We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip with a toddler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I came here every year as a kid, and what I remember the best was the pools. And they didn't disappoint, because with a 2 year old, shaded kids' pools and a kids only slide kept him pretty busy and happy. The adventure zone was great too. The toddler area is free, by the way.

Our room was fine, if noisy from the mosque at dawn and construction upstairs during the day (if you're going to stay in the room during the day). Be warned if you are a light sleeper!

Service was good (see below on the room request detail).

We had a seafood buffet which we were happy with, great selection of crabs and prawns in particular. Breakfast was fine; pool/coffee house otherwise unremarkable but inoffensive. Pretty expensive beer but that's to be expected!

Another thing was, it was very quiet. The hotel was at low occupancy so there weren't really that many people around at meal times or at the pools, so it was lovely.

Would definitely come back with a kid. Otherwise, stay at Lone Pine.

Room Tip: Whoever mentioned middle rooms being cleaned last was right. I made a special request for them to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,198 - 2,204 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was very disappointed with Golden Sands Resort - the pictures look amazing on their website - but it's very tired - the pools were like sauna's and there was no shade - it was unbearable. The rooms had old baths with a shower curtain and our bath was rusted. When I complained that I wasn't happy with the room - they said I could upgrade to a room with a proper shower(separate shower) for an extra $350AUD - the room was identical - only difference was a balcony and a shower. Should of payed the extra and stayed at Rasa Sayong next door - that was absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was a mess - no air-con, overcrowded and queue's everywhere. The only positive about this accom is that it's in a good location and has a free shuttle to the shopping centre - that's it!! - talked to other guests and they felt the same. Shame about the accom - as Penang itself was very nice, clean , wonderful local food.

Room Tip: Stay next door at Rasa Sayong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 384Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, Director of Communications at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear 384Kathy,


Thank you for staying with us and your review of our property. I am concerned to read about your room and breakfast experience.

I have taken note of your feedback on overall temperature around our pools and the lack of shade during your visit. Penang island was experiencing higher than average temperatures for the months of March and April and there was a general consensus that we were going through an unusually hot spell.

With regards to the condition of our bath and shower curtains, we have briefed our Housekeeping staff to take note of signs of wear and stubborn stains. In addition, we have also reiterated to Housekeeping staff on the importance of ensuring that the bathroom remains spotless, regardless of whether it is peak season or otherwise.

I empathise with you about your breakfast experience. However, please do note that breakfast time is staggered over several hours and therefore, there will be peak hours where more people would go for breakfast. Nevertheless, I have briefed our relevant staff to be extra alert during peak breakfast times so that we can help to reduce waiting time, expedite the clearing of tables and direct guests to available seats.

On a lighter note, we are glad to hear that you found the location of the resort and the complimentary shuttle bus highly convenient. We are also pleased to note that you had an enjoyable time in Penang.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours sincerely,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort
Batu Feringgi Beach,
11100 Penang, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Best place to spend time with children and grand children, swimming pools for everyone in the family.Breakfast very good we booked 4 rooms over the festive season.Rooms great ,staff very friendly.love the night markets and the street foods.will go back again.ps been there twice.

Room Tip: we had great rooms on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week in November 2012 and had a good overall break. It was school and public holidays so was packed most of the time. Despite warnings from previous reviews the breakfast queue was not as bad as we had anticipated and although very busy we never had to wait more than a few minutes and most days they were serving it down at the beach area as well. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and we had a seaview with balcony. The bathrooms do need updating and the shower curtain didn't stop water leaking all over the floor (mentioned in several earlier reviews). The evening buffets were expensive (not just specific to this hotel) but there were plenty of alternatives outside. Overall a good place to stay as long as you don't want total peace and quiet and want to venture out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowanhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 8 days and had a fantastic time. The location of the hotel is perfect - close to the hawker market, bus stop and mini marts.
The staff were incredibly helpful especially when my partner left his phone in the airport transfer car. Natasha the receptionist was very helpful and managed to ring around and arrange for it to be delivered the next morning.
The hill view room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable! I agree the rooms could do with a bit of tlc such as touching up the scratches on the tables and regrouting in the bathroom but generally the room was very good and spacious.
Breakfast choice was very good - lots to choose from - dim sum, western food, curry, noodles, cakes, fruit etc.
the pools were clean and lots of then - it was a blessing to see one pool with a canopy over it to escape the sun. There were plenty of sun loungers around too!
Overall a great place to unwind and relax!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kataugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this resort, we stayed here once before about 4 years ago, the experience wasn't the best back than either, but we wanted to give it another go, since this resort is situated in a very convenient location, night markets, restaurants, convenience stores, money changers are just outside the gates, but again we were disappointed. Staff tries very hard to deal with the chaos at breakfast, every morning the place resembled a market, people everywhere, long queues.
We had dinner at the resort a couple of times, food was excellent, staff very accommodating, fantastic service, prices were reasonable too.
Resort is very family friendly, there were lots of kids there during our stay, it was school holidays.
Lovely pools, but need more shade, as sun is very hot and not enough shade is provided over pools.
Our room was a superior hill view, I ask what view? There was trees in front of our dirty window, there was hardly any view, room was old and tired, especially the bathroom, old, grubby bathtub, with stained and mouldy shower curtain. Corridors have the lingering smell of cigarettes, even though we were in a non smoking floor, carpets were also stained.
It's things like this that override the good things, maintenance goes a long way, it's a pity to let things slip, the way they have.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byebyebirdie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, General Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,


Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience.

We are glad to hear about your pleasant dinner experience while with us. At our resort we endeavour to provide the best selections at value-for-money prices to all diners.

I have taken note of your feedback on the condition of the carpets. We have briefed our Housekeeping staff to note the location of carpets showing signs of wear and sectors with stubborn stains so that appropriate action will be taken. In addition, we have also reiterated to Housekeeping staff on the importance of ensuring spotless surfaces for bathroom and washroom amenities, regardless of whether it is peak tourist season or otherwise.

I can empathise with your annoyance during breakfast when long queues form. However, please do note that breakfast time is staggered over several hours and therefore there will be certain time when more people would opt to dine while others are less popular with fewer people. Nevertheless, I shall advise the staff concerned to be extra alert during peak breakfast periods so that we may reduce waiting time, expedite the clearing of tables and direct newly arrived diners to available seats.

On the bright side, we are glad to hear that you found the location of the resort highly convenient as it is within walking distance of all services and attractions that you require while you were here. Also, we hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in Penang.

Finally, I do hope that you will consider staying at our resort in future.


Yours sincerely,

Keith Tomkies, General Manager
Batu Feringgi Beach, 11100 Penang, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked in at the Golden Sands and was asked on check in if we would like to upgrade? Why ask if we wanted to upgrade as surely we considered whether or not to have a sea view or a mountain view when we made the reservation 11 months ago? However, we soon came to realise that only the upgraded rooms are acceptably clean. In our allocated room the bath was grubby with no shine on the surface, plug hole rusty, mastic sealant black and peeling off with mould on the grouting of the tiles. Thoroughly unpleasant and not acceptable. When booking I requested a quiet non smoking room. We were placed on the 2nd floor overlooking a busy road where traffic noise was evident even through the double glazing. After requesting another location we were offered a room even grubbier! I was surprised that the manager needed a snagging tour to accept the short comings of the accommodation and he then had difficulty in deciding where to put us. Just because a room is basic does not mean it should not be clean and we certainly did not pay bargain basement prices to stay in this hotel. The manager 'upgraded' us to a sea/pool view room which had a walk in shower instead of a bath. It was the same dimensions and decor as the previous but was clean, quiet and comfortable. It really should not make any difference to the cleanliness of the room which grade of accommodation you have. Room had a flat screen TV but this is only relevant if you have access to programmes in your language and for us there is only so much you can take of the BBC world service.
The hotel was very busy hosting an Air Asia conference, plus lots of families with many children running about - school holiday time in Malaysia, and so many people in the grounds and pools. There were no adult only sectors and public areas were overcrowded. Breakfast at the Cafe was a real ordeal, as loud and chaotic, although food was plentiful and choice adequate.
For those of us who like to relax this is not a relaxing experience and although there were sun-beds available there was a serious lack of shade and no portable umbrellas. There were some permanent fixture umbrellas on the tables for outdoor food. We could not find any free area of limited tree-shade and so spent our days out of the hotel grounds and only had a swim late in the afternoon when the sun was less intense. For the small childrens' pool there were canopies over, which was a good idea, but it was not extended beyond the paddling part of the pool.
Hotel food and drink expensive compared to refreshments available outside. Hawker food and street cafe food reasonable but very limited for vegetarians and not near enough to Georgetown for quality eating out as the journey time is around 40mins each way on the windy costal road.
This hotel is good for families with children but I certainly would not recommend it for retired adults or honeymooners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_Penang, General Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,


Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience.

We are sorry to learn about the inconvenience and disappointment that you endured before finally obtaining an upgraded room that met your requirements. Please contact the Communications Department at +604-888 8888 or e-mail us at gsh@shangri-la.com with more details of your encounter with the person-in-charge so that we may mount an internal probe on this matter and any other issues that you wish to bring to our attention.

Our in-house restaurant, Sigi's has a special section dedicated to vegetarians in its extensive menu ranging from simple to more lavish fare. Alternatively, there are numerous street food vendors serving authentic street cuisine in nearby cafés with vegetarian selections that are rice, noodles and bread based dishes at competitive prices.

On the matter of age appropriate activities provided by the resort, the brochures that we have available at the Cool Lounge suggest the many ways to spend your time while here. Also the Front Office, along with the taxi/van service counter at the lobby have staff available to suggest suitable activities for visitors of all ages.

Finally, I do hope that you will consider staying at our resort in future during your next visit to Penang.


Yours sincerely,

Keith Tomkies, General Manager
Batu Feringgi Beach, 11100 Penang, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,491 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $101 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing