We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect beach resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The property is located at batu ferringi. All rooms in Rasa wing is pool facing with higher floors having beach view. The rooms are spacious with attached balcony. The room amenities are as expected in a shangri la property. The property offers a quite a few daily activities for the guests like golf, yoga etc. The beach located adjacent is popular for water sports. Overall a great place to stay. The only dissappointment though is the food..... must say local restaurants and hawkers offer tastier penang food.
.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GiriprasadNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear GiriprasadNair,

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are disappointed to lean that our food quality was not to your expectations. Please contact us at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com so that we can convey your detailed comments of our food to our Executive Chef. We look forward to your e-mail.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    671
    201
    63
    46
See reviews for
1,055
1,516
86
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had reserved a room in the Garden Wing, but decided to upgrade (at whatever cost) to the Rasa Wing immediately upon seeing the dilapidated condition of our original room. We were only there for a few seconds but it looked as though it had not been updated since construction in the 70s and we could see mold growing on the caulking around the sink in the bathroom. Ick. In contrast, our Rasa Wing room was clean and contemporary. Notwithstanding the upgrade, we never quite felt at ease at this resort. Not sure whether it was the silly rules at the Rasa Wing lounge or the fact that the resort was, during our stay, overrun by large families with the rudest and unruliest of children or the contrast (and perceived, perhaps, tension) between conservative and liberal clientele, but we did not find our stay relaxing at all. Will not return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank saywhatsreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear saywhatsreal,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.

We have read your comments regarding our room and we have informed our Executive
Housekeeper regarding the mold. Our maintenance team has been notified and
there will be more constant maintenance in order to ensure that all rooms are in tip top condition.

Rasa Wing is more private and exclusive while the Garden Wing caters to families. We would suggest using the Rasa Wing pool as this is reserved for Rasa Wing guests 16 years and older. This will allow our guests a more tranquil and relaxing stay. Rasa Wing guests are also accorded complimentary breakfast at either Feringgi Grill or Spice Market Café, complimentary afternoon tea and daily cocktails at Rasa Lounge.

We are confident that you will discover a more relaxed and peaceful vacation should you choose to stay at our Rasa Wing rooms in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Reception:
Upon entering the hotel we noticed there were only 2 reception desks, at the time that we arrived it was quiet so this wasn't an issue. At busy times during the afternoon however this was a problem, if reception staff were busy the doormen (at no fault of their own) would try and help. Reception staff are mediocre, friendly but regimental in what they are and are not willing to do to help.

The room:
At first we were in a Deluxe Room, the room and bathroom were spacious enough except there was no balcony (the price to upgrade when we reached the hotel was £1000). After 3 days of being in the hotel we noticed that work tops were not wiped down at all, you could actually feel the residue on the surface of the work tops. After speaking to a manager and the manager of house keeping, our rooms were upgraded to Premier Rooms. The premier rooms were even more spacious, with a uncomfortable tub on the balcony. Even after making them aware that the cleaning was below par, the surfaces in the room were still dirty but by this point we had given up on showing them that this was not acceptable!

The pool:
The rasa sayang pool is great, due to the fact kids are not allowed below the age of 16 (i think), it was quiet, calm and relaxing. You were actually able to swim up and down the pool uninterrupted. There are free soft drinks served by the pool, as well as fruit skewers and cold towels. Its really nice when you arrive at the pool as there are people to help you find sun loungers and put the towels on them for you too.

Afternoon tea:
Between 3PM-4PM tea is served. It consists of sandwiches, cakes and scones. its great to fill in that hunger gap after breakfast. Even better for those who are non-veg, if you are veg however you may lack choice slightly, out of the 3 sandwiches one of them are veg. Don't bother asking for special veg ones, although they make a lovely effort to accommodate, the veg ones on the menu are really nice (and better the 'special' pepper sandwiches they made for us).

Cocktail hour and a half:
Between 17.30PM-7PM the hotel provides wine, champagne, spirits and canapes. The red and white wines are of a high standard and I think this is a real credit to the hotel and its service, the champagne is also easy to drink and really good. Again with canapes, there is always a veg options and some non-veg ones, lots of choice for everybody. Drinks are constantly topped up and food is refreshed often by the friendly chefs.

Breakfast:
I would strongly suggest that if you are staying in the Rasa Sayang wing, DO NOT BOTHER going to the spice market in the garden wing, it is absolute carnage. The a la carte breakfast in the Rasa wing is beautiful, a tailor made breakfast that makes you feel like you are in a different world. Theres is sweet and tasty fresh fruit and juices and a wide variety of food to order on the menu as well as a great selection of pastries and cold meats.

The Spa:
I had the package which included a massage, facial and aroma bath. The spa villas are lovely and private. The massage was relaxing and thorough. The facial was a let down, it felt so gentle that it didn't really get into my skin as Im used to. The bath was, well, a bath, nothing more and nothing less. A lovely experience but not something I would do more than once.

Staff:
As i mentioned the reception staff are mediocre at best.
Chan and Jon in the Rasa Lounge could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable
The breakfast staff at the Rasa wing are attentive and are happy to help with any request as part of your tailor made breakfast which is really great.
The doormen are really friendly but not so great as recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meera92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Meera92,

Thank you for your review and constructive comments.

We have taken note of your observations regarding our Front Office staff. Our doormen are also known as Rasa Wing hosts and they are also required to assist our guests with their requests.

Our Rasa Deluxe Room has a private patio and opens up to a private garden with a private gate to the gardens beyond. Our Guest History Manager has taken note of your preference for a room with a balcony i.e. Rasa Premier in our guest database for future references.

We have also taken not of your comments with regards to the room cleanliness. Our Executive Housekeeper will personally conduct constant
quality checks to ensure that all rooms are spick and span.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our daily afternoon tea and cocktail hours. Breakfast time tends to be busier at Spice Market Café and for guests who prefer a more private setting, we recommend breakfast at Feringgi Grill.

We are pleased that your spa massage treatment was to your satisfaction. We value your comments with regards to the facial treatment. We will certainly
convey your comments to our Recreation and Spa Manager as an area for improvement.

Thank you for your comments with regards to Chan and Jon at the Rasa Lounge and also to the staff at Feringgi Grill during breakfast. I will be sure to convey your compliments to them. We will speak to our Training Manager to ensure that our reception staff and door men are more attentive, efficient and knowledgable to ensure a better Shangri-La experience.

Rest assured we have taken note of your comments for improvement. We are confident that you will find a greater and more improved Shangri-La experience the next stay you stay with us. We look forward to the day of your return stay.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is the real deal!
It truly is luxury!
Amazing place to unwind and relax!
Good food, good pools, good everything!

My only one tiny tiny negative is the plastic glasses they use at the pool beach bar! Maybe just stick to glass!! But that's my only negative which must mean this place truly is perfect!!!!

Stay here! You will not regret it!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tom C,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort.

Plastic glasses are normally used in most of the resorts. This is to avoid broken glasses around the pools and to prevent incidents to our guests, especially children. Rest assured that we will convey your comments to our Director of Food and Beverage.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Having just spent 21 nights at the Rasa Wing I can fully recommend this hotel. From the moment of arriving to the wave off on departure the staff were excellent. The food in the Feringgi Grill was first class. The Rasa pool is child free so that was an added bonus. There are drinks available all day and included in the price of your stay.

Each day there is high tea followed a little later by cocktails which are all included in the price of your stay. There is a strict dress code for the lounge at cocktail time but some clients could not understand this and made a fuss. The staff dealt with the situations very professionally.

I stayed in a smaller room which was quite adequate as most of the time was spent outside. The room was looked after twice a day and a bowl of fruit was replenished each day.

The atmosphere is pleasant and relaxing and if something is required a member of staff will soon sort out any problems.

The spa which is attached to the hotel may be on the expensive side it is excellent. I had three full treatments during the stay and were worth every penny.

Just outside the hotel is a night market which is great fun with a whole range of products on sale. There are places to eat with all manner of food available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two small boys (and the Grandparents came along) and it made a perfect place to chill out as well as explore from. The room was generous and just right for our family. The restaurants were good but there are so many for half the price within a short walking distance that we hardly ate there. The exception to this was the amazing breakfast with its huge choice of world cuisine and cooked and prepared fresh in front of you. Our favourite place was the stunning pool and the jungle surrounding them, the kids loved it and after a week had doubled their swimming ability! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubaiuaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a very nice large, comfortable room with our own small garden. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the beach nice for a gentle stroll along or paragliding or riding or boat trips if you prefer. The staff were excellent. The restaurant in the Rasa wing offered delicious dinners and breakfasts, all served with efficiency and charm. The free shuttle bus into George Town is well worth doing. The hotel also organised us to have a day exploring the island with a friendly and knowledgeable driver. Happy Hour and afternoon tea are well worth investigating too!

Room Tip: If you can book a Rasa Wing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing