We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to come back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hope to come back again”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Among all the hotel in Penang, staying in "Rasa Sayang Hotel" is very much enjoyable for me & my children.
I hope I will come back again with my family.
Please let me know once your hotel have special rate !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CarynChan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear CarynChan2013,

Thank you for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have plans to visit Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa again.. Please look out for the best rates on line at www.shangri-la.com. We hope to see you at our resort again very soon.


Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    687
    204
    65
    46
See reviews for
1,098
1,570
93
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I'm dissappointed with the hotel room because it still use carpet and obviously it is not suitable for my kid who have eczema.. The good point, the workers here are very friendly and helpful..thanks..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wanieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Wanieed,

Thank you for your feedback, which we value very much. We note your concerns on the used of the carpets in the room. We will take your comments into consideration for our future plans. On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We came to Penang after busy India, and chose this hotel for the serenity.
We can say we were not disappointed at all.
We chose the Rasa wing and upgraded to the water view room with the bath on the verandah which was really something else.this from was the size of two Norma hotel room and the bathroom gorgeous.
The rasa wing brings the lovely privileges like the High tea and drinks and snacks in the evening, the pool access to adults with free soft drinks, coffee and fruit, which is a great benefit.
We had breakfast in the spice market which was more our style, and enjoyed drinks at the pool bar in the afternoons.the hotel ran a Lavender bath for us at an arranged time as the sun was going down and a glass of wine,,!!!!!!!
We ate one evening at the Feringgi Grill which was nothing short of amazing.
The night markets were lots of fun too, they do not start until 7pm so you can relax all day and then shop at night. Do not forget to bargain hard.after shopping and dinner out on the street we caught a Trishaw back to the hotel which was enjoyable.
Enjoy your time at this hotel, it is beautiful.

Room Tip: Rasa wing is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

we spent 8 wonderful days at the shangri la in Batu Ferringhi . The hotel was really lovely. Choice of food for Breakfast amazing.
You must try the tomato soup in the Ferringhi Grill - an experience to remember
also try a massage on the sunbeds in the gardens



Room Tip: try to avoid being close to Lounge when they play music
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here for the second time this year and were still impressed with the level of service of the hotel. There is a high attention to detail and a very personal service. I do recommend the Rasa wing for couples, as it has the pool reserved for guests over 16 years old, including free softdrinks and coffee during the day, high tea at 15.00 and cocktails at 17.30 as well as the option of having your breakfast at the Feringgi Grill restaurant with it's view over the garden and sea. Don't forget to book a spa treatment at Chi for your ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ive348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel at the end of November and we had a perfect visit. The hotel was lovely and the staff really kind, efficient and helpful. We also found the free shuttle bus to George Town was very useful. The beach was nice and there were interesting places to visit in the general area.

The restaurant served very, very good food and it was all beautifully presented and served.

There is also a very generous complimentary tea and happy hour.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, I'd like to take them home with me! Go and visit.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank caroline0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Maxing hotel top quality sevice nothing to much trouble from any staff we encountered. Stayed in basic room I. Rasa wing which met our needs. They will try and upgrade you on arrival at an extra cost but didn't feel the need to do so as we spent barely any time in our room. Breakfast at ferryingi grill lovely much quieter than spice market, excellent service worth going for 5 star dinner at ferrengi grill if budget allows, not cheap but excellent food and service worth the money to us.

Room Tip: Stayed fourth floor basic room rasa wing worth paying extra for rasa wing with the extra benefits t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmelr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,235 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing