We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You could not ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You could not ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a super place to stay? The whole resort stands in beautiful gardens, The rooms are very clean and airy with super views. We paid extra to stay in the Rasa wing if you can afford it you will find it well worth the extra. All the staff were helpful and friendly and made our stay a holiday to remember. There was a small problem with our water pipes however the manager arranged to have us moved to a super room and even helped himself. What service? We will definitely be have a return visit. Thank you ALL.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Rasa wing very quiet and lots of extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Pam C,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort.

We are pleased indeed to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that there was a water pipe issue which was solved with a room change. We try our best to please all our guests and we thank you for showing your appreciation in Tripadvisor.

Thank for choosing to stay at the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    671
    201
    63
    46
See reviews for
1,055
1,516
86
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We only stayed for 7 nights but it was amazing. Upgraded on arrival from the cheaper Rasa Wing room to one with a balcony/tub etc and very pleased we did. The room was lovely, nice to sit out on the balcony. The staff, especially Mr Chan and Mas in the lounge were so hard working, efficient and such lovely people. Everything was perfect, great food, cocktails in the lounge, spa, pool and gym. Went to the Ferringgi Grill one evening, the food was beautiful. Service and table side preparation of crepe suzette etc were faultless. Very impressed with this hotel, will definitely return. A big thank you to all the lovely staff, they made our holiday very special. Have to say that we met some lovely guests there too, nearly all British so that was nice for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear HarryKensington

We are pleased that you enjoyed your week-long stay at the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang
Resort and Spa. Mr. Chan and Mas will be pleased to know that you acknowledged them
in this Tripadvisor review.

We certainly enjoyed hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Seriously this is one of the best resort hotel in Penang. Everything is exquisite and stand it its own class. The registration counter service is number one. The buffet breakfast is simply delicious. The room condition is just so so lovely and romantic too. Love this place to the max!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadzrahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is the best hotel in Penang and probably the best experience we've had at any hotel anywhere in the world we've travelled too!

The Shangri-La isn't a spanking new hotel. It's more a comfortable hotel and very clean. The people that work here are amazing! Every one of us including Grandparents and Children had a great time. The staff were attentive and had great initiative and went the extra mile constantly. Thank you Nicholas and Jon at the Rasa Wing Lounge for your outstanding service and Veronica and M the Reception staff who checked us in and out for that same outstanding service. Even the Bell Hop at the Shangri-la Golden Sands who gave us a buggy ride back to the Rasa Sayang as we were too tired to walk!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michgtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear michgtan,

Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. We have conveyed your compliments to our colleagues. I am sure they will be pleased to know of your gratitude and appreciation.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

upon arrival we were lucky enough to be upgraded from the sea view garden wing room to the rasa wing.... fantastic! the rasa wing benefits really did make the holiday. The complimentary drinks in the evening, the free afternoon tea was a nice touch but the adults only pool with unlimited water and soft drinks was a real winner!! the room was huge, very clean and comes with a bath tub on the balcony. my wife and i used the spa for a two hour hot stone massage and were allowed a further 30 minute treatment free. enjoyable although we could hear the girls doing the massage were using their phones during the treatment. the service in the hotel bars and resturants was of a very high standard and as mentioned before the rooms cleanliness was excellent. a trip to george town is WELL worth it, the night market along batu ferringhi is full of the normal stools selling bowls, chopsitcks, t-shirts etc but the food mkts were great and cheap, 5 ringit for a main course where as the buffet in the hotel was 130. the inclusive breakfast is excellent whether at the main buffet hall or at the grill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jimbo1981,

Thank you for sharing your enjoyable stay experience with us on Tripadvisor. We read with concern the hot stone massage which was interrupted by the massuer on the phone. We will take corrective measures by reminding our colleagues of our spa protocol and our Shangri-La service standards.

We will share this with our team members at CHI, The Spa and make necessary improvement as needed.

Thank you again for your time and we certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Among all the hotel in Penang, staying in "Rasa Sayang Hotel" is very much enjoyable for me & my children.
I hope I will come back again with my family.
Please let me know once your hotel have special rate !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CarynChan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear CarynChan2013,

Thank you for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have plans to visit Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa again.. Please look out for the best rates on line at www.shangri-la.com. We hope to see you at our resort again very soon.


Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I'm dissappointed with the hotel room because it still use carpet and obviously it is not suitable for my kid who have eczema.. The good point, the workers here are very friendly and helpful..thanks..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wanieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Wanieed,

Thank you for your feedback, which we value very much. We note your concerns on the used of the carpets in the room. We will take your comments into consideration for our future plans. On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing