We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury if you can afford it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Check online booking websites' rates first & compare that with the hotel's own website, some days you might be able to get better deals which cost less than the less-luxurious hotels along the Feringghi stretch.
They offer pre-booked free shuttle to town, drop-off & pick-up point at the Traders, their sister hotel; also stops at Gurney Drive or anywhere you wish as long as it is on the way.
Food at the Grill is really good but if you like to go local, the night market is only within a stone's throwaway, hence where all the good seafood restaurants, street-foods, souvenir stalls and convenience stores are.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank iamsuhaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,046 - 2,052 of 3,482 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel must be one of the top hotels in Malaysia. The staff treat you like royalty from the moment you arrive. The service is second to none, you dont have to lift a finger. The pool staff,bar staff everyone was exceptional. A special thank you to Maz and Mr Chang for the best cocktails ever.A bit of advice give a little tip its so appreciated even though not necessary, you get excellent service regardless but they work so hard to make your holiday special.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade if you can its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daveburkinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just got back from having an amazing two weeks at the rasa sayang Shangri-la in Penang. In summary the hotel looks great, the staff are fantastic and friendly and the food is fabulous and very plentiful, especially the breakfast buffet. Staff keen to go the extra mile. The pool is also great with lots of areas for lounging and keeping cool. Would definitely go again or visit other Shangri-la sites.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in the Rasa wing and loved it! Service was exceptional from pool side to breakfast to getting a lift on the buggies to the golden sands for the night market! Loved the Rasa pool and also breakfasts.

Yes, the rooms are perhaps very slightly dated but when you experience service levels like this, does it matter? We had an issue with hot water and got moved to a bigger room which we greatly appreciated.

We ate one night in the Ferringhi grill as a contrast to Long Beach and really enjoyed this though the restaurant was so quiet that it lacked a little in atmosphere.

Penang has changed a great deal since we were first here 10 years ago and has got much busier with new blocks of flats mushrooming. Georgetown is still a great visit and the hotel shuttle is very convenient.

Room Tip: Choose Rasa wing if your budget will accommodate it. Best value in the wing is probably the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w0rkingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear w0rkingmum,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will take note of your comment regarding the rooms for our future plans.

We are glad to know that you were able to get a bigger room. Our Feringgi Grill ambience tends to be very subdued even when we are full as we wish to preserve the serene ambience of a fine dining restaurant.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahnan
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed 5nites in garden wing. Overall was very good except the room a bit classic/retro. Need to refurbish. (Add in DVD player, iPod Dock) BFast was awesome & unbelievable...Lots of station to choose for. I love the fresh juice counter. Gd job! Hotel food was gd but you can walk down the street (10mins) to local food center "Long beach" to enjoy the local's fav like spring roll, fried kueh teow..etc. or further 2mins walk, "I Love U" cafe. Plenty of food variety BUT never visit the "Ikan Bakar "(grilled fish) store in I LovE You as they ripped off foreigner. As they never show the price. Try the grilling store next door, Long beach. Was very yummy n affordable prices for all kind seafood. Massage shops are everywhere. Suking & 1massage shop directly across I love u cafe was gd & cheap 2. Look for Anie(Thai lady) awesome.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Alice K,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We have taken note of your comments regarding our resort's decor. We will certainly keep your comments in mind for future plans.

We all look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had to attend a business retreat that weekend. The service in the Rasa Sayang was impeccable. I had visited it last more than 13 to 14 years ago and it felt as fresh and new as before. Everything was well maintained and the rooms were very comfortable. Despite a crowd at breakfast, service was attentive. They have a shuttle bus which brings you downtown and back. make sure you book it to get a space.

Room Tip: The Garden wing is closer to themain pools and spice market where the buffett breakfast is served. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E T L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Wow, this was our third visit to this beautiful resort, set in lush tropical gardens along the Batu Feringgi Beach front. Everthing from check in to checkout was done with perfection. The staff are so friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms more than adequate with balconies and in our case a delightful view. The food in the Spice Bar Restaurant for breakfast was delish. The Pinang Bar, Feringgi Bar and Grill and room service all have delicious menus. Food prices for this type of hotel was excellent. The pool area is set in the tropical gardens, with bar services from the Pinang Bar and foot massages available whilst one relaxes. All rooms are serviced at least twice a day. This is our favourite resort world wide to chill out and relax with plenty to do in Georgetown and the island of Penang

Room Tip: The Garden Wing with rooms that overlook the pool area are the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,620 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $135 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing