We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

It's my final night here & already I've recommended this wonderful resort to the rest of my families & friends who wish to visit Penang in future. Of course, there are both the good qualities & some downsides but for a 4-star rated stay, we couldn't ask for more! Best feature of this place is the perfect location; food is an easy find & the night market is practically right at your doorstep! Crossing the busy street with a stroller was a bit of a pain but having shops so nearby is really an asset especially for emergency cases like running out of diapers! & the beach is just a 5min walk from the lovely pools; you might want to consider coming here during non-peak periods as pools could get a bit a crowded but we still get to enjoy a swim without a fuss! We are also extremely thankful for free wifi & the high reception in the room.

A bit of a a downside is that the room is not carpeted nor are there rugs as floors can get extremely cold (not a plus sign for crawling babies) but the housekeeping guy was very kind enough to provide us with beach slippers (no room slippers) when we requested them. & our room was also promptly cleaned & maintained during our stay too.

Really wish to highlight that the staff attended to us were really friendly & will respond to requests with a genuine smile & caring attitude; keep that up! :) we took the shuttle bus provided by the resort to Georgetown; that was a blessing especially if you come w/o your own transport. Wishing our stay is longer though haha.. Can't wait for our next stay here!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KittyExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear KittyExplorers

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Sands Resort.

We have read about your comments regarding our floors. Our housekeeping will more than happy to provide a carpet in your room upon request.

We are very pleased that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and that you would come back. Till then we look forward to welcoming you back again to Golden Sands Resort.

Best regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    1,165
    455
    172
    113
See reviews for
1,570
899
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

room provided is big and the request were attended by the director of rooms. lot of variety of food in the buffet breakfast, near to the beach but be aware of the jellyfish, friendly staff & free wifi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are working closely with the state authorities to monitor the local jellyfish population. Signs are placed along the beach to ensure that our guests are aware and take precautions when swimming in the sea.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Golden Sands Resort.

Best regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

It is difficult to rate this hotel as there is some good points however some areas that need improving. We stayed here on our way back to the UK from Australia with a 5 month old baby. The staff at checking was very good and the room was looking a little dated although clean and comfortable.

The location in Penang is good, at the start of the night markets and opposite mcdonalds and a garage minimart. The pool area is good with 2 x large pools including children's play area and lots of deck chairs, parasols around tables so you will not have a problem getting one.

My problem is with the restaurant staff who are not very welcoming and very slow. I would suggest to try some of the local restaurants and avoid in house restaurants as you will not get the service.

Also the rasa hotel which is next door is amazing much better standard, if you can get a deal which is not much more than the golden sands then book this place.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear mkilroy:

Thank you for your candid review of our resort on Tripadvisor. We will seriously look into your comments with regards to the level of service at our restaurant.

The opinion of our guests is very important to us as they help us to improve our hotel and its services.

We hope that you will find an overall improvement in terms of service at our restaurants the next time you visit. We look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We faced a little problem while checking in due to agoda's fault. And after complained, they agree to change a room for us or else we will be sleeping on a combined single matress (claimed as king size) put on top of a wooden made bed rack!

I was very surprised as there is no safety box provide in your room. You may deposits your stuffs with the frontdesk. Weird.

The Sigi's bar staff is nice & friendly. Breakfast at the garden cafe is fantastic. Garden hang out is great as they also have swing bed hanging between the trees. Fantastic seaview & water sports. Car park is really limited. Afterall, it depends on how you balance it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Victoria W,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We read with surprised that that there is no in-room locker in your room. All our guestrooms are equipped with in-room locker located in the closet. Alternatively you can keep your valuables in the complimentary safe deposit box service at the Front Desk.

We are pleased that your stay was a very pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Golden Sands Resort very soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel location is perfect - Beachfront and close to markets and foodcourts. Hotel staff are helpful and rooms spacious and well maintained. Restaurant and food options are numerous and pool / bar areas are a great spot to chill out for a while. Take a book, grab a drink and if energetic walk the 50 meteres to the surf.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear KittyExplorers

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Sands Resort.

We have read about your comments regarding our floors. Our housekeeping will more than happy to provide a carpet in your room upon request.

We are very pleased that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and that you would come back. Till then we look forward to welcoming you back again to Golden Sands Resort.

Best regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Penang was our second last destination on a three week holiday around India and Malaysia. Originally I had thought about going to Langkawi, but after some research decided Penang was the ticket. It was also the pull of going somewhere I had heard about for many years - Penang used to be quite the holiday destination for aussies in the 70's and 80's. Anyway Batu Feringgi was our area of choice and we loved it.

We arrived on a dreary wet day, but that was pretty much the end of the bad weather for the next five nights. I had been tossing up between here and the Park Royal and am glad I chose here (we did go the PR for drinks twice and it was okay, but nowhere near as lovely as the Golden Sands). We had a hill view room and as others have mentioned - you don't really view a hill as such, more just look over the main road but that was fine - we only slept in the room anyway.

The room itself was large and roomy, very comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. We were only on the second floor and down the end nearest the mosque - and yes we did hear the call to prayer a couple of times, but it certainly never woke me up at all. The bed was Shangri-La comfortable, the a/c worked perfectly and the water was always hot and plentiful, and the wi-fi was fast and reliable. All the things that are important to us when we travel.

The resort itself was fabulous - huge and well laid out. We arrived on a Friday and it was a very very busy weekend with the place to full capacity, also there was a large conference going on - we found it a little noisy by the pools and breakfast was a nightmare for our first two days. But come Sunday lunchtime the weekend crowd had left and we had a lovely peaceful resort for our next three days.

Breakfast was really good with a huge selection on offer - although as I said the first two mornings were dreadfully busy and not at all relaxing. The gardens and pool are are excellent - with two to three large pools on offer. We stuck with the pool that didn't have any shallow area, which meant the kids weren't in there splashing around (I am turning into a grumpy old woman when it comes to OPK's - other people's kids - I have to admit). There were loads and loads of pool chairs on offer and we never struggled to find a couple. There was also plenty of choice of sunny or shady spots and again we always managed to find a table with an umbrella to camp beside for our day. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel at all, but had lunch by the pool most days and found it great - again a good choice on the menu, promptly delivered and delicious.

The beach itself was quite clean and pretty, but the water quality in the ocean was not great (which we already knew would be the case) and we saw a few people get stung by jelly fish. But the pool area was so amazing you didn't need the ocean anyway - but if you are a sea person (which I usually am, but had been spoilt in Goa the week prior) then don't pick Penang as your destination.

We also made good use of the Raysa Sayang next door (the 5* Shangri-La sister resort) enjoying cocktails on their lovely beach deck each evening. The bonus was that we could charge back to our own resort, very convenient. Some people have mentioned that if you are staying at GS you can use all the RS facilities, but this isn't the case. You aren't allowed to use their pool/grounds so keep that in mind. I do have to say that on my next visit I will likely pay the bit extra to stay at the Raysa Sayang as it was just that little bit more peaceful and relaxed (yes, read not so many OPK's).

But the true highlight of my trip was Mr Foo and his amazing massages. I had read about him on the forums and sought him out my first day and had an hour with him every day I was there. He is right in front of the hotel on the beach as you head towards Raysa Sayang and after 30 years of being massaged, I can unequivocally say he is the best massage I have ever had.

So all in all - a great resort, everything we like and more, friendly service and just lovely. This was my first Shangri-La experience, but won't be the last - I have become a dedicated fan of the group (and indeed stayed at the SL in KL on our way home).

Room Tip: There is a lot of debate on seaview vs hill view - if you aren't planning to hang in the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Melisa L,

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you are a loyal supporter of the Shangri-La brand.

We read with concern about your crowded breakfast and crowded pool experience and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to also experience the resort during more serene times.

We take every precaution to warn our in-house guests of the jellyfish population in the local waters. We are working closely with the local authorities in order to monitor the jelly fish population in the area. Signs have been placed along the beach to ensure our guests fully understand the jellyfish situation.

We thank you once again for your very practical and objective review. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay Golden Sands Resort or at our sister properties Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa next door.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Northants
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We returned once again after a year away to find that the hotel and staff are still as friendly and welcoming as they have been in the past. To be greeted at least with a friendly smile wherever you are in the hotel by all members of staff (including management) goes a long way toward getting you into the holiday mood. We are looking forward to our n

Room Tip: Sea View rooms 3rd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Property: Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing