We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis in the new wing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Planned a long weekend in Penang to explore the island, but found ourselves unwilling to leave the hotel! The Rasa Wing provides a unique environment separate to the main hotel that is quieter, less busy and with fewer kids. Spa is easily up to the standards usually found in resorts like Bali. Staff very helpful. For those wanting to explore Georgetown, the hotel is at least a 30-45 min drive (depending on traffic), so not the best place if you are planning daily trips there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T1ggerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 3,583 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on the 2nd of Feb 2013 after spending 4 nights in the Shangri-La in Kuala Lumpur, which was a fantastic hotel (so expected the same standard)!!
We had booked a deluxe room in the garden wing (Penang) our first room smelt of damp and smoke, the carpets where stained, the furniture was tired and dated, so we complained. We were offered to upgrade for £500 a week to the Rasa Wing (the Wing which they have updated) which we could not afford and didn't this we should have to, as we paid for 5 star accommodation and that's what we expected. They moved us to a different room still on the garden wing. It was cleaner and had a lovely sea view but was basically the same dated room again, with stained carpets, dust and mould on air con vents, dust on curtains and ceiling lights and the balcony had not been cleaned in a while. The whole wing was in need of complete re vamp and the duty manager told us that they had done up the Rasa wing and expected to do the garden wing in the near future but this was of little help to us.
Also to the right of the garden wing is a vehicle repair yard and all you here is knocking, banging, welding and barking dogs for most of the day.
The beach is lovely but you can't go in the sea due to jelly fish and you have to catch a boat to monkey island if you want to swim in the sea. (which isn't in the brochure)!!
On the plus side the food is excellent and the staff were great and nothing was to much trouble. Nice sized pool with a bar at on end but we are still waiting from the manager to reply to the letter we left her when we checked out. This was disappointing, as this holiday was a present for my Wife's 50th and will be remembered for the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: pick a room in the raza wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
 

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us.
We are glad to note that our service level, Pinang Bar amenities, generous food portions and attentive staff have met your expectations.

Please be informed that the warning signboard on jellyfish was placed to advise guests on the risks posed should they decide to swim in the sea. The jellyfish population rises and falls according to the season and changes to the water temperature. On the other hand, guests are granted access to the Garden Wing swimming pools and sun lounges for a relaxing day out in the sun.

We are concerned to learn about the state of the room that you had described. The comfort of our guests is a priority. Therefore, the resort has a team of trained housekeeping staff entrusted with the task of cleaning all rooms.

Please contact the Communications Department at +604-888 8888 or e-mail us at rsr@shangri-la.com with more details so that we can mount an internal probe on your grievances concerning the state of the room that you had stayed in and any other issues that you wish to highlight.

Your feedback is appreciated and despite some of the setbacks encountered, we hope that you had an enjoyable time while exploring Penang and will consider returning at some point in future.


Yours sincerely,

Elaine Yue, General Manager
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Batu Feringgi Beach, 11100 Penang, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a deluxe garden wing room booked for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and can happily say that we had an amazing holiday. Arrived at the hotel around 2ish in the afternoon and were checked in and upgraded to the rasa wing which we were vey grateful for. From the moment we arrived till the very last minute where the concierge got us a taxi, all staff were kind, attentive and provided exceptional service.
Room was brilliant and very spacious and only minutes to the beach. Water and fruits replenished daily with a news paper left at the door.
Food in the hotel is excellent with a great choice at breakfast. Afternoon tea and evening cocktails served at the rasa lounge were really good, the cakes, scones and canapés were of really good quality. We never had dinner at the hotel and chose to eat at local hawker stalls, but can only imagine it would be really good at the restaurants in house.
The pool for the rasa wing guests and the attached jacuzzi were so relaxing and the service from the pool staff is also excellent. Fresh fruit served during the day whilst at the pool, and soft drinks including tea and coffee are complimentary for rasa wing guests.
Complimentary Internet access is available in the lounge, but free wifi is available throughout the resort.
The beach is beautiful but not suitable for swimming. Loads of choices available if you want a massage either by the beach or outside the resort, just turn right when you come out of the resort. Very reasonable prices. We did try the Chi spa, which is the in house Spa, well all we could say is that it was the best spa experience we've ever had. Excellent service.
Overall, this is an amazing 5 star beach resort where the staff cannot just do enough. Food is of exceptional quality and the gardens and the surrounding areas are just beautiful.
Just outside the resort are some night stalls and fantastic local food, so the location is also excellent. Although we haven't stayed in any other hotels in the Batu Feringhi strip, if we were to return to Penang one day, we will look no further.
N&N

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Rasa Wing rooms, well worth the money in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NadandNil1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay just before Chinese New Year. So the hotel,was not vey full. We enjoyed our stay very much. The seaview rooms are clean and roomey. We tend enjoy any hotel with a turndown service! The pool is nice, enough space for sun and shade lovers. The pool bar is fine, the happy hour drinks menu is limited. The best feature for the hotel is the breakfast. A very good mix between asian and western breakfast food. The gym was well equiped, and has nice chilled
towels for your forehead after exercise. The staff is very friendly and forthcoming:the Malysian way!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank neiplerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for a week over Chinese New Year period and left on Valentines Day.The holiday was part of a 17 day tour and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel as being THE place to stay on Penang Island.Georgetown would have been wonderful 30 years ago but it has now burst at the seams and is full of high rise apartments offices and commerce.The old colonial quarter around the Oriental & Colonial Hotel remain relatively unspoiled.The traffic now is a nightmare as the old criss cross roads fail to cope with modern traffic requirements.The hotel has several free buses every day into Georgetown and is situated in the NW of the island about 30 mins drive(60 sometimes) away.We stayed in the garden wing and had a lovely king size room overlooking the lush tropical garden and pools.We had read reports that the Rasa wing was the only place to be but in the Garden Wing we never had any concerns from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.The facilities were fantastic and we could use them all with the exception of the Rasa Wing pool.There is plenty to keep you occupied and a night market every night.Children are well catered for also. I would give the hotel 5 stars for everything but especially the fine staff who went out of their way to make everything special. They have been well trained.No disappointments to report!

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden rooms still have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tismike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just spent 7 nights in a garden wing room which overlooked the swimming pool, room is good size with large bathroom. Other reviews state rooms require upgrade but we find our room to be in a very good state and kept in great condition by Jitu our room attendant. We were on the 4th floor and agree with other reviews higher rooms would give better views and sun on the balcony in the afternoon.
The hotel grounds/gardens are kept in good condition, very clean and tidy. The resort was very busy due to Chinese New Year but sun beds were always available, the pool staff were always friendly and helpful.
The resort is located at the end of the beach so was quiet, apart from the odd people parasailing !! We found really good restaurant/cafes along the beach for lunch, just be careful of the landings of the parasailing's.
We had breakfast at the Spice restaurant which had a good choice of food and helpful staff and we also eat at the Pinang pool bar/restaurant for lunch again good food and service. Yes prices are higher for food and drink but this is the norm when staying at this kind of resort.
The hotel offers a free bus service into Georgetown 3/4 times a day and arranged for us to use the bue when we moved onto the Traders in Georgetown.
The hotel has a par 3 nine hole golf course ( £4 a round ) which was fun. The local bars and restaurants are within a 10 min walk from the hotel with a really good hawker stall area in the centre, which served great food at really good prices.
If I was to return to Penang I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to all, just don't book during Chinese New Year if you want a quite time!!

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view and afternoon sun on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigertoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just had spent 3 nights at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa. I stayed there because of many positive reviews and photos taken by reviewers in Tripadvisor.

I stayed in Rasa Deluxe Room. I could enjoy the Garden Wing Pool view at the balcony, but couldn't see the ocean because there were tall trees. The room was nice, reasonable size, equipped with comfortable & oversized king bed, seperate shower & bath tub, L'Occitane products, Grohe shower system, 40 inches LCD TV and WIFI.

Being a Rasa Wing guest, I could use the exclusive Rasa Wing Pool (adult pool) with complimentary poolside soft drinks, enjoy complimentary breakfast at both Feringgi Grill or Spice Market daily, free high tea and evening cocktail at Rasa Lounge.

Most, but not all, of staff were helpful, attentive and effiecient. I was satisfied by their service. I would like to mention the staff at poolside helped me to find a sun bed. It was really helpful, especially when the pool was very busy.

Besides the complimentary buffet breakfast, I tried the buffet dinner at Spice Market. The price was reasonable(RM130/person). There were plenty of choices and taste was good.

There were lots of different kind of machines in the gym. There was sauna, steam and jacuzzi in the changing room of health club. I can't comment on the spa because I didn't try it.

Overall, I would like to say Shangri-La maintains the property well in the case that I think this hotel has been operated for around 40 years. However, I wish they will renovate the changing room in the shortly future.

Room Tip: It's worth to pay more for staying in Rasa Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpaAddictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
3,810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $156 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing