We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was there on November 30, 2012 for two nights. Quite an impressive room with a large TV, writing table fully equipped with stationery, sofa and a fruit basket! How thoughtful as I check in late and had not had my dinner yet! The room had two single beds and well furnished to even the minor detail. A well equipped attached bathroom with almost every thing you need.

Room Tip: I reckon the higher priced room type is even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wjchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,426 - 2,432 of 3,482 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

After having stayed in Shangri La Kuala Lumpur and Jakarta before, I was expecting the usual immaculate service which I had experience before, but I was a bit disappointed this time around.
This was a family vacation and I managed to book a family room for around MYR 1K per night. It turned out to be 2 adjoining rooms with extra beds.
Going back to the service front, The front desk and lobby staff were courteous and fairly efficient. I felt the Spice Garden restaurant staff were not very sensitive to our needs e.g. I had to ask for coffee after having sat for more than half an hour instead of usually asking for our choice of tea and coffee. For the Muslims, the restaurant is not halal certified like its KL and Putrajaya counterpart. The staff assured me that all the meat was from halal certified providers. I cannot help but feel the garden area staff was a bit more attentive to the foreign Caucasian guests than he was to the locals. We ventured accidentally to a pool which was exclusive for the Rasa wing guests (I was told it was more expensive than our Garden wing). Apparently there was no signage stating its exclusivity and was told to leave in a very unrefined way. The exact words used by the lifeguard in Malay was "Tu lagi Tak boleh" (in English translated as "the more reason why you cannot swim here") after informing him of our Garden wing room number. He was prior to that prohibiting the kids from swimming in the adult only pool. I felt a bit disgusted being "chased" away in that manner. Very unShangri La! An exclusivity signage would help to prevent any embarrassment.
The rest of the staff who we bumped into were very helpful and attentive.
The breakfast buffet spread was better than most of the hotels in Malaysia but not to the standard of the other Shangri Las that I have stayed in.
The rooms are clean, spacious and well refurbished. No complaints at all.
The garden is exquisite and very well maintained. The public beach in front of the hotel is great for walks but the water is said to be full of jelly fish
Generally, great facility but the service is not up to the Shangri La standard

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooldoc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days in November - apart from a few hours of rain (minimal disruption) there was very little to criticise. The overall atmosphere was great - peaceful (we are city dwellers in the UK so this is a relative comment!), the staff were charming and very helpful, and the quality of food (and quantity) was very high. The overall resort was not full, but even with plenty of people around, the arrangement of seating, pools and other areas to relax meant that nothing felt rushed or crowded. We stayed in the Rasa wing, so had a relatively peaceful range of options to relax - the Rasa pool, a sea view from our 5th floor balcony, the Rasa wing lounge (free soft drinks/tea/coffee etc). One highlight was the afternoon high tea and evening cocktails/canapes - all included as part of the Rasa Wing package - that became a firm feature of each day (good points to meet other guests if so wished), although we'd add a small warning in the margin to watch out for some of the "special cocktails" that the staff are keen to impress you with - deceptively strong! Most food options centre around the main grill, or the outdoor Penang bar, or the Spice Market Cafe (good quality buffet of international, plus indian plus asian/japanese) - the Spice Market in particular kept the novelty value high. The other option was to investigate some of the many local restaurants 5-10 mins walk from the hotel - we tried a few, but many seemed unsurprisingly "tourist-focused" versus those we'd experienced in Georgetown (hawker centre at Long Beach was good). The rest of the area within short walking distances was OK, but not thrilling (a comment on the immediate region, not on the Shangri-La); more interesting sights are a short (and cheap) cab ride away. Overall a very high quality tropical resort - more than in line with the typical high Shangri La standards; only a couple of rough edges with the buildings themselves (eg: some corridors linking to the rooms) but this is a minor point (and would be sorted by a minor re-fit). And, as a parting impression, its nice to leave a 5* resort after 7 days and only have to pick up a small bill...mostly thanks to the Rasa wing package we booked.

Room Tip: Rasa wing looks decent value considering all the additional extras included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monty_Greenhedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute.The hotel grounds and gardens are amazing and there are plenty of sun beds you can always find one to sit on. We stayed in the garden wing but you can upgrade to the Rasa wing which has its own pool and restaurant . The garden wing was very good and probably you do not need to upgrade unless you want a bigger room. The staff are amazing and helpfull and a big thank you to the staff at the pool bar (Pinang bar) graet happy hours.
The breakfast buffet was superb with every food you could ever want .The same quality and choice for evening meals too.Outside the hotel is a street with restaurants and bars and a night market. There is a Hawker food unit where you can eat for a few pounds if you wish.
The beach is very nice but not many people use it or swim in the sea because there can be jelly fish in the sea.The room was good and I believe they are upgrading these soon to.
Could not fault hotel and would recommend any one to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Food and beverage disappointing for a hotel of this rating not bad just average. They offer peace and tranquility but this is impossible with armies of screaming children running everywhere. Many children seem unsupervised hotel needs to decide if it is a luxury spa or a family hotel. I would not have booked if they had made clear that they were focused on young families. Staff are friendly and try to help but some could be better trained.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends and school holidays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil0akes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here with friends just over a week ago. The hotel is breathtaking, the staff are fabulous and the location is within walking distance to shops, night market, ATM etc.

Buffet breakfast is ridiculously delicious and so is the buffet dinner. Don't miss the activities on the beach (jet skiing etc).

Special mention to Ravi.

We are already planning our trip back again next year.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights in the Rasa Wing and we had a superb time. Everything was just brilliant. The hotel is clean all round and the staff are all wonderful, in particular Chan and Nazri the senior serving staff.
I have difficulty understanding why anyone would complain about service from anyone at this hotel or the other Shangrilas that we have stayed at. The staff do their best and are very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AjoyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,622 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $135 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing