We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,549)
Filter reviews
3,549 results
Traveler rating
1,381
1,304
519
200
145
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
1,304
519
200
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adventure zone golden sands garden cafe night market golden circle member pool area sea facing room kids club family resort life guards indoor playground rasa sayang water sports george town hillview room higher floor gurney plaza
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 3,549 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

Other than the room amenities (sorry for deducting one star for this reason) that need improvement, my kids (7.5 yr and 3 yr), my husband and me just love and enjoyed the whole stay given the reasonable pricing of the resort and it’s perfect location close by food outlets and night food market all in walking distance. The staff are super friendly and very kind to all the guests, very attentive and considerate. Will be back for sure! But will also want to try the higher end Shangri-La in the next door if I opt for better room amenities. Thanks for the warm service of the hotel!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank chjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Golden Sands Resort! It brings great joy reading how enjoyable your recent stay with us was. Here at the resort, we are blessed with a great team complimented by a beautiful property. We are continuously improving for better guest experience and we appreciate your feedback. Our entire team look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

We have just got back from 2 weeks in a executive room which was sea facing. The view was Amazing and kept super clean and kept updated with lots of water and fresh towels.
The breakfast was vast with lots of variety, I tended to pick one thing each day and not pig out piling my plate up like I'm never going to be fed again......
The lifeguards do a great job, and keep everyone safe, especially with so many young ones wondering about.

My only real problem with this hotel was the staff. Although they do a great officiant job, you get what you need, but there is no repour as we've had with staff at hotels in the past.
The breakfast staff look so miserable, the pool bar staff looked stress and stretched. The only staff we found who smiled all the time was the young cool lifeguard. Mr smiles in the conservatory bit of the breakfast area, the pool side attendant. And our maid.

I just think a few more smiles, more recognition and hi there's would go along way.

And just a thought, why isn't the Sigi restaurant not open at breakfast? Even if you opened it to executive guests it would ease the strain from the main buffet.

Would I recommend this hotel....yes I would to family's as it has excellent facilities but we stayed too long and was ready to come home.

Also beach is just ok...nice to have a walk on...but too many jelly fish to go for a swim.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank butchNottsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear butchNottsUk,

Warmest greeting and thank you for staying with us during your recent getaway in Penang. We are deeply concerned on the issues you have shared. The team aims to create a memorable experience for all our guests and I regret we did not meet your expectations on this occasion due to various reasons. We have taken note on your feedback and we will address it accordingly with the Team to ensure that it is rectified immediately. Once again, thank you for highlighting it to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We had superior room which was very comfortable and was kept very clean.
Huge bed very accommodating. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice between European and Malay cuisine.
Lovely lounge bar area and great service from Jalita and the others.
Also right in the area for the night market and The Long Beach hawker stalls where the food was just great and so cheap.

Room Tip: Best to have sea view rooms. Street rooms get the benefit of the Mosque call tp prayers at 5a.m.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Michael R,

We are delighted to read the positive comment from you and glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our valued guests and to be allowed the opportunity to be a part of your holiday at our resort. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful Golden Sands Resort experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor and we certainly look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - they will go out of their way to help you. The rooms are spacious and clean, if a little dated in their decor, but they have everything you need. The resort is family friendly and as a result the pool side can be a little noisy, but designated adult areas in the pool mean you can still get your peace and quiet! The breakfast is extensive and tasty, too, so with that included in the price you can definitely get your money’s worth!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Suzie L,

Thank you for staying at Golden Sands Resort! We are delighted to receive your compliments and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Adding on, your kind comments will certainly be shared with the team. It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

This is our third visit to the Golden Sands within 5 years. Despite its relatively small size, this hotel is always very kids friendly, with addition of splash zone. Kids eat for free for most of the buffet offers.

Staff are helpful and friendly as usual. Lifeguards are vigilent in the pool area, making it very safe.

As the Garden Cafe got extended, the breakfast buffet get even more crowded, which does not make you start the day in a relax mode.

For dining, this resort is well located with lots of eateries nearby... as always food is not an issue in Penang!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank ValentindeHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear ValentindeHK,

Welcome back! Thank you for your loyalty and thank you for sharing this beautiful feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Golden Sands Resort. Indeed, the strategic location and facilities of the resort makes it an ideal place to stay for family vacation getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of hospitality again in the future.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews