We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for a family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had been recommended this by others with children. It is definitely a good hotel for relaxing with children. Had room with hill view, large with space for travel cot, room clean. Breakfast buffet was massive (could get a little crowded) with a range of food for everyone. From our 2yr olds point of view, great pools. A range of different pools with the shallow area having a permenant sunshade. Good location on Batu Ferringhi with access to a variety of street food vendors. didn't eat any evening meals in the hotel so can't comment on anything apart from breakfast.
Used the pitch and put golf course which was good fun and right on the doorstep. Used the free shuttle bus into Penang which was allowed plenty of time for sight seeing trips into Penang and escape the beach area for a bit!

Tip: We opted for the hotel airport transfer for pick up which was a little expensive (our fault, should have realised!) Its 80MYR for a taxi from the airport but obviously the car isn't as big or as nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    956
    366
    136
    80
See reviews for
1,201
711
40
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel staff were most welcoming upon arrival. Had a mountain view room which was quiet, huge and luxurious. Breakfast buffets were splendid with a good selection of delights! Pool and sunbathing areas were well maintained with the odd visit by a large lizard who loved to bathe in the pool lol. Brilliant location with the night markets and bus stop right outside. Most evenings we ate at the hawker centre but did sample the Internation buffet at the sister hotel next door - absolutely fantastic - well worth the £25!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiles1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A nice holiday which is great for families. I would say that it is not of the same luxe standard of the other Shangri-La hotels, but I think that is intended, as it is meant to be more casual and relaxed, more for kids. The hotel had given away our rooms as we were a bit late, but they then offered to upgrade us to a suite for the same price as our original rooms. I cannot fault the reception service, the staff were excellent. Our suite was nice, clean and well appointed.

You will love the pools, the outside areas, the lush scenery, it is all lovely. My kids adored it, there was a water slide and a baby pool with awning providing shade.

The children loved the food at the hotel, it wasn't fussy and there was plenty of choice. Mostly Western fare. I personally thought that the food was okay, but not outstanding. Go to the sister hotel, Rasa Sayang, next door for more special food. But you will find plenty of local places, just a stone throw from the hotel, selling excellent food at really good prices, especially the seafood.

The beach was okay, clean white sand and plenty of watersports. The children adored it. The water was rather smelly and dirty but plenty of people were paddling so I guess it was just me being fussy.

My kids also adored the Adventure Zone and the activities. I wish that the management had included more kids' stuff for free - they tell you that you can do all the activities for free, but you have to pay an entry fee. So it is not really free at all! Nearly all the other hotels we've been to do include at least a portion of activities inclusive in the hotel price.

I wish the management would make the lobby bar and cool lounge a bit more inviting. We tried to get early evening drinks and there didn't seem to be anyone serving, no menus, no obvious bar area. So. I went to the cafe and asked for drinks.

But these are minor quibbles, we really enjoyed ourselves exploring Penang and would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the golden sands from the 19th of October for two weeks. We found the management Ahmed Hamzah and the resturant manager Desmond Dass could not do enough to make our stay exceptional. The hotel is a great family hotel. The buffet breakfast and evening buffets were great, there was something for everyone the choice was so great. We enjoyed our stay that much we are Booking up straight away to go back again next year. Thanks again to all the staff we also would like to thank Natasha on reception. Thank you Barrie & joy

Room Tip: Have a sea view not a hill view the extra is worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrieharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pros:
-Great pool with slide
-The most fun indoor playground I've ever been to!
-Overall class & luxury
- Good location.

Cons:
-Rooms are rather cramped, add in a baby cot and there's hardly walking space left

Generally this is a good luxury hotel that will be a big hit with the kids for the pool and even more so for the indoor playground - AdventureZone that's located within hotel premises but open to public. The night market is at its doorstep & McDonald's is just across the road.

Choose this if location & keeping the kids entertained is important to you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

For three years, we have always stayed in Shangri La hotels in Malaysia and assumed that they were all of the same standard; this was not to be the case with this hotel.

The hotel had been booked by our travel agent as we travelled independently around the Far East, always spending the last 4/5 days in Shangri l Hotels simply doing nothing.

When we were shown our room, I could nor believe it-it was shabby throughout and not cleaned properly-dirty stains on walls, on shower curtain, black mould on some of the tiles, stains on sofa chairs and torn desk topping. The list goes on and this was an upgraded room overlooking the garden and sea. I refused to unpack, called the Duty Manager to the room and showed him what we found. I informed that unless were were given a better room, we would leave and stay elsewhere

We were taken to the lobby, given complimentary drinks and after an hour, another room which had obviouly been cleaned just for us was available. It was OK.

Next morning, we went down to breakfast which was also disappointing-no fish as my wife does not eat meat. In all other 4 & 5 star hotels, there were at least 2 fish dishes. We had to ask three times before she was given some. Reasonable range of items but the restaurant was packed. Not a quality breakfast but a mass market one and, of all the hotels in which we stayed, the most disappointing.

We ate out two nights in the street market which was great and on the Saturday, we ate in as it had a seafood buffet with free wine and beer. It was Ok but had much better.

After the first day, we discovered that there is another Shangri la hotel 5 minutes walk away and is a 5* hotel. I met the local agent and asked to be moved but she informed us that there was no difference between the two; I should have checked there and then for the next day, I did and it was a beautiful hotel with fabulous rooms and a buffet breakfast as we had initially expcted. We were misled

Overall, the staff were great and very helpful and the second room adequate but still not what we expected.They did do their best and as it was our anniversary, a cake was brought to our room. However, my agent in the Uk has alot to answer for as it was not up to the standard we required as others on nthis trip. Golden Sands is like a package holiday hotel and felt that throughout. We will not be returning to this hotel but go elsewhere where we know the standards of Shangri La hotels.

Room Tip: Check to see what type of room you have booked; do not be fooled by names-for example, de luxe might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found the resort very noisey at night with other guests, the rooms not being sound proof enough. Cooking class was dissapointing as we did not cook we just watched the chef cook. So not much to do at the resort besides massages and water sports. Massages were very dissapointing! Not a good place if you want to relax and unwind, much too noisey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,376 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 78 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Property: Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing