We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay. We were travelling as a family (2 adults + 1 x11 yr old boy). As communicated in other reviews on this property - the rooms are a little on the dated side and in need of a refurb. However, they are quite large (1 King bed and 1 King single in our case). The bathroom is also quite large - so this more than made up for the dated decor. To be honest - we were only in the room to sleep or get changed so no biggy.

Staff were absolutely fabulous. Very friendly and courteous and nothing too much trouble.

Pool area was lovely and never really seemed busy. People seem to come and go all day.

Guests were a mixture of families with young children to middle aged people - and all nationalities - quite a mix.

Breakfast buffet was the usual fare - the Indian banana roti is the best way to start your day!!!

We dined at the international buffet on 2 ocasions - mainly because we were tired and it was easy with a child. We also ate at the Pool restaurant and enjoyed some fine curries whilst our son ate his usual western style fare.

We ventured to the Hawker restaurant stalls on several ocasions - dirt cheap and quite good on the whole.

Night markets didn't impress me - felt like I was in a huge $2 shop!!!! I felt the copies were poor quality.

My recommendation for shopping malls is Gurney Mall and there are also some have decent eateries there. Nice to walk along the sea promenade after dinner.

A walk around Georgetown is a must - beautiful architecture.

All in all - an enjoyable stay at the Shangri La Rasa Sayang Resort at Batu Feringhi.

Couple of tips - book a people mover taxi (that way you won't be forced to take 2 taxis to/from the airport),

Room Tip: We had a corner room on a high floor - seemed to have extra space (1601)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SydneyGlobalShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,387
    696
    205
    65
    46
See reviews for
1,118
1,582
93
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
}���S��
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Chose a Garden Wing Studio as it is a good size (66 square metres) with dining area and double aspect balcony. Very pleased with the room. Staff as you would expect at a Shangri-La very friendly. Pool bar was good with views over the sea. Tried all the restaurants and not disappointed. Not usually a "buffet" fan but the Spice restaurant had plenty of choice. Now if we could get the same size studio/suite at the same price in the Rasa wing (to get use of adults only pool) that would be great!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TomandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Grande Dame of Batu Feringgi has aged gracefully. I have been a guest since it opened! It is to the Golden Sands so you can charge your F&B expenses to your account at Rasa Sayang - which makes both the dominant hotels at Batu Feringgi.

The original wings of Rasa Sayang are maintained. However the rooms, F&B and public areas have all be revised over the years to be contemporary and top quality. I occupied a room at the Garden Wing. It was typical Shangri-la with the bonus of a balcony with a view of a beautiful large tree and the Garden Wing's swimming pool. Wifi was of acceptable speed and complimentary - in the room and throughout the hotel.

Buffet breakfast is available in the Spice Market. The variety and quality are excellent!

The hotel has large grounds along a stretch of beach. There is enough space to be away from the families if one chooses

The meeting room facilities were top notch and recommended.

The staff are all friendly

The only problem which I faced was the very very slow delivery of food at the Pinang Bar, the cafe' located by the pool at the Garden Wing. Either they had too few chefs, or the chefs were working slowly. The outlet was certainly not full. It was a very below par experience and spoilt everyone's dinner. The manager made a feeble effort to justify the delay but gave up which was just as well as there was no way he could justify the delays

Aside from that poor experience, I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I haven't stayed at resorts much, prefering boutique hotels and uniquer experiences. However, I was holidaying with my cousin's family and their friends, all with kids, and they chose Rasa Sayang for the convenience of having all amenities in one spot. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the Rasa Wing as they were staying there.
As a single traveller I wouldn't really recommend it though. The room was lovely and the grounds well kept; afternoon tea (complimentary for Rasa guests) was welcome but I personally found the location a little isolated, meaning most meals were bought at the hotel's restaurants (buffet every day is not cheap!). We did visit the hawker market around the corner which was good.
After a few nights I moved to Georgetown, which had been my original plan anyway.

In summary - great for families and if you prefer staying within the resort most of the time.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ophir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Garden Wing for one night. The experience was good overall. Service was good and the staff never failed to acknowledge guests in public areas with a genuine smile and greeting. The interior of the lobby, however, seemed a little outdated and lack-luster for the standard of a five-star hotel. Big RAVE for the breakfast buffet - excellent in variety/spread with both local delights and international fare; good ambience; wonderful unhurried and relaxing pace. WiFi worked great and fast both within the room and in public area. We were sad to find that the long time tree house has been relocated. That used to be our highlight for many years.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool in the Garden Wing. We find that higher floors would be quieter and offerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konamoose70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne AU
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked a suite in the Garden Wing. Having an infant son we didn't see the point of booking in the Rassa Wing because access for children was very limited there. We booked one of the top suites in the Garden Wing but it was very disappointing. We were only there one hour before deciding to upgrade ourselves. The Rassa Wing was fully booked but the top suite, the Penang Suite was available and we took it. It was wonderful. Big rooms (yes plural), large dining table and big terrace with sweeping views over the resort and ocean. Jason the duty manager took good care of us during our stay.

The food at the Spice Market was very good. The Ferrenggi Grill was even better. The Penang Bar was great for a casual dinner or poolside snack. But dont limit yourself to the resort. There are many great options literally on the doorstep, just a few minutes walk from the resort lobby.

Room Tip: Next time we will probablybook in the Rassa Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwerdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The whole experience was fantastic staff ,surroundings we have stayed ar The Shagri La's before and all of the hotels are first rate. You will not be dissapointed
The rooms are clean and large with the usual huge bed writing desk fridge etc etc We overlooked the quiet garden in which you could relax and read your book Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorkinbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,331 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing