benjamintrinh,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us during your conference here and that you would come back.

We thank you again for the comments that will help other meeting organisers to choose Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa as ideal venue for conference in Penang.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff are great, resort is well maintained for its age. We stayed in Rasa wing which includes access to the lounge as well as breakfast. It was so hot in Penang that we really did not have a huge urge to leave the property with our young kids. The CHI spa was fantastic. Beach was ok, although the signs posted that watch out for jellyfish were a bit freaky though. We did use the Golden Sands resort next door waterpark and that property was not very nice, but it's a 40 years old resort and only so much maintenance can be done in that climate.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear James S,

Thank you for staying at Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa. We are pleased to know that you and your kids enjoyed yourself during your stay with us.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the jellyfish in the sea. Our resort management is working closely with the local authorities to ensure that the jellyfish population is monitored and that there is a balanced eco system.

We appreciate if you could contact us at rsr.communications@shangri-la.com to give us more details on your disappointment with the Golden Sands Resort.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I are currently waiting to leave this fantastic hotel and neither of us wants to go I can only say choose this hotel and you will not be disappointed as everything about it is perfect. The service is first class and so are all the staff. I would like to name in particular Chan in the Rasa Sayong lounge who is brilliant, Catherine in the Ferrengi Grill where we had breakfast every morning and the two guys at the pool Muru and Nadim. These members of staff are a real credit to the hotel. Thank you for a perfect holiday. Ian & Mandy Whitehouse.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Mandy W,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We are happy to read that you had a good wonderful stay with us. We will certainly convey your
compliments to Chan, Catherine, Muru and Nadim. They will be pleased to know that you mentioned them so kindly in your review.

We are pleased that all went well during your previous visit and we look forward
to your return in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Came for a conference and stayed for a short vacation. The staff was incredible and the views were amazing. Chi spa was one of the best spa's I've ever been too. Really felt at home and was sad to leave!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank purplebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,106 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,163 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing