We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great position,breakfast buffet was excellent with every nationality being catered for.We ate an evening meal there on just one occasion due to the multitude of restaurants nearby and also in Gurney it was BBQ with whole lamb done on a spit it was magnificant.If you get the chance also visit Bali Hi in Gurney the best fish restaurant around. My only complaint is that the bedrooms are getting very tired and require a good revamp.The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Public Relations Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear gd330,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

We have highlighted your comments regarding our rooms to our management. We hope that you can share more of your specific room comments with us via our e-mail at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com.

I am sure that with our ongoing maintenance programme, you will find our rooms improved during your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Golden Sands Resort someday soon.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    1,140
    439
    165
    106
See reviews for
1,501
871
54
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel over the last 15 years and seen its ups and downs! The last time I was here about 3 years ago I felt quite sad as I thought it was quite run down so I stayed at the Rasa Sayang which is next door the following year. But this year - wow! What an improvement! Why pay Rasa prices when you can stay here :) the dining room is airy and welcoming and the refurbished bedrooms are lovely - though not all the bathrooms are done yet as ours has a bit of an old bath with a shower over. The beds are truly world class! The housekeeping of rooms is very good - a couple of cobwebs in our room but otherwise great. One thing that keeps everyone going back is the friendliness of the staff - they truly seem to enjoy working here and they are warm, friendly and helpful - cant fault them at all. Breakfast is excellent with huge choice - try the beef rendang!

Room Tip: Floors 1-3 are non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Public Relations Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear blueandfluffy,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We have highlighted your comments regarding the condition of rooms and bathrooms. Our Engineering team runs an ongoing rotating maintenance programme. Our Housekeeping team have also been reminded to ensure that all rooms are in pristine condition at all times.

Therefore, we hope that your next stay with us will be a better one. We look forward to your return to Golden Sands very soon.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is awesome for families, we had an awesome view over the ocean & pool area & highly reccommend these rooms for any traveller.

Staff are very interactive & this includes the general manger who i noticed walking around on constant basis introducing himself with guests, from my hotel experience this is the old school hospitality service & unfortunately don't really see anymore.

Breakfast was ok, unfortunately coming from western culture, indian/malaysian curries weren't my choice for breakfast especially the bacon being cured jerkey style.

Pool area & F&B service was fantastic, little over price but that's hotels for you considering you can eat at the hawker street markets for $12 AUD which covered two adults & a four year old.
Be mindful of the outside hotel operaters as they dont leave you alone when your trying to merely walk past & enjoy the scenery & they keep following you.

For the kids there is a great activities centre next to the property & for a small fee it's pricelist watching your child have a grin from to ear to ear & makes us big kids have fun also on the big slides.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GThurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Always coming back to Penang for years now, we stay at the Golden Sands and never being disappointed. The garden landscape with pools are ideal for families and kids. Hotel room (sea view) are modern and good. The staff is friendly and always helpful if needed. Big breakfast buffet is a good start into the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A delightful hotel, with a great ambience and facilities, as well as daily programs to enjoy if you wish. The buffet breakfast left nothing to the imagination, the food was good and plentiful, with a great variety of food from many different cultures.
The accommodation was comfortable and serviced well. The added facility of internet in rooms was greatly appreciated.
The reception desk was only very willing to help in all circumstances and problems.
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Any room is comfortable with a view , but the ocean view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palkirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We travelled here on the 27th March after a few nights in KL we stayed 10 nights altogether. We arrived early afternoon check in was quite smooth and I wasn't sure if we had booked a room with a balcony, after going to our room we found out that we hadn't so asked to be upgraded, they couldn't change us due to easter holidays as they were fully booked but could a few days later but at a cost to ourselves, we agreed to this. The room was clean and comfortaable we were on the 7th floor but early morning at about 6 am I was woken up by the calls to prayer it was like they were in the same room so be carefull if you are a light sleeper hubby slept through it. We went to reception and asked to be moved which we were the next night to another room. After 2 nights in this room we moved again to our room with a balcony and I wasn't disappointed the view was amazing which overlooked the pool and out to sea :)Breakfast was plentiful loads of choice and little waiting time to be served. We ate at the hotel a couple of times in the evening the food was wonderfull. We did 3 trips through tour and incentive Penang Hill and Temple we thoroughly enjoyed this trip but if you scared of heights it may not be for you but the views are fantastic when you get to the top. Penang Island discovery tour also well worth doing and the Penang city tour which was our least favourite. We also went into GeorgeTown via the hotel bus we went on a Rikshaw for 3 hours in the sweltering heat being taken around by a very old man but it was amazing and well worth the 120 ringits. We ate at Longbeach, ferenghi garden and in the restaurant opposite the hotel on the second floor amazing all you can eat buffet the lady aslo does your laundry very well worth it. We had all our clothes washed and ironed before we came home. Would we go back to this hotel most definately.

Room Tip: Be careful which rooms you book opt for a sea/pool view you shouldn't get woke up either
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St1ffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went to this hotel as my sister had booked a ceremony for her wedding, the hotel tries to rip you off with the transfer so do not do this, an airport taxi costs just 69MYR.
The rooms- though they look quite modern they are actually quite old, things were not working, the bathroom leaks the sink was blocked( this was fixed within 1 hour of letting them know) there are only a few English tv channels showing repeats of the same thing. Pretty straight forward roomwise.

The pool was a nice free form pool though very warm it was sometimes as hot as bath water so you're better or running under the showers to cool off rather than the pool. There is a separate kids pool which is great.

Kids club- my two nieces used the kids club and loved it they were well taken care of and plenty of activities to keep the kids entertained while you do your own thing.

Restaurant- nice spread for the Buffett breakfast, had all the things you would expect for a hotel... Cereals, fruit, juices, smoothies, Asian food, western food, egg counter, fresh dim sum, fresh noodles, pancakes, waffles etc...

For a Shangri-la or any hotel of that matter I expected my sister and husband to have gotten an immediate upgrade upon arrival however this was not so, there was no fruit basket or complimentary champagne for them and they brought in a LOT of business for the hotel. I expected better. They were given an 'upgrade' to a sea view room 4 days into the trip. This was silly as after 4 days you have to repack and move rooms, for there to only be a disabled shower no bathtub and still no fruit basket, champagne or congratulations card. Nothing, it's like they didn't care she brought in another 15 people to stay at the hotel and booked a wedding ceremony package which included open bar and BBQ buffet dinner.

I don't think I would ever stay at this or even my Shangri la ever again if I was to have a special occasion and they do not give a damn and as a hotel guest I want to feel a little bit special.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, choose the hard rock or somewhere new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainless69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Public Relations Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. We are concerned about the service and quality issues you have highlighted.

We have also received your feedback online and your contact details. We will investigate the matters addressed with care and revert to you in a timely manner.

Necessary measures will be taken to improve and ensure that such incidents will not happen again. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in future so that you can we can deliver hospitality that is above and beyond your expectations to make up for this occasion.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Property: Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing