We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back next year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going back next year”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was our first trip to Malaysia and after 3 days shopping in KL we went on to the Golden Sands Resort for a relaxing 10 days, and I'm so glad we did. We were warmly greeted from the moment we stepped off the shuttle bus. We had booked a Deluxe Sea View room and it certainly was. Although they offered us a room on a higher floor (for an extra fee) we decided to stay on the 3rd floor and were more than happy. We had wonderful views of the pool, garden and sea so couldn't ask for more. Our room was well equipped and always kept spotlessly clean and well supplied with fresh linen every day. The TV/DVD system was a bonus as we could try out all those DVD's we bought at the Night Market! We also used the free internet connection without any problems. We also got a daily paper. The pools and grounds were immaculate and there were plenty of loungers to choose from with lots of shade provided by lovely trees. Although sometimes difficult to get drinks service, once we had established ourselves for the day it was no problem and the staff were always very friendly and courteous. Iefa and Sally on the Tour Desk were always helpful and smiling and happy to assist in any way. The resort was quiet during our stay but did get busy on the week-end but the standard of service didn't drop. We found breakfast a delight with lots of choices and really, if you couldn't find anything to eat you must be fussy. We mostly ate out at the Hawkers Market but also tried Olio's, Marios and the Jewel of the North (or Jewel of India) and all were great. The Hawkers Market is certainly an experience, busy every night, and really cheap. The Night Market is also fun, especially if you like bargaining. Overall our stay was extremely enjoyable with only a couple of small negatives:
The pool bar should be re-opened as it would provide more of a focal point and allow people to mingle there during the day (and night) whilst still being able to watch their kids in the pool. Also a good place for music at night and to relax with a drink.
Although there was a pianist in the Lobby Lounge, some nightly entertainment would be good as there was none outside the resort.
The daily activities and movies by the pool should be better advertised, perhaps with a daily newsletter put under the room doors or available in the lobby.
Just a few points, but some things we felt were worth mentioning. Certainly nothing that detracted from our visit and we look forward to returning next year.
Hi to all those we met especially Ray and Deb, Michelle and Rhys.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cowesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    1,156
    449
    172
    111
See reviews for
1,554
894
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Can be improved :
- No porter to greet us at lobby
- broadband does not work in room 6 hrs, wifi @ lobby was great
- waitress at cafe do not understand hotel package offered, poor service, although there is only 3 tables, definitely not Shang class.
- at checking counter, on knowing I am a Circle member, drastic change in attitude

Good :
- room service was very attentive to my child need
- conceirge was able to give good local recommendation

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mambomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel. We make it a point of staying at this hotel every time we return to Penang. This place is awesome, and the staff are lovely, the place is extremely clean and quiet. The pool is just awesome! For anyone who grew up in Penang this was the hotel to go to and it is good to see that some things never change. The breakfast was good, although have to say that after a few days it did get a little on the ho hum side. One thing I will say is that the seafood buffet put on by the hotel restaurant was brilliant, you could not beat the value and quality of food was suburb. This hotel has everything you could want and more, it has the night markets at your door step and cheap beer is only a short walk away. I will add one thing if you have the time go down and visit the staff at Essence they were very lovely and I had the most amazing massage ever. It was reasonably priced and very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I went to Penang after around 4 years so i was generally shocked by the rise in prices of hotels and after quite a bit of survey I took the decision to live at Golden Sands (lobby seemed nice) because it is a 5 star and price was relatively ok as compared to nearby other 5 stars. Well I must say, though I paid RM 563.50 (including breakfast for 2), I really felt that the one night stay gave me a lot of relaxation after the nightmare I had at Tune Hotels ... well I have written a review on that and ofcourse you have to look at price/benefit etc ... ok back to golden sands... the room was really nice, the bed was large and really comfy (comparable to hilton hotel beds), the bathroom was not as furbished as the room, but hey who cares i wanted to spend my time in room. There was a good variety of tea in the tea bar, and the room service was really efficient. i made two requests and both were fulfiled within minutes and with smile. the check in guy was also very nice, who was also at the time of checkout. the location is excellent, right at the night market, so you just stroll on the road side and eating out is no problem. The breakfast had good variety with even fresh juices, but yes one can say that it was a bit too crowded and noisy. Overall I did not regret even once paying for the room and if i go to Penang again, Golden Sands would definitely be on my list. By the way, just want to give my humble opinion that if we can share what we paid for what we got, it would give the readers an idea of what is your cost/benefit ideas.. something cheap for me might be expensive to you and vice versa.. what do you think?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CameronFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I would stay here again, the resort was very relaxing the staff were great very clean . All meals were good and you had a good choice aswell. You had the night market right outside the hotel aswell. Hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TippyGlenroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Hotel was well placed on the beach. Pool and garden area were well maintained and very clean with lots of loungers, chairs and tables. Service around the pool area was excellent and the staff were well mannered and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our hotel room was a little oasis from the heat and humidity outside and was attractive, clean, comfortable and well equipped. We slept really well as the bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and quiet. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet.
Breakfast was a feast! One negative was that the restaurant where breakfast was served was usually a bit too noisy and hectic for our liking. We also ate at the new beachside bistro on one evening and the meal was delicious. Otherwise, we ate out at other restaurants quite near to the hotel. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, particularly for families as there were plenty of childrens activities. However, we travelled as a couple and also enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshireblonde99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Golden Sands Resort is located along the stretch of beach in Batu Feringgi, Penang. The distance to the airport would be approximately 25 - 30 minutes. This is definitely an ideal location for people who enjoy beach activities and there's also an Adventure Zone (which I believe children would enjoy).
This place becomes alive at night when the stalls open and you can see them selling all sorts of souvenirs. It's not difficult to get food around this area. If you enjoy Fine Dining, Feringgi Garden is a blocks away from Golden Sands. Casual dining experience, there's the local Sigi's Bar & Grill located in Golden Sands itself. And of course, for fast food experience, there is KFC located across the road. You can also see a few of the food courts with local food entrees.
The hotel staff are friendly folks. They show their dedication too. Overall I had an excellent experience in Golden Sands, even if it's only 1 day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mychng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,441 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Property: Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing