We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if only i hadn't caught 'flu!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“if only i hadn't caught 'flu!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived tea-time on valentine's day, after the journey from hell----mainly due to a 7hr wait for transfer at Abu Dhabi airport. We both slept until 2pm on Friday, feeling as if we'd been punched, bored & countersunk.
We had a private transfer to the hotel from the airport--bliss.Mr Geoffrey (our driver) was charming & entertaining,& we were both planning to use him for our trips.( Hollow laughter).
On Saturday we wandered down through the pleasant gardens to the beach--intending to swim, but soon found out that that was not advisable due to a jellyfish invasion. No-one was swimming, so I opted for a head neck & back massage to get the travel kinks out. it cost the equivalent of £6 & was wonderful. We ambled out at dinner time to the Magic1 restaurant across the street--& that was when the 'flu kicked in!! on Sunday, Jim called the hotel doctor,who arrived promptly & gave me medication to deal with every single symptom. i stayed in the room (hillside view) I stayed in the room until Thurs, when my guilty conscience kicked in. Poor Jim had been dining alone, was worried about me & then he acquired a milder version of the bug. The young men who "did" the rooms were so patient with me because they couldn't do their job. We had a request from the head housekeeper to meet with him & expected a rollicking for non-compliance, but all he wanted was reassurance that i was getting better & was there anything he could do. The Manager & reception staff sent me a lovely "get well" card & a pot of my favourite Earl Grey tea. Without exception all the staff were charming,friendly, smiling in that completely unforced way that makes you want to smile in return.
Out of 14 day holiday I spent 12 days ill, but what little I experienced I loved

Room Tip: Hillside rooms overlook jungle clad hills & the main road. Ours was on the second floor & ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary_craig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    1,149
    442
    166
    109
See reviews for
1,530
883
55
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived at this hotel early and was told we had been given a "special room" 163.
The room was on the bottom floor...smack bang next to the lifts!!
It was very large, with a fab view of the car park.
We had booked a superior hillview room (without doing our research first!!) Our travel agent recommended the hotel.
But we thought.. well, we wont be in the room too much as we had some sightseeing to do.
We dined at Long Beach Cafe and had some lovely freshly cooked food.
The night market outside the hotel is also good fun.
We decided on an early night due to traveling, and around 10.30 pm there was an almighty racket (generator???) The "ping ping" from the lifts and the banging doors were also proving to be very irritating.
At 11.30 my husband went to reception and explained that there was no way we could sleep with the noise. No problem...we were told to leave all our things and move to room 111.
This proved to be just as noisy, we could still hear the generator?? and also the noise from the reception area.
We decided to move back to our original room and stick it out until morning. The noise continued until around 2.30 am. We just had to put up with the pinging lifts then.
Next morning my husband asked to see the manager and explained the situation. All the staff we encountered claimed not to know what the noise was.
We were then given another room on the 6th floor, with a view of the very busy main road and traffic noise to match.
We admitted defeat and carried on with our holiday.
One day i had to seek out a housekeeper and ask for drink supplies to be replenished as we had run out.
Buffet breakfast was noisy and very busy, there was a large choice of fresh food.
The hotel itself was lovely and clean with friendly staff. Facilities were plentiful with a well equipped gym. Wi-fi was efficient. Whilst we were there the hotel was very busy with several conferences being held there. On the days there was no conferences the hotel was quiet.
We did not use the beach.
We did consider upgrading to a sea view room but as we were only there for 5 nights we decided to wait until we arrived at our next destination the Rasa Ria in Borneo as we were there longer.
We felt dissapointed with this hotel and with hindsight it is not one we would have chosen ourselves, and its a shame as the hotel and staff are lovely, and kept very clean.
Maybe we were just unlucky on this occasion.
If i had to go again i would definitely need a balcony, which all the sea view rooms have. I have a suspicion that all the hillview rooms could be noisy.

Room Tip: After changing rooms (hillview) three times i would recommend sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a busy three days in KL. What a great place to relax and unwind! We had a second floor sea facing room which you have to pay extra for , as the non seafacing rooms do not have balconies. We could not fault the place, the room we had was bright and comfortable, with a powerful shower and huge comfy bed, with towels and linen changed regularly.
There was an abundance of sunbeds and although some people put towels on their preferred ones, early morning, there really was no need to do this as there were plenty to choose from. The water coolers placed near the pool was a nice touch too.
We stayed bed and breakfast,and for lunch on most days, we walked out of the hotel to the beach and turned left to the end of the path then left again to a place called OK Cafe. It dosnt look much of a place but the young couple who cook the food are lovely people, very welcoming and the food is delicious and very cheap, much cheaper than the hotel.
I did not use the spa facility or gym so cannot comment.
There are plenty of places to eat in the evening and do give the Hawker centres especially long beach Cafe a go. All types of food are available and again very delicious, we had no stomach problems at all.
We visited Malaysia 10 years ago and like everywhere the prices have incresed, Alcohol is no longer cheap , but the food is still good value for money, and of course you have the night market for bargain fake goods.
All in all the hotel was perfect for us, we have no children and although it is a family hotel it was not over run with children, they have their own pool area and we found sunbathing in the garden area very peaceful indeed. A bit disapponted we could not swim in the sea as there were jellyfish, but the pool made up for it. Hope you find this helpful. Enjoy!

Room Tip: if you like sitting on the balcony ensure you upgrade to a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here in December with my family of 7 adults and 2 kids. Great service from the staff upon arrival. We arrived earlier than the check in time, but we got our rooms ready- all clean and polish. We were even upgraded to the rooms facing the sea, right smack at the centre. Wonderful view! Breakfast was good with variety of choices.
The beach was lovely and there are people that can arrange for water sport if you are interested. One thing to note though, the beach has jellyfish so you cannot swim in it. They had a small area where it was possible to swim but we deicded instead to book a boat to monkey island directly from the hotel beach and went there in the morning. Took about 20 minutes to get there and we swam there. You could arrange for a barbeque at the monkey island beach as well.
If you need to book a tour, the hotel can help you with it. Or you could go out on the streets, there are plenty of tour agency that can arrange for you. Restaurant, local food stalls and spas are just abundant outside the hotel. There are even night markets. What more do you need??

Room Tip: get the seaview room! It is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypeace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Sands for a week in March. The resort itself is quite nice and has good facilities, particularly for families. The rooms are very dated and quite small. We payed for a Sea facing room and upon our arrival we were put on the first floor with a view of only the pool and not the beach at all. We were then told we could upgrade to another room on a higher level but we were charged even more for it. Quite disappointing when you have already payed for something and have to pay for it again because it is not what they described. The bathrooms are very old looking and mould has formed on the bathtub. When we arrived to our room (that we had to pay extra for) was dirty and looked like it was not ready for guests. Stains everywhere, dust and dirt. Very disappointing. The service is good and the staff are lovely but somebody really needs to put some effort into fixing the rooms. The location is good as the night market is set up right outside the resort. However it is quite far from the main town and its not a short ride to get there either. Overall the pictures are very deceiving and if you decide to stay here make sure you get what you have payed for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Penang is a flight from Kuala Lumpa and after a long flight I began to think this was a stop over too far! A 45 minute flight and then a 40 minute taxi drive with a driver who from his driving thought we were trying to qualify for the Malaysian Grand Prix ! However once at the hotel We were pleased we had made the effort .The bedrooms were well equipped and comfortable .The breakfasts were excellent and the little cafe near the beach delightful especially the band that sang for the guests. The communal areas including pool areas ,lounges, spa and gardens were beautiful .The night market is just beyond the hotels gates which is another plus point.This hotel benefits from close proximity to a sandy beach with a wide array of watersports on offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khill02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at The Golden Sands in September 2011 during my friend's wedding. We secured a room on level 3 for $100 per night.

We could not believe the value for money in this hotel. The service was extreemly friendly the staff were never unhappy or unattentive.

The A/C in our room was not working on our arrival but it was fixed within the hour while we enjoyed the pool and gardens.

Right next door is another (and slightly more upmarket) resort which belongs to the same chain. They share the grounds and gardens flow through between the two.

The rooms were very well presented and felt quite luxurious expecially for $100 per night. You could barely get a Motel for that kind of money in my hometown of Perth, Western Australia.

I would not hesistate recommending this resort to my friends and would happily stay there again.

Infact one of my friends and his partner just came back from there in Oct 2012 and were also very impressed.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach and most have good views. I would try and get level 3 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys_Bielski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,430 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Property: Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing