We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changtastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Changtastic hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Other great reviews say it all . I love this hotel and didn't want to leave . We upgraded to the Rasa wing on arrival for about £50 sterling and worth every penny. Reception happily showed us around available rooms . This is a fine hotel and It pains me to say this , but the rooms are getting a little tired. But you don't notice that for long once you've checked in and you're swallowed by the comfort of the beds and seating , open plan bathrooms (which can be closed off for privacy) and the warm hospitality of all of the staff. We chose to stay in a garden room which indeed , has a lovely little private garden whihc in turn leads directly to one of the pools . But note , you can't lock your balcony door from the outside . So to go to the pool for a while you still need to walk though hotel corridors(s). No hardship really but worth noting. Rasa wing guests have exclusive access to the quiter adult -only pool where complimentary soft drinks , fruit, and cold towels are delivered to your sunbed - decadent ! Rasa Wing also gives you a choice of restaurants for breakfast . The buffet in The Spice Market is vast with a huge choice. But like other big buffet restaurants, it's very busy and noisy. Rasa Wing guests can also choose to use the Ferringhi Grill for breakfast . With an impressive selection and daily specials, you are spolied for choice . Your choice of hot breakfast is served to your table by really attentive , friendly staff who remember you by name . The view across the manicured gardens towards the sea or pool is memorable .I can't praise this hotel highly enough, but it's Mr Chan in the Rasa Wing lounge who takes first prize. This wing also has a free "cocktails " and canapes. You can have a cocktial if you like from a sizeable menu, but there is also wine, beer -anything you want really. The canapes are quite substantial. Mr Chan works this lounge like his life depends on it . He's like a typhoon eyeing every glass incase it accidentally becomes empty . And he's always got time for a kind word . Honestly , it's like being in the home of a good friend. Everybody loved Mr Chan and his staff.
Batu Ferringhi itself looks on the face of it , a typical holiday resort. But it's not your schmoosy , honeymoon type place . It 's got an edge to it . OK the night market is like markets everywhere but with some great little bars behind the stalls . OUr favourite was The Wooden Bar , turn right at the main road when you leave the hotel. It's like something straight from The Flintstones. The barmaid is very chatty and yu can order some good food from The Malaysian Kitchen next doorr and they serve it to you in the pub. But the best of it is the regular mainly ex pat Brits, Aussie and Americans . The "crack" is great . Some real characters . About 20/25 mins away by Taxi is Georgetown. Jam packed with georgeous colonial buildings sitting cheek by jowel next to small shop houses owned by the multicultural locals from India ,Malasia , China and a unique people who are a mix of chinese /malaysian called "Peranakan" ( I think) selling everything from textiles, to food, crafts and so on. And you can tour all of this on Trishaw- lime Rickshaw but with 3 wheels including an old bicycle peddled by an even older man . This is an experience in itself . They are protected by law and have right of way on mental roads jammed with traffic . You WILL need to close your eyes and grind your teeth when the Trishaw takes off from the kerb straight into the line of fast moving traffic.
It's unmissable . Just watch your bag/wallet from passing mopeds . But your driver will warn you about this . This is unmissable . We loved Panang. It's a"real place" where we stayed for 10 days -not long enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ell-Bee-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    675
    203
    64
    46
See reviews for
1,067
1,541
91
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Congratulations to the staff of the Rasa Sayang for keeping the resort fabulous at 40! The lovely rain trees I remembered as a child are still there and I can now share this wonderful place with my own children who love the pool and gardens.

Although the hotel was operating at full capacity during the long Hari Raya weekend, the staff showed tremendous grace under pressure. The service was wonderful and the food was great. Our thanks to Sharole at front desk and to Sugu the concierge for all their help and patience with us. It is never easy travelling with young children but the staff the Rasa Sayang were incredibly patient and kind.

The Chi Spa is highly recommended and a great addition to the hotel.

We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear SWChin:

Thank you for your kind comments.

We have conveyed your comments to Sharole and Sugu. They are delighted to know that they have been mentioned so kindly in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUCKLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Rasa Sayang is one of the friendliest hotel's we have ever stayed in. Everything about it is superb From the food, to the serving staff, who treat you like a personal friend. We didn't take many trips, just the Tour of Georgetown, our driver and guide was Paul, who was a mine of information, a lovely young man. We took the courtesy bus into town a few times, a really good service. In the main we just had a totally relaxed holiday. Reading, swimming ,eating and relaxing by the pool or on the beach. We came home regenerated ready for anything. Jean Harter .

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A\C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great. All staff are extremely friendly, the facilities are adequate, the food is delicious and rooms are superb. Location right outside the start of the night market so perfect to walk off the extra weight and get a bargain at the same time.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Garden suite on the 7th floor. The living room was enormous for just 3 of us and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

rasa sayang is probably my favourite penang hotel, beautiful. good service. food is ok, but seems to lack the refinement i would expect from a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Penang_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Absolutely amazing holiday. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and staff are very hospitable.
The food was fresh and there was no shortage on the quality. The jacuzzi on the balcony was very relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Salim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

So the Rasa Sayang is a bit of a family favourite since childhood. 30 years on as an adult i go back on my own coin with some friends and had a fabulous time. I have to admit the Rasa Wing and Garden wing could probably do with a sprucing up.. but the service was impeccable., The dining options also amazing. Paying up for the "adult" wing of the hotel was truly worth it and staff attention to detail was a step above. My friend suffers from gluten intolerance and at no point during our meals did they forget this or offer an alternative. That is unheard of...
Great trip thank you..
oh say hi to Kev, Michelle and their spawn - the harmless monitor lizards in the bushes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livlumatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing