We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Sands consistently great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Have recently visited Golden Sands at Batu Ferringhi yet again and find that it is refreshingly consistently great. Have been going to hotel with family, now teenagers a number of times over 10 years and we all always have a very enjoyable holiday. Great hotel on beach and lots of interesting places to eat all within walking distance in evenings. Also great activities for all ages, have taken grand parents and everybody enjoys the place. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are good, but really all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck5208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,282 - 2,288 of 3,353 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Special thanks to the front desk and housekeeping staff. At the airport I found that I had forgotten to bring my iPad. I called the hotel and the iPad was immediately located. Good customer service and integrity.

As far as the hotel is concerned, centrally located in Ferringgi and with wide beachfront, which is a must for a holiday gateway. The pools are very nice and my daughter loves the baby pool with shaded. We tried the buffet dinner. Extensive selection of local and western dishes at very rwasonable price. Adventure zone is a bit pricey but my daughter doesnt want to leave. Honestly the slides scares me and some of them are vertually vertical and you feel like falling from height. Night market (like walking street) is at the doorstep, though it is not the best I have ever seen. Rasa Sanyang looks grand but more for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Let's face it, it's only a room. You don't travel thousands of miles to stay in your room do you?
But it would be nice on arrival that you weren't met by a high pressure salesperson trying to sell you up to a more expensive room, wouldn't it?
When we finally got to room we found it to be the most dismal of rooms with decor out of the 80's, no iron or ironing board, no separate shower, hard bed,hard pillows - faded elegance it wasn't. Still it's only a room isn't it ?
The staff were fantastic, always laughing and happy. Somehow I felt the joke was on us because there was very little service coming our way. They, the staff were too busy talking ,laughing and generally enjoying themselves to be of service.
After all is said and done, a nice old hotel in need of some TLC, but the rooms ? They are a disgrace.
But it's only a room isn't it?




T

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Public Relations Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear joeboy7,

Thank you for your review.

We have taken note of your arrival experience and overall staying experience. Our Director of Rooms has reminded our Front Office colleagues to be more discerning when recommending rooms to guests.

A pristine level of service is of utmost importance at our resort. Although our resort staff are friendly and always happy, they have to reminded be aware of their composure, attentiveness and over familiarity at guest contact point at all times. In-house training is ongoing to ensure that our colleagues remain customer focussed and alert when on duty..

We have also taken into consideration your feedback about our rooms. Our room decor is themed to reflect a relaxed, tropical ambience so it does have a certain retro look. Customized pillows and ironing facilities can be requested from our Housekeeping Department. Our Deluxe Seafacing and Executive Seaview rooms offer separate showers. We would
suggest contacting our Duty Manager in future if you prefer a different room upon check in.

All that being said, we hope that your next stay with us will be a more pleasant one.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Rooms
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had a very short stay in Pinang and hence could not see much around. However the hotel was fabulous. Beautiful swimming pools with lots of coconut trees inside the hotel area just as in the pics you see for them, courteous staff, great spread of breakfast at the garden café, amazing food, lots of rain and all. The hotel is just on the beach as I say and all you have to do is just stroll out thru the second restaurant to start walking on the sand. For reasonable shopping must go to Komtar. Its more than one mall around besides an interesting street market.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms are awesome especially the ones with private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfreak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

(Quick preface, if I could give 3.5 stars, I would)

We stayed here for 4 nights over the weekend - and I have to say the hotel grounds are nicely done. The corridors are somewhat dimmer, while still keeping everything visible.

The staff are friendly but inconsistent - I suspect that there is a policy for greeting all the staff, but having 10-15% of the staff not do this leaves me noticing the absence, instead of appreciating the effort.

The horrible stuff first. The room we were in was dim - and my wife and I tend to prefer brightly lit rooms. Breakfast was shocking - the quantity and variety of food is good, but the quality is completely missing. This is strange, because room service and individual meals at the various restaurants are actually pretty good! I put it down to the difference between cooking for 1 and cooking for 1000.

However, the highlight of the trip was the facilities they have for kids! My daughter (3.5 yrs) had an amazing time at the Adventure Zone. It's not a place you can just leave your 3.5 yr old daughter, so I had to go in and play / supervise. The staff are very good here, but be prepared to be exhausted by the end of the day. They also have a very nice splash pool for the kids!

Definitely suggest you consider this hotel if you have young kids - but temper your expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Public Relations Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Allan L,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review and taken note of your comment about our level of staff friendliness. Our Quality Improvement Manager is conducting a smile campaign to remind all colleagues that graciousness is the core of our company culture.

We have taken note of your room preference. Please do contact our Duty Manager in future if you prefer brighter lighting.

Alternatively, you may also e-mail me at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com so that we can include your room lighting preference in your guest history profile.

In terms of breakfast experience, we have addressed the consistency of the breakfast quality with our chefs. There will be regular monitoring to ensure that the daily breakfast quality improves.

On a lighter note, we are glad that your daughter had a wonderful time at Adventure Zone and at the pools. We hope that with the above measures taken, your next staying experience with us will be a more pleasant one.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Rooms
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for six days of relaxation after visiting Singapore and Borneo. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a garden view room for a "special price". We declined as we weren't planning on spending much time in the room. The room we were given was adequate; clean ,comfortable, overlooking the car park but very quiet. However, everything looked a little worn, the bath had chipped enamel and black marks around the edge. Grounds were lovely but not enough shade provided and as a result the dreaded towel game was in evidence. People were down at the crack of dawn putting towels on loungers and then not appearing until mid afternoon. Pools were lovely and the afternoon water volley ball matches were great to watch. Breakfast good, crowded at times with queues.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jayned2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Public Relations Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear jayned2001,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken note of your comments. We do regular preventive maintenance on a rotating schedule to ensure that our bathrooms are maintained. We have conveyed your comments to our Housekeeping staff to ensure that cleanliness remains top priority at all times.

Our towel counter staff have also been briefed to ensure that towels are given out in a timely and orderly manner, We have highlighted to them that every guest will have to be given the towels following the resort policies and procedures.

During breakfast, we do notice staggered arrivals of guests during the mornings. We have reminded our staff to ensure that the queues remain short, the food replenished and the tables are cleared efficiently.

On that note, we hope that your next visit with us will be a more pleasant one.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We made a last minute booking at this hotel and was happy to secure a room on a busy weekend. It was our first stay there with my husband. We booked a room that was supposed to be facing the mountains but to our surprise, we were upgraded to the seaview which was awesome! Also we were surprised to be led to the VIP/members reception area for check in. Apparently we were given automatic membership. The receptions people were very friendly and helpful. We indeed felt like VIPs. Then another perfect thing about the membership was we were allowed for a late check-out and was told we could still use their amenities even after check-out.
The beach was awesome and spacious swimming pools.
Going up to the room, the floor we were in was on the 4th and we were welcomed with a beautiful scent like that of going inside a spa. Not like other hotels that would smell like dirty old carpets. Our room was clean with spectacular view(the beach and the pools). Just a little thing that I wished they had in the room-hair dryer! Its either I couldn't locate it or they really dont have it!
Breakfast was just so so..nothing special. All essentials are there.
Checking out was a breeze.
So all in all we had a good stay and would definitely come back and wouls recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,173 reviews
1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,534 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $107 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing