We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited eating places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Limited eating places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in Rasa Wing for one week. In this hotel there are 3 restaurants, Buffet restaurant called "Spice Market", high-class western style "The Feringgi Grill" (rather expensive), casual open-air restaurant & bar "Pinang". Actually this hotel has over 300 rooms so that "Spice Market" & "Pinang" are always fully booked. Please don't forget to reserve a table. However, staff, room and other facilities are OK. By the way, in "Spice Market" I was very surprised to see the female guests with full make-ups in bathrobe and slippers (restaurant staff allowed them to have breakfast there). Very disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noakatoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    671
    201
    63
    46
See reviews for
1,055
1,516
86
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Esher
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Re-visited the Rasa for the first time since it re-opened around 2006. Great resort hotel and Nancy on reception is certainly one of the best receptionists in the world - she is kind, friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The resort has excellent facilities albeit some of the gym equipment could do with updating. the golf course is great fun for 40-mins and no clubs are required as it is just a short pitch and put but great to hone the short game!
Rooms a little on the small side but the staff and service are superb. The grounds are amongst the best you will find in the world and great to have such a range of options for sunbathing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank stevewhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear stevewhiting

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort on TripAdvisor.

We have taken note of your comments regarding our Front Office colleague, Nancy. I will be sure to pass your kind words to her.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northleach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fantastic staff - attentive, courteous, efficient. Delicious food - great quality and extensive variety. Comfortable rooms with balcony - book sea view. Garden rooms are very shaded by trees. Huge pool - but no sun umbrellas - so searching for tree shade.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank janequelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Among the top best 3 hotels i have ever stayed. Not much to do in town but beach and premises more than enough to stay in. Stayed here over the week end while spending the work week at Shangri-La Penang. Ask at the front desk for hotel transportation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MALECR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from six nights at Shangri La. We stayed in a Rasa Wing Garden room and had a great stay. the staff were without exception wonderfully courteous and truly cared about your time. Breakfast (at Ferringhi Grill) was exceptional, the (free) cocktail hour was very busy but enjoyable. The highlight however is the Chi Spa where the treatments were phenomenal

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our second visit and we stayed in the Rasa wing. Once again from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were well cared for by smiling efficient people.
As with other reviewers there were detractions that we hadn't encountered before.
Yes the hotel was full and at cocktail hour it was packed, this meant you felt you had to be there as soon as the session began. That said the staff were efficient and glasses were topped up frequently. The staff were good at remembering your choice of drink during your visit. The addition of a buffet as opposed to a plate of canapés was good.
We too were there for the Sandra fracas.
On the previous day I had asked to speak to someone to clarify the sunbed policy. I had assumed that you had your breakfast and then chose a sunbed and could leave it for an hour - afternoon tea for example. However, it is hotel policy that you can select a bed and then go for breakfast provided you return within an hour. Do I agree - no, however if you need a bed in the shade it leads to a 'if you can't beat them join them' scenario. Maybe the policy needs rethinking.

Our room was good, and the garden enjoyable. At breakfast the buffet was plentiful and the daily menu varied and enjoyable. We ate twice in the Ferrangi Grill at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and appreciated the friendly and efficient service we received.

Would I stay again, yes of course I would. A successful hotel is always going to be busy. But the rooms are good, the grounds are beautifully planted and maintained, the wildlife interesting. The pool good. All the makings of a restful totally indulgent holiday.

Room Tip: Garden room with seafacing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beagle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Beagle60,

Thank you for your excellent review of our resort.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the sunbed policy. We do have this policy to ensure that all our guests have equal and ample opportunity to have their favourite spot in the sun.

We will certainly highlight your comments to our senior management.

We thank you once again for taking time to write this review and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I patronised the Spice Market Café recently for their weekend Buffet High Tea and agreed that there were lots of variety to indulge in but sad to say that the 'clown' practices 'double standards' to certain guests. First she went round the tables with children to make figure balloons for them and after she had finished with all the kids she went to one table not far from where I was sitting to entertain a young couple and made them 2 balloons meant for a lovey dovey couple. Whist doing that she did noticed me and my mother who is an octogenarian looking at her hoping that she will come to our table to lighten us up. Unfortunately she went away without looking at us. Now come on we are also paying the same amount as everyone, if she can entertain the kids and the young ones, why not the seniors who I'm sure would be very happy as this will really make their day! Well if she only entertain the kids and not adults, then its fine I can understand that. Should I say its sad or disappointed when it comes to Shangri-La standards?

Another thing is my mother wanted a cup of coffee which was not on the buffet line and I asked a waiter where can I get one. He told me that he could serve me one and I waited till the end of our meal but the coffee never came.

One thing good is that the staff are efficient in clearing the used plates on the table.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayviewBeachResortPg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear BayviewBeachResortPg,


Thank you for being a guest at our outlet. We have taken note of your comments with regards to the clown and we will ensure that our Director of Food and Beverage addresses this matter with them.

We are also disappointed to discover that the coffee was not served in a timely manner.
Training will be given to staff to ensure that service standards are consistent irregardless of how busy the outlet is.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We certainly value your comments and we will take this as an opportunity to further improve in terms of service.

We look forward to your next visit to our outlet..

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing